We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reclusive , enjoyable and convienant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden House Istanbul
Ranked #54 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Reclusive , enjoyable and convienant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The staff of the Garden House Hotel were courteous and friendly, with every effort being made to ensure our stay was pleasant and comfortable. The hotel itself is conveniently located near the major tourist attractions in the Old City area of Istanbul, with a large variety of local restaurants within walking distance. Also within walking distance is the tram, with the nearest station being Sultanahmet, and this is an ideal way to arrive or depart the area when exploring the city. If you aren't confident with using a mixture of public transport methods, ie tram to metro to bus ect, the metro terminal station of Aksaray (which has a direct link to the Ataturk International Airport) can be used and then a taxi taken from there to reach the hotel. This cost us 10TL for the taxi at the time. Not far by tram is the Grand Bazaar and the also the much cheaper Spice Bazaar, both are enjoyable and if you have a keen eye with the gift of the gab, a decent bargain can be struck. Overall our stay at the Garden House Hotel was an enjoyable experience, the staff spoke good English and were very helpful towards our needs. Thank you for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the garden would be quieter as well as more scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    341
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
263
641
84
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was there with friends for 5 nights and we couldn't have asked for a nicer spot. The service of the staff is impeccable - always willing to answer questions and give great recommendations. Best of all is the garden where you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, free coffee tea or water 24/7 and a nice selection of wines and beer for purchase at the end of a long day of sightseeing. Each room is different from the rest and all are very comfortable.
Very close to many sights, about 20-25 minute cab ride to airport or short tram ride.
Also free WIFI is always a plus. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen_oshea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 6 nights last week. Nice and clean rooms. Both rooms we had haveTurkish bath. Breakfast is served in the open garden under huge trees. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Mr. Murad.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HYZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I've had a really pleasant stay in the hotel with a friend. The situation of the hotel is perfect for a short visit to Istambul. The rooms and facilities were excellent, the staff helpful and very friendly. It was pleasure to have everyday breakfast outside in the terrace. Even if area is very busy, the rooms were quite, perfectly clean and with a wonderful shower. Maybe the only thing it was not perfect was the Wifi connection, it work poorly soemtimes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent two nights at garden house and it was excellent. Amazing beds great shower and a lovely oasis in the middle of busy istanbul. We had dinner one night which was delicious, great price and lovely service. Very helpful staff! We will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maeve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was a family trip - couple + 1yr old kid and

Pros:
24-hr frontdesk and great service from staff
Cosy lounge where there is free internet (you can print your check in tickets etc) with free mineral water and complimentary tea and coffee -- thats a major +++
Friendly room svc staff and reminds me of a home stay than a hotel
Walking distance (~10-15mins) to hippodrome, blue mosque, hagia sophia, cistern etc as well as supermarkets around and of course the metro T1/tram

Cons:
Walking up a particularly steep slope to reach anywhere - good exercise but would say its inconvenient for some
In a quiet corner of the neighbourhood although we didnt feel unsafe

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was excellent for my family's needs. We were a group of 8 varying in ages from 8 - 55 and this hotel satisfied us all. The location is excellent. You can walk to the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sofia, the Grand Bazaar and much more. The breakfast was a nice buffet of breads, meats, fruits, yogurt, traditional Turkish cold salads, hot and cold drinks, as well as freshly made omelettes to your taste. The service was excellent. We had rooms on the 5th floor of the main building and the 3rd floor of the secondary building and one of the gentlemen working there carried all of our luggage up the stairs and brought extra cots for us. There is no elevator in the building. One of our rooms faced the street and it could be noisy at night. However both rooms and the bathrooms were large and beautifully decorated with good air conditioning. Upon arrival, we had a fruit platter and complimentary water waiting for us in our rooms. All of the staff were courteous and helpful. I appreciated being able to come back to the hotel after a tiring day of walking and having complimentary tea and fruit in the lobby with my children.
For tour information, they can help you in the hotel but we also received excellent service and value from the travel agent directly across the street from hotel. (I forget his name.). There are many restaurants in the area but for quick service, large portions and an inexpensive meal, you need to go to Baba Slow Food which is located on the street behind the hotel. It is a 1 minute walk from the hotel.

We loved our visit to Istanbul and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms that do not face the street for less noise. Do not stay on the top floor if you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#50 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#21 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Property: Garden House Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak No:11/13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing