We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of true Istanbul in a perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A piece of true Istanbul in a perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Excellent position, stylish décor, good service and really welcoming. The rooms are good size, well furnished and equipped. Nice little spa and a lot of character. Perfect for exploring Istanbul and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tagliolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaultKarakoy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Deat Tagliogo ,

Thank you very much for the glowing feedback and we are thrilled to hear that you felt yourself in a piece of true Istanbul! I will share your feedback with all of our staff and management. We look forward to seeing you again in Istanbul and if there is anything you need to plan your next visit, we will be more than happy to assist you.

Kindest regards ,

Irem Kucukay
Guest Services and Quality Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    91
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
65
278
60
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a stay at the Vault. 4 nights were very good to excellent. This was our 4th time in Istanbul and 2nd one staying at a Small Luxury Hotel in Istanbul, previously stayed at TomTom. The Vault has the perfect location. Close to Galata, the Old town and everything that you could want to see on a short break holiday. The Hotel has just been restored /refurbished and it has been done to an amazing standard. The decor of the restaurant brings a feeling of 1900's luxury which goes perfectly with its original purpose of being a bank. The downstairs Vault which holds meeting rooms & the wine cellar is worth a visit, keeping the original doors. Thank you to the kind staff for giving us a show around. The finishings all over the hotel were perfect, they really did a superior job of workmanship.

We booked an executive room for 3 nights and a superior for the last night. The executive room was very nice, exactly like the photos. Good sized living room, perfect view outside of Juliet balcony . Very nice marble shower. Nice bath products/ toiletries. Good storage. We were upgraded for the last 3 nights to the Penthouse Terrace Suite, which is incredible! I think of all the hotels that I have stayed in the bath alone is remarkable, the view of the Bosphorus & Hagia Sofia second to none! Sorry can't comment on Superior room as I never saw it.

Breakfast very good. Good selection of local produce, love those bagel type breads, brings back memories of childhood in Montreal. Cappuccino good, waffles good, orange juice, overall an excellent breakfast which is included in price if a member of middle tier of Small Luxury program.

Room service menu limited but what we had was very good, and the price very reasonable for a hotel of not only this standard but any standard.

What I loved: -Attentiveness & warmness of the staff. Seemed generally concerned that you were happy.
-Very large box of truffles in room, they were excellent
-Wine & cheese plate when we checked in
-Many bottles of complimentary water
-Espresso machine & cold milk in minibar
-Bath products

What needs to be improved: -Agree with one of the other reviewers regarding floor cleaning, the executive room floor seemed to have some sort of grit, needed to be better swept / rinsed. There is construction in area and possibly from outside. But bad feeling on bare feet. Slippers so so standard.
-Staff is very attentive but there seems to be some language barrier even with simple requests having to be repeated many times. Our problem was ice, really did make us laugh when after a half hour the poor staff member showed up with a paper bag and as I looked at it and was confused he looked at me and was equally confused as to why I didn't want it. Level of conversing seems to be good but some lost in translation going on.
-Pillows a little odd, one too hard, like a rock and the other so large not really great. Rest of bedding was excellent.
-Air conditioning not strong enough, even at 16C and on max room was still a little warm. But definitely quiet.
definitely

Room Tip: I think I would reserve the deluxe as a minimum, the price difference between the rooms is not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank True_Destiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaultKarakoy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear True_Destiny ,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide such positive feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the nostalgic touch of our hotel, location, breakfast and amenities in your room during your stay. Also I would like to thanks again for the details you shared that needs to be improved which will be taken in consideration by our management to serve you better on your next visit. We look forward to welcome you again and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards ,

Irem Kucukay
Guest Service & Quality Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel. Very nice interior. Very nice food. Great location, close to many areas in Istanbul which you might want to visit.
It is the service that makes the Vault a very special place. Many thanks to Mehmet at reception for being one of the best hosts I have ever met!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaultKarakoy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Tim D ,

Thank you so much for your feedback and for staying with us! I am glad you had a memorable time with us and liked our hotel, interior design, food and location. Mehmet truly is a valued member of the Vault Karakoy staff and I am so glad he was able to assist you with everything you needed during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please don't hesitate to contact us!

Kindest regards ,

Irem Kucukay
Guest Service & Quality Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wonderful hotel, beautiful rooms, excellent food & spa, superb staff - all just perfect. We are normally quite particular about the hotels we stay in and we just loved everything about this hotel, cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaultKarakoy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Annastasia S ,

Thank you for your kind words of our property as especially to our staff. We pride ourselves on our genuine, attentive service so it is a pleasure to hear a review such as yours.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Irem Kucukay,
Guest Service & Quality Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My daughter and I were first time visitors to Istanbul and did not realize how centrally located the Vault Karakoy is until our arrival. Walking distance to the Galata Tower, New District, Taksim Square and the Old City. Or take the tram conveniently located near the hotel. Located in an old bank building with great architectural features. One of my favorites -- circular marble stairway wrapped around an old style elevator (still in service). Stayed for 5 nights and quickly became friends with many of the staff members -- they truly made the experience of staying there a remarkable one. Kudos to the hotel management for gathering a great collection of interesting staff people. Choosing this hotel for my next visit is a no-brainer!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back -- view towards the Old City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaultKarakoy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear John B ,

We are so happy to be called "Awesome"! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your feedback, it is much appreciated. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time with your daughter at your first time in Istanbul and liked the architecture of our hotel and the staff that I will absolutely share this with our staff hear. Thank you again and if you need any assistance arranging a future stay with us please don't hesitate to contact us!

Kindest regards ,

Irem Kucukay
Guest Service & Quality Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our first visit to the wonderful city of Istanbul, which was made even more special by the fantastic staff at the Vault Hotel. This is a new hotel in the Karakoy district of the city but it is a beautiful converted former bank with loads of character and many retained artefacts from its previous life. We had such fun with all of the very friendly staff and, as quite experienced travellers, it is the first time I have felt compelled to make a recommendation like this. Excellent breakfast served until 11.00 a.m. and one evening we decided to 'dine in' at the Vault and had probably the best meal during our stay in Istanbul, great service, great food, great music! (good wine too).
There is also a beautiful Spa area in the basement and a small gym.

The Hotel has not been open too long and sadly the roof terrace is not yet ready, however, once this is open it will be very hard to think of a better location or indeed a better Hotel to stay in then The Vault, especially combined with such wonderful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hac911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaultKarakoy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Hac911,

Thank you very much for your kind words and fort he glowing review! I am thrilled to hear that our staff provided a fantastic service to make your first Istanbul visit memorable and you took advantage of our prime location. I will be sure to pass along your nice comments to our restaurant team regarding your experience our Kasa Lokanta & Bar. We are still working on our terrace restaurant which will be in service soon. We look forward to seeing you again soon and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact.

Kindest regards ,

Irem Kucukay
Guest Service & Quality Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed only one night but had a late departure flight and we were lucky enough to be allowed a late check out (no charge) therefore it felt like we stayed for two full days.

This is a very good hotel. The style is faultless. Superb decor and I can't imagine how much the renovation cost. Each detail has been so carefully considered. A beautiful hotel for those into design.

The location is just incredible. Karakoy is a fabulous wee spot. Great cafes, wine bars, cool little shops (up the stairs around the tower above). Just what we hoped for and got.

The hotel staff did absolutely everything to make our stay great even if it was only for one night without exception.

I didn't run as I wasn't sure of the city layout but if you are a runner I worked one out on the way back to the airport. Simply go to the bridge underpass, cross the river and turn left. You can run along the waterfront and turn around when you're ready. I will do that next time, it would be a good run in a busy city that isn't otherwise well suited for it.

My only quibble was breakfast. We both found the standard of food to be slightly under that of the overall hotel (other than the little glasses of yogurt, fruit and granola, they were delicious). A better selection of great bread, cheeses, more topping up, just overall more attention to detail in this area is in order in my opinion. The coffee was pretty dire which is a shame given the great coffee houses locally and the tea is served from a big stewed vat rather than in tea pots to order (unless you go for the fresh mint tea which I did in the end and was perfect).

We will return to Istanbul, it's a great stop off to or from Europe / Dubai. We will therefore return to the Vault Hotel Karakoy. Oh BTW Lokanta Maya (about 500m from the hotel) is superb and for us a highlight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MataiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaultKarakoy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear MataiDubai ,

We are pleased to hear that you enjooyed staying with us and want to thank you for your wonderful review with great recommendations! Regarding our breakfast, please be sure that I will pass along your comments to our restaurant team as well as our management which will be taken in consideration to serve you even better. We look forward to seeing you again if you need any assistance arranging your next Istanbul adventure please don't hesitate to contact us.

Kindest regards ,

Irem Kucukay
Guest Service & Quality Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#41 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#88 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#67 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#57 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#35 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel

Property: Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Address: Bankalar Caddesi No. 5, Istanbul 34421, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vault Karaköy, The House Hotel is located in the up-and-coming neighborhood of Karaköy on Bankalar Caddesi, a convenient launching pad to explore bohemian Beyoğlu and historic Sultanahmet.Restored by the Agha Khan award-winning Turkish architect Han Tümertekin, the building structure retains original features, while the luxurious modern interiors were designed by Sinan Kafadar who was inspired by its imposing bank vaults, which also gave rise to the hotel's name.The contemporary classic room interiors also evoke wealth and luxury. An in-house art curator will organize events and exhibitions throughout the hotel. Also, a collection of precious books related to art, culture & music will be displayed. Vault Karaköy, The House Hotel highlights Art & Culture, blending classic and contemporary styles, thus bringing together visions of Ancient and Modern Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing