We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden House Istanbul
Ranked #52 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“you get what you need”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We got good value for the price. Friendly staff, Selcuk helping with everything, not pushing too much the special tourist attraction offers. Free drinks all day, nice breakfast in a quiet garden, room comfortable and clean. Close to the main attractions and transportation to the other parts of city. Enjoyed to relax there after the tiring daily tourist programs. Remember the exact location if you don't take a taxi back, you might get lost in the surrounding small streets :).
Beatrix&Csaba

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csaba N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    344
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
266
648
84
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We received a warm welcome at this small, boutique hotel. I was impressed with the many kind touches, like a complimentary coffee/tea, juice stand available 24/7. Downside is that's it's a bit off the beaten track. It took time to find it. The price seemed a bit high for the setting. It's a quaint hotel. It's not perfect, price could be better, but I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Never take a room close to the road. There is road noise. Make sure you verify the location of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYWrldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My first visit to Turkey.
A vey nice, quietly hidden little place. Very well located for some of the most famous sights in Istanbul, and you can easily walk to them, however, the walk is a trifle uphill.
But of course, it is downhill when you are returning after a day's sightseeing. And there is always a welcoming glass or two of wine, juices, and tea and cakes, all on the house!

The room we slept in was large, airy, and tastefully furnished, but it didn't have much of a view. We could, however, sit on the balcony and look down a pleasant little courtyard.

Very filling breakfasts, with a large variety of items, and omelettes made before you and delivered to your table. Didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the food, but the menu was inviting and interesting.

I do not like TV or music in public places. There is a TV screen, on all the time, in the small lounge where the free, help yourself wines etc are to be had. But the sound on the TV is usually switched off, and if you ask, the very helpful staff will turn the TV off altogether.

Room Tip: Trust the staff; they are very helpful. We went off season, so there were plenty of rooms to choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aziz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days during May. We were overwhelmed by the choice of places to stay in Istanbul but glad we choose this place to enjoy our stay! This is a hidden gem of a boutique hotel, demonstrating traditional features of Istanbul. The staff were very friendly. Mr Selcuk, the hotel manager, was informative and helpful, providing us tips of the city and always ensuring we are comfortable during our stay. If you are looking for something modern, then this hotel is not for you. The hotel is traditional in its features and furniture and this was something we were looking for. The boutique room was clean, consisting of a Turkish bath but also had normal shower. We had a balcony but was not facing the garden house. We stay in room 205. The location of the hotel is very good, very close to places such as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Palace etc...Definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the garden. We stayed in room 205, had a balcony but faced the road instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipShabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel from May 19 to May 23. I found staff and ambiance both very good. Among the staff there is a gentleman called Faris who is super friendly and very professional. Also Mr. Saljuk made sure that our stay was pleasant. I am glad we chose this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamyar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were in our Honey Moon Travel. I had been looking a lot of hotels in internet, and choosed this one, and I can tell you I was completely wright. The hotel was very well located, close to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, quiet and clean. The room was really nice, big enough, with the touch of Turkish decoration (including the bed sheets) that I looked for, the bathroom clean almost new, they changed the bed sheets and bath towels every day, the breakfast also very good, and the best was the kindness of the personnel of the hotel, from desk to restaurant, specially Mr . SelÇuk, that solved all our problems and made our stay really pleasant.

Room Tip: I wrote an observation about the type of room I wanted, in the web page where I did the reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEDRO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My business partner and I have recently stayed at the Garden House for a very busy business trip. We had originally thought to stay in Beyoglu where many of the business hotels are but we are so fed up of soulless hotels and needed somewhere to really feel at home. After looking through Trip Advisor, we found this lovely hotel. We are seasoned travellers and have stayed in many places but this hotel takes my breath away! The rooms are lovely, we splashed out on a suite room (no more expensive than a standard business room elsewhere) which has lots of space, an amazing Turkish bath, and all the luxury you need.

The garden is fantastic, and so relaxing. After seeing many of the sites, it is perfect to sit, read a book and sip the local wine. There is free tea (many types), coffee, juice, water and freshly made cake all day and night. I am a true Brit and drink lots of tea. I really think we have saved a fortune here alone! The garden definitely makes the business travel well worth it.

The hotel is on a hill and so you need to be aware that walking uphill is inevitable but it has kept me fit, so I cant complain. I would advise all travellers to buy an Istanbul Card for the Metro as you save money on every journey. We had to commute across to Asia side for some meetings but this is the first time my commute was so relaxing, on the ferry, drinking tea and taking in the sites. To get to Uskadar, Asia side (large business centre) from Eminonu on the ferry only takes around 15 mins. I found that the boats came along quicker than the metros! This place is fairly central so whether you are working Asia side or Europe side you can reach everywhere fairly quickly.

For culture, you really couldn't be closer with a five minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Basilica. The hotel is situated in the middle of three very beautiful 15th Century mosques, so history and culture is everywhere.

There is a guest relations manager (Selcuk) that is here most of the time and has helped us will all our travel requirements (he is not on commission and is provided solely for the guests needs) and is so helpful.

The staff are wonderful and really know customer service (seriously London, you need some lessons here!)

We have meeting here again, hopefully within the next month or so and we will definitely be booking here . I would recommend this hotel for holidays but also it is ideal for business. I would also be happy to be a lone female traveller here as it is a secure environment.

Room Tip: For a Turkish bath, you have to book a suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaDestek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#54 of 1,141 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#16 of 1,141 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#64 of 1,141 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,443 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,141 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Property: Garden House Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak No:11/13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#27 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#35 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing