We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and very charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden House Istanbul
Ranked #43 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room has a great size, they really care about details which is less and less common these days.
The staff is fantastic and really nice.
Good location to walk around the main turistic atractions but quite too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

The property is very beautiful. Open air patios and gardens are very relaxing. The room was gorgeous and equipped with a jacuzzi tub. Very elegant rooms. Breakfast was wonderful. They had fresh fruit, omelette to order, dates and traditional Turkish fare. Walking distance to bazaar and close to many sites.

Only drawback was no lift/elevator.

Room Tip: Request lower floor room if you can't do many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Garden House. The location was good, the breakfast was tasty (with many Turkish items), and the room was comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly when my airport shuttle did not arrive at 5am and they promptly arranged alternative transport.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the windows open, request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a great hotel perfectly positioned close to all the popular sights. We walked everywhere. The room we stayed in for 3 nights was very comfortable and the service and advice offered by the staff was outstanding.

Room Tip: room 204 - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our visit was met with the prompt and attentive greetings by the manager Mr Salcuk , a very friendly, helpful and enthusiastically hard working, with his team of efficient workforce.
We love the open terrace area very much, which you don't get this in a more formal hotel. There is a 140 year-old walnut tree fringing the terrace which value-adds it to be a quiet shaded area for casual tea, food and chatting area with friends,.
A less than 20 rooms hotel gives the whole hotel setting warm and family -like place for fellowship especially after a day of outting/excursion.
Food is not so great BUT the kitchen is very accommodating. Your request is and will never be declined.
We love a local dish ,called MENIMEN, tomato , onion and aubergine cooked in a pot. It goes very with bread. Very nice indeed.
All the best to Mr Salcuk and team, well done !
Review by LAN Kim LOOI/ Chow Meng ONG from PENANG, MALAYSIA m

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ONG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Garden House Hotel 5 nights and 6 days while visiting in Istanbul on our summer holiday. We booked the hotel via internet because of hotels good location at walking distance from most important historical sights in Istanbul. The hotel is really a gardenlike place in the middle of a huge Metropol. The staff and hotel´s guest relations manager, Selcuk Topcu,
were very kind and helpfull. At the first day we got very good and usefull information from Selcuk about city trips and shopping. Breakfast was very tasty and miscellaneous. In the lobby bar there was free coffee, tea, water and seasonal fruits all day, served as a compliment from the hotel.
Our room was very comfortable having two balconies and jacuzzi. The only little minus is the location at the third floor without elevation. The garden restaurant is very peaceful and pleasant having good meals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anniina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I couldn't have asked for a better experience in Istanbul. We stayed here two separate nights because we were actually on our way in and out of Germany via Istanbul, and we felt like we were staying with family. It's in the old part of the city, walking distance to all the important sites, our rooms both times overlooked a charming garden restaurant, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent, served buffet style in a bright, window-filled room. The rooms had everything we needed for a family of four, traveling with two young kids.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dina-Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#46 of 1,181 in Istanbul
858 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#133 of 1,181 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#51 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,587 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#64 of 1,181 in Istanbul
986 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#15 of 1,181 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak No:11/13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#23 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#41 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £33 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing