We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guest House in the hearth of Istanbul hystorical district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden House Istanbul
Ranked #48 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Guest House in the hearth of Istanbul hystorical district”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A very nice hotel, 5 minutes from Blue Mosque, at an absolutely honest price (a double room at 90 Euro per night). This homely guest house has a peculiar appearence given by its front and entrance built in red wood, and it offers a lovely terrace to its guests for having breakfast, happy hour and dinner. Great position in Sultamet, the main hystorical district in Istanbul. I warmly suggest it as a very nice location to spend good time in Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wittaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    346
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
267
650
84
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Very well located within 5 minute walk to Blue Mosque and Haja Sophia. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Turkish airlines lost our luggage from Africa and the staff couldn't have done more for us - even going to the local pharmacy to try and get some replacement Malaria drugs for us. They also made tour and dinner bookings for us and called cabs. Fantastic service. Rooms were nicely furnIshed in Turkish style and we even had a traditional Turksh bath in the bathroom, as well as the shower. We did have to ask what is was for! The terrace was a haven of tranquility after a days sightseeing and cold drinks, tea and coffee and pastries were always laid out free for everyone to help themselves to - a nice touch. Lunch, dinner and drinks were also served there if you wanted. Delicious Mezzes. Breakfast was served on the lower terrace and you could spend all day there - wonderful range of foods! Altogether one of the best boutique hotels we have stayed at, and at a reasonable price. A must if you are visiting Istanbul and want a small, charming hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor with a small balcony but all the guests were happy with their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Putting aside the price of the hotel for a second - I couldn't have been more happy with Garden House Hotel. We were surprised with a complimentary upgrade to our room - which was large, comfortable, clean and well appointed.

The staff were also incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast offers more than most of the standard Turkish breakfasts we had come to expect, and the hotel puts on free coffee, cake and biscuits all day.

I did not eat at the restaurant for lunch or dinner, but my girlfriend did. Ordering a local cuisine that she found not to her tastes, she did not finish her meal. When checking out, we were told there was nothing further on our bill. Pointing out the lunch, we were told that the staff noticed she did not enjoy the meal, therefor would not be charged. Very rare is service such as this.

The location is great - though a little hard to find at first - being under 5 mins from the blue mosque, and not too far from the grand bizarre (though it is uphill to the tram).

With all this, we would still be happy were the hotel priced as a mid/high range boutique - but considering the budget price with which all of this comes - I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were staying over the weekend in the Garden House hotel. With only 2 days and a big programm, it was a perfect hotel for us. Good breakfast, really helpful staff, nice rooms with a 'touch' and very close to the main attractions!!:)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belka6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitebsk
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Very quiet place, despite of center of the city. Nice rooms, very friendly staff. Cozy and tidy. Breakfast could be better. Free pastries at the lobby. Nice garden to spend a beatiful Istanbul' evening with a cup of tea or coffee. 10 minutes to the Blue Mosque, 15 to the Haja Sofya, 20 to the Topkapi Palace. Extremely important - only 15 minutes to reach the Kumkapi Meydani, the finest place for the dinner and fish market. Only one note - it's very hard to find for cabmen :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulVitebsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We have spent 5 nights at Garden House with our 2 boys (3 years and 7 years old) early August 2012; Room was clean, tidy, big & air con, Internet Access was perfect...The location is great and we enjoyed every single day in Istanbul. You are at 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque, Santa Sofia etc...It was 5 easy days for our family. My sons would add that the staff was very nice with him and he loved the free pastries in the lobby :).

Room Tip: You might ask for a room facing the garden for a super quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myriam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed in hotel Garden House, for five days during our visit in Istanbul. The hotel was small but with the excellent services. The location of the hotel was perfect near to lot of touristic sightseeing, shops and transportation. It was spotlessly cleaned and the linen/towels were changed daily. The main bonus was the garden of the hotel where we could sit at any time and enjoy complimentary cookies, cake and water. The superb breakfast was served every morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We found this place to be excellent for our budget. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikhilBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#49 of 1,149 in Istanbul
823 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#12 of 1,149 in Istanbul
887 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#63 of 1,149 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,454 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,149 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,149 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Property: Garden House Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak No:11/13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing