We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“most enjoyable...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden House Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden House Istanbul
Ranked #53 of 1,120 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hall in Tirol, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“most enjoyable...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

A small hotel within walking distance of many of the famous sights and not too far from the bazaar to cary all the things home you bought (but don't need ;-)). The hotel has a very romantic little yard covered by a wonderful walnut tree, the junior suite we had the luck to stay in was a little bit of quiet luxury in an exciting city. The staff was more than friendly, efficient and the service flawless.
4 days to remember and a place to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexisandkarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    340
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
262
638
84
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

A perfect location to begin a visit of the town. Very nice room. Everybody very kind. We loved it and recommend it warmly.

Room Tip: Rooms over the street are a little bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jem029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

This is a really pretty little hotel. The staff were nice and friendly. Good value with free wi-fi broadband throughout hotel and free-flow snacks and drinks throughout the day at the restaurant. I would definitely come back here.
Just to add, do let the hotel know in advance if your luggages are big. The hotel has no lifts and it may be a problem if you are placed on the 4th Floor like I was.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erbil
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

I spent one week with family and I can say they have very friendly & helpful staff. From the very first moment we arrived they give us the feel we are home specially for my 7 years daughter.
For sure my next trip to Istanbul I'll come to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qays_Haji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge,nz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

A real high-light of our recent trip was the warm welcome and lovely atmosphere of the garden courtyard on our first day in Istanbul. While recieving complimentary refreshments all options and questions on site-seeing were at our fingertips from the well organised team. Then the rooms, the newly renovated suites were a delight and something to look forward to each evening we returned to the hotel. Lots of attention to detail with complimentary fruits and drinks, an all day buffet of ,local foods - no this was not a 5 start internatinal hotel, but a great 5 star local family hotel doing a fantastic job!!

Room Tip: balcony rooms with a view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hannahCambridge_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Had this hotel booked with a tour package arranged with Euphrates (aka Cappadocia) Tour Company. Five minutes walk to the main street. Close enough to a walking day tour to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace, and the Grand Byzaar. Reception Staff are nice and helpful. Breakfast selection was satisfactory. Room came with a small complimentary bottle of wine, a fruit basket (with banana, kiwi, apple and banana), and a 1.5 liter bottle of water. The room we had was small and nothing specular--a standard double, but it was clean and it came with ample supply of amenities--i.e shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap bars, sewing kit, scrups. Towels were clean and smelled good. Robes and slippers provided. Beds and sheets comfortable. Free wifi and free safe. The only thing I didn't like was that there was no shower door (although the shower head was great)--so the bathroom door got all wet after we showered. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctandsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
215 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

The story started very bad with Garden House, because when I arrived, the room I had booked was occupied (the small suite with a balcony and a sea view). I was proposed several rooms, but I rejected all of them (no balcony, no sea view). Then I was proposed by the hotel owner (I guess) to look on the internet, and I could find the hotel I wanted in Istanbul, they would pay the transfer and the hotel bill whatever are the costs (very generous offer). Still my criteria were terrace and sea view in Sultanahmet, so no thousand of rooms like this. At the end, because I had difficulties to find something, they proposed me to go to the hotel next door, very very nice one, and I had a very big room, WITH my terrace and my sea view, so I was HAPPY!
The next day, they proposed me to stay at the hotel nex door, or to move back to their hotel, and I moved back. And I had the room I wanted, very nice one also.
So frankly speaking, not talking about the hundred of excuses I had from the hotel, from different people (like my story was really unusual), I have to say that it is a crisis situation perfectly handled, for customer satisfaction. I was impressed!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotteurmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#49 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#21 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Property: Garden House Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak No:11/13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing