We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location that feels like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gul Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gul Sultan Hotel
Ranked #213 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Great location that feels like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Small boutique hotel that feels more like a cozy little house than a hotel. Hamit is super helpful and was even willing to move my parents to a room on the back side of the hotel (after reading this reviews about the street noise, I thought it would be better for two old folks who don't sleep well to being with. Haha). Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, and we loved walking up to the roof and looking out over the Bosphorus every morning. Two blocks to the Topkapi Palace, four or five to the Haj Sophia and Blue Mosque, and only a little farther to tram line that you can take to the docks or the other side of the Golden Horn.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street directly face a brick wall, but the 5:15am call to prayer is a fraction o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    75
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
59
69
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I particularly like Istanbul and why I was there several times .

I stayed in hotels in the Sultanahmet / Sirkeci every time , because what I want is to relax while I'm there.

This time I stayed near the Sultanahmet park in a small hotel, with staff very friendly and ready to help in any respect . Its location is Akbiyik Caddesi 9 , Sultanahmet , a parallel street of Sultanahmet market.

In the area , all the buildings are hotels - from hostels to 5 star hotels . And on the ground floor of each building is or a local or a souvenir shop or antique, as this hotel.

We got (me and my wife) there by car which we parked near at the price of 6 euros / day , absolutely convenient for the area ( park closed and guarded 24/24 ) . Street hotel access is allowed only to supply short or let a customer at the hotel. ( has metal poles in the middle so that if a car supplies the rear can not pass ! ) . And everybody respects that.

Hotel facilities are level classification 3 stars ( 3 stars attention! not Turkish but three European star ) , breakfast is served on the top terrace , as are virtually all the hotels in the area. It has a very beautiful view towards the sea and towards the Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque .

The food is good , fresh and the dining room is very clean .

Rooms are large , clean. Is like everywhere in Turkey daily cleaning and changing linen and towels whenever needed. (do not know how many times had changed , that always looks impeccable ) .

The bathroom is very spacious and very clean , with new stuff .

Nearby are suburban train station and opposite and about the same distance from the hotel , 100-150 m already entering the market that connects major places of tourist interest : the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia , the Grand Bazaar. Also from Sultanahmet market is easy access to public transportation or tiered buses for city tours . Also easily reached on foot or by tram , the commercial area of the Spice Bazaar and the Grand Bazaar and even docks on the banks of the Golden Horn where you can embark on a short cruise (about 2 hours) through the Bosporus , or take the ferry to Asia , or to Princes ' Islands.

You can do at any time. And especially in security . In the area there were major incidents. Turks do not want to chase tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilianM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Perfect Hotel for budget travel, excellent service and helpful staff. The hotel is perfectly located as you can get to most of sultanahmet monuments within 5 minutes walk.

I Highly recommend it.

Sonia

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I had a nice stay here for three days. The hotel is located exactly in the heart of old city, within 3 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and Ayasophia. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel rooms are nice and clean, though not up to three star hotel standard in Asia. There are numerous restaurants and cafes on the same street, as well as laundry shop and convenient shops. Good choice for budget stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudmanadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I had just few days in Istanbul. Gul Sultan was fairly priced compare to others, right at the heart of tourist attractions Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and Topeka Palace. Place was clean and breakfast was great. I travel now and then and most of the time get to stay at the high end hotels. Compare to what I paid at this place, breakfast was good and had Turkish touch to it. I would definitely recommend this place for fellow travelers. Oh Yes! in the weekends, music can get louder at the street below. But it was nice music going on. Ocean view from the roof top was plus as well. My two thumbs up to Istanbul and Gul Sultan Hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed at the second floor facing towards the main street and the room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParameshAdhikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hamit is an incredibly hospitable host. The room was spotless and the breakfast was excellent! Yes there is no elevator but the staff are more than happy to help with your bags. The location is excellent and we had no problems with noise. The hotel next door looked crowded and this was far more peaceful. Hamit even looked after our bags after we checked out and went out to visit Selcuk for two days. On return he made sure that we found our way to the airport without any problems. Would definitely recommend this little spot!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

As a first impression the staff where very friendly, helpful and the room very clean.
What I've liked when I chose this hotel was the positioning and the fact that everybody had good feedback regarding the help that you will get, which became true.
Please take in consideration that is a 3* Hotel and if you are using it just for the night and for resting during the day, this is just perfect.
You want some information about the sites? Just ask! People will be very kind to help you
You want to go in a cruise? Just ask! People will be very kind to help you
You want to go back to the airport without head eaks? ;) Yap...you've got the point

So from my side...5* rating for what they promises as a 3* hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#185 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#208 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#269 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#335 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gul Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gul Sultan Hotel

Property: Gul Sultan Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Akbiyik Caddesi No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gul Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gul Sultan Hotel is situated on the shores of the Historical Peninsula. Strait next to the the St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque. This places are only few minutes by walk. This was first the site of the recidence from early in 20th century. Has been renovated to hotel at August 2004. Hotel Gul Sultan is brandnewly furnished well decorated and all rooms have private bathroom, hair dryer, international dialing phones, air-condition, with minibar, TV, central heating. Our staff fluently speaks english and will be very happy to assist your trip in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gul Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gul Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing