We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden House Istanbul
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basileus Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayasofya Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ast Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arena Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Emir(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
1,005
354
30
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,005
354
30
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosqueold citylovely hotelturkeygrand bazaarhagia sophiathe hotel staffwalking distancemain attractionsno elevatorturkish bathsultanahmet areatea and coffeemajor sitesthe location is perfectsightsmr
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2013

It was certainly a great start to our time in Turkey to arrive at this welcoming and comfortable hotel. The location was fantastic as it was close to many of the main tourist sites. It was lovely to relax in the common lounge area or the garden terrace after a busy day. Complementary tea, coffee, water and biscuits available in the lounge area was most appreciated. The hotel staff were very friendly, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable, clean and the bathroom was fine. A nice touch in the rooms was the complementary fruit bowl and small bottle of wine on arrival. The buffet breakfast included a good selection and the eating area was lovely. We would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here if we returned to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nibor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have just spent an excellent six days at this hotel.
Judging from the reviews, the rooms do vary but ours was quite spacious,pleasant enough and very well looked after by the staff. It also makes a nice change not to have to pay for the room safe !
Having the garden provides an extra element as does the tea, coffee and freshly made pastries available in the afternoon.
The breakfasts, served by the ever smiling Nino,featured fresh fruit and omelettes made to order.
The reception staff were very helpful, especially Bora; It really is worth picking their brains.
All in all, my only problem in recommending this hotel, is that I want to go back; And soon !

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Overall this is a great, well-run, ideally located hotel. It has a huge number of "pro's":

1) Location is amazing. 5-10 minute walk to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi ... and 10-20 minutes to the Grand Bazaar, Spice Market and really anything in the Old Town - which is going to be 80% of what you'll likely be wanting to see. Great location.

2) Great breakfast ... but their snacks also go above and beyond. Their breakfast is very nice and includes a made-to-order omelete station. But throughout the day, they also provide snacks, cakes, cookies, and coffee & water in their lounge - very nice for recharging a bit throughout the day.

3) Very well run, great staff. We arrived early at 7am and they gave us a free breakfast and got us into a room early. Were very accommodating to all requests.

4) Insanely charming little garden patio / lounge area. Really pleasant to relax there after a long hot Istanbul tourism day. Feels very 'homey.'

5) Rooms are good not great (see Con's). That said, I kind of suspect that grading on a curve, the rooms are better than average in this price range. That said, they are fairly small, and a bit run down. But fine for most purposes.

So overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. There are just a few things that if they fixed, would take this place to the next level. Here are some of the Con's:

1) The showers don't have screens/glass. This results in the bathroom becoming soaked and very slippery after any shower. Not sure why it would be hard just to put a screen or glass panel in.

2) Wifi is very spotty. We basically did't get any signal in our room and had to go to the lounge to use - which isn't a big deal since the lounge is so great. But still, not ideal. Further, even in the lounge, the bandwidth isn't good. Expect trouble if you have any critical Skype calls or high-bandwidth activities to do.

3) At least in our room, the curtains are very thin and the room will be quite bright very early.

4) As mentioned, the rooms are a bit run down. The AirCon in our room was sort of broken - sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. The staff was able to turn it on when it was broken, but it isn't ideal to have to call the staff to turn on AC when you want it.

5) Rooms facing the street are a bit loud.

So in summary - great place, probably one of the best in the area - and this area is the one you want to stay in. But just know that compared to hotels in this price range in other cities, there are a few issues (wifi, shower, street noise). But this is more than made up for by the great staff, amazing lounge, abundant free snacks/water, and location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelingBGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was such a reviving experience for us after an action packed 4 wks in Turkey. A lovely hotel, beautiful rooms,around a lush garden. Just the kind of oasis that we hadn't realised we needed for our last few days in Turkey. In the end we spent quite a bit of time in the garden and reading room of this comfortable place and ate our last dinners under the huge walnut trees. Lovely touches with a welcoming fruit bowl and wine and then tea and biscuits available throughout the day. The breakfasts were a great start - comprehensive range of goodies including freshly made omelettes and turkish coffee, all presented with cheerful dispositions even at 7am. In fact, though the location and aspect of the hotel were wonderful it was the thoughtfulness and helpfulness of the staff that made our visit so memorable and really demonstrated what Turkish hospitality is all about . Thank you all so very much

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhsff8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights during our trip to Turkey arranged by Ture Blue Tours. It was a wonderful experience. All the staff was very respectful. attentive, friendly and welcoming. They had great buffet breakfast in the morning and had complimentary wine and cheese testing on the weekends. They also had complimentary water, tea, coffee and snacks available all day in the lounge area. It is ideally located close to Hippodrome, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Our room was very clean, nicely decorated and very spacious. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews