We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Gul Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gul Sultan Hotel
Ranked #239 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel is very nice and staff very kind. Optimal position in Sultanahmet. Rooms are fair, clean, breakfast on the terracce excellent. Only one point: rooms on the main road are noisy due to pubs opened till early morning so strong music and shouting people

Room Tip: we suggest room no street view, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregorio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamit Ç, Manager at Gul Sultan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Hi.Dear Gregorio G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us.İt is great to hear that our customers are satisfied with our service.

We hope to have the chance to host you again in the future.

BEST REGARDS
HAMİT ÇELİK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is located in the heart od historical Istanbul. Everything is a walking distance! From the cafeteria there is a great view of St. Sofia, Blue Masque and the sea shore. All the restaurants are right there. The staff is VERY friendly. Rooms are clean but small. It's a good size for 2 people but there was 3 of us in the room....
Overall I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yevgeniy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I got to Gul Sultan on the bounce! Our first choice property, across the street from GS, wasn't available. So they accommodated us here. And in hindsight it worked out well. Nice, neat rooms, pleasant staff, great location...just the perfect place for all those looking to enjoy the historic and cultural side of Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chingari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very good hotel in historical part of Istanbul. Сlean hotel rooms and good breakfast. Amazing view opens from the roof of the hotel. Nice hotel for a good price. The most thing that I liked - care and good attitude of the hotel owner.

Room Tip: great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed for 3 days with my family.
Staffs were very kind and breakfast was good. All historic places are within the walking distance. If I go to Istanbul again, I would stay agian.
Thanks to Hamit & other members again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amudcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Will definitely return here. Close to all major sites & tram. Safe area with huge choice of Restaurants on same street. The touts hassle a bit, but you can detour slightly to avoid walking up the street. Staff were helpful & pleasant. My only comment would be that a tea tray in the room would have been appreciated!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJSYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is located about a half a mile from everything (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, etc). Within about 100 feet of the door, there are a variety of restaurant options as well as two tourist information centers/agencies. The rooms were incredibly clean and very well designed. Beyond all of this, Hamit (the owner) is incredibly nice and helpful. He corresponded with me by email for months before my arrival and was very communicative and kind.

I stayed in a triple room with my parents, and they would say the same. We were very very happy to have chosen this location.

At night we could hear the activity on the streets, so it may not be ideal for super light sleepers, but this did not bother us and we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#141 of 1,160 in Istanbul
539 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#227 of 1,160 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#69 of 1,160 in Istanbul
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#152 of 1,160 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses Hotel
Deniz Houses Hotel
#234 of 1,160 in Istanbul
681 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#126 of 1,160 in Istanbul
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gul Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gul Sultan Hotel

Address: Sultanahmet Akbiyik Caddesi No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#69 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gul Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gul Sultan Hotel is situated on the shores of the Historical Peninsula. Strait next to the the St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque. This places are only few minutes by walk. This was first the site of the recidence from early in 20th century. Has been renovated to hotel at August 2004. Hotel Gul Sultan is brandnewly furnished well decorated and all rooms have private bathroom, hair dryer, international dialing phones, air-condition, with minibar, TV, central heating. Our staff fluently speaks english and will be very happy to assist your trip in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gul Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gul Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing