We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort & Care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden House Istanbul
Ranked #51 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
El Campo, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfort & Care”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed at the Garden House both by myself one night and with a friend on another occasion. Both times I was delighted with the accommodations and the staff. Our favorite part was sitting on the patio/restaurant for breakfasts, afternoon snacks, or dinner. It's just a lovely outdoor spot. The hotel is a great location to get to the Old City's most important places and it is simply a charming building that's updated and clean. The staff was always happy to help and happy to see us. Great value ... a hidden treasure ... thank you for a great experience, Garden House!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    347
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
269
650
85
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I stayed four days in transit to another country. I must say this has been one of the most enjoyable hotel stays in our many years of travel. The hotel is absolutely charming, with it's old world feel and immaculate rooms. The service provided by staff is undeniably great, they are all warm, friendly and personable--very accommodating to their guests needs. We needed to have breakfast at 3:30 in the morning and it was promptly served.

From the front desk, to housekeeper and the cook Ramazan...we are sure to come back with our kids. We loved it so much we recommended it to a fellow traveller who checked in as well.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny, with windows affording great view from the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 786aiesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Service.. awesome staff, very polite and helpful. We were traveling with family and this was an awesome experience for them because the hotel staff were very nice.

Location.. situated in the heart of Sultanahmet, short walk from Ayasofya, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern etc. This is the best place to be to look at historic Istanbul.

Rooms.. not amazing, but they are as advertised. The rooms aren't luxurious but are comfy to crash at night.

Breakfast.. very nice Turkish breakfast and awesome breakfast service.

Overall.. the staff here is really nice and the location is perfect. These guys are hospitality pros! Thank you Gardenhouse!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niksharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Garden House is conveniently located, just minutes from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, and many other attractions as well as good restaurants. At the same time, its small garden and breakfast terrace offer a quiet retreat in the middle of busy downtown. The relatively small hotel has a nice, intimate atmosphere about it. Yes, rooms are somewhat small for US standards, and there is no elevator, but the rooms are nicely furnished and very clean, and with all the delicious food Istanbul has to offer, a little extra workout taking the stairs was welcome. Hotel staff, such as Ramazan, was very friendly and always available to help.

Also, if you are in town and want to experience Istanbul from a local’s point of view, check out the walking and culinary tours offered through My Local Guide Istanbul. They are excellent and give you a glimpse of the real Istanbul.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiselustig77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

As a young couple staying in Istanbul, we particularly enjoyed staying at the Garden House whose romantic and calm atmosphere contributed to the pleasure we had in this city. The staff is professional, friendly and caring. We were particularly grateful to Bora who did his best to make us feel at home. We arrived 4 hours earlier than the check in time and they manage to provide us a room although it was difficult for them. We particularly enjoyed having the beakfast in their nice garden. The location is at a walking distance to the main touristic places of the historic part of Istanbul, while outside of the noisy part of Sultanahmet. We can only re commend this hotel, especially for young couples in search of privileged moment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed five nights there from late June to early July. Had a wonderful stay. Terrific location (about 5 minutes from Ayasofia, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Mosiac museum, Little Ayasofia etc. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Hotel can arrange pickup from airport and very kindly stored our bags for us for 3 days even after we checked out when we took a trip to Cappadocia. Very quiet and peaceful place in a busy and touristy section of town. It gives a wonderful breakfast with a large variety of Turkish and western items, including freshly custom-made omelettes, turkish coffee, fresh fruits. Hotel also gives unlimited cookies and coffee/tea throughout the day and free wine and cheese tasting on weekends. Our room faced the courtyard and was so quiet that with the ac on, we never heard the "call to prayer" in the mornings. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor (by request) since I have trouble with managing a lot of stairs. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The staff at the Garden House made our stay special, stress-free, and relaxed. We arrived late, and were picked up at the airport. Even though it was midnight, the chef, called Ramazan, made us a full welcome dinner, served by candlelight in the garden.
We stayed in the top room which had its own small balcony, full cable TV, Internet, Aircon. Perfect for business guests. Very comfortable large bed and allergy free clean room, nice bathroom with bath/ shower. Located near the Blue Mosque. Was a great location, our trip was during Ramadan and so we could enjoy all the festivities around the mosque whist staying in a quiet garden hotel. Absolutely no complaints, if only all hotels were like this. No hesitation on recommending the hotel or any of the staff. 24 hour service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#50 of 1,156 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,156 in Istanbul
899 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#69 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#90 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,453 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#58 of 1,156 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Property: Garden House Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak No:11/13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#35 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing