We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!!!”
Review of Hotel Ipek Palas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ipek Palas
Ranked #584 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have visited Turkey twice.We stayed at IPEK PALAS HOTEL the second time and we didn't regret it. The staff was helpful, kind and happy to assist us with more information about the cityseeing. The room was simple but elegant and very clean. Breakfast was rich for everybody's taste. The hotel was near Aya Sofia, Topkapi, Archaelogical Museum, Sultanahmet area, Kapali Carci (Grand Bazaar). We recommend it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PANAGIOTA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Panagiota,

We would like to thank you for the stupendous review of our hotel and services. It has been a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. We are very glad to hear that you were more than satisfied with your stay at Ipek Palas.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and for your kind words.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Ipek Palas hotel for your third time in Istanbul.

Warmest regards,

Guest Relations
Ms I.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very nice hotel within walking distance of all the major tourist attractions. We had a great time. Room was clean and nice. Concierge was very friendly and helpful. Saved us money on arranging transport to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Ryan,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about us with other Tripadvisor followers. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied during your stay at our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Istanbul and at Ipek Palas hotel for another memorable vacation.

Warmest regards,

Guest Relations
Ms I.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Where can i start? Istanbul is a city which never sleeps. You can have fun 24-7. A fabulous hotel's location made our stay much more fun, close to most historical places, trams, and many great restaurants. Staff in the Hotel are wonderful. We had a small problem with our room but after one night we went down and spoke to the manager called Alaeddine. He approached us with a big smile and said he is going to sort this out and he did. He always been there for our enquires, helping us to find the best place to go and see. He helped us to arrange and recommended many great trips to interesting places. He made our stay much more enjoyable with full of great memories. He did make a big positive impact on our stay. Omit was also a great member of that team, very helpful. A beautiful amigo from Spain was helpful too. We will definitely go back to Ipek Palace.

Room Tip: The economy rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edyta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Edyta,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ipek Palas hotel and for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are very glad to hear that you had a great time in Istanbul.
It makes us very proud to know that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel. Be assured that we will pass your positive comments to our staff. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warmest regards,

Guest Relations
Ms I.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I spent a week in a suite with a second small bedroom coming off the main one. The hotel is the 2nd oldest in istanbul but has been refurbished.

The hotel is well located...turn right and you are 15 minutes from Sultanahmed with Topkapi, Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Turn left and you are 10 minutes from the waterfront with boat for the bosphorus, golden horn and taxis to Taksim, Ayub/Fatih etc.

The breakfast is a buffet affair with a good variety of food on offer. My family was half board and we enjoyed a 3 course meal every evening which was of a high quality.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

In August the temperature is hot and humid. The main bedroom had aircon but the second did not benefit from it. The bedrooms could have been bigger. But is still good value for money for its location, friendly staff and good food.

I would stay there again as the location and value for money are both very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank marashli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Marashli,

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests in our hotel.
Your positive comments motivate us to keep working towards the highest satisfaction of our guests. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as, we are happy to find that you were satisfied with our services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Istanbul and at Ipek Palas hotel.

Warmest regards,

Guest Relations
Ms I.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

First.. we've stayed at many places, and tourists have to remember that this is a historic building, We loved, loved,LOVED it. Second, we stayed there with our Turkish son-in law, and he loved it, too! The location was outstanding, and the breakfasts were possibly the best hotel breakfasts we've ever had, and as I said, we've been around. The variety and freshness of the food kept us coming back for more. It had Turkish cuisine and the best olive selection we've seen, yet there was something for everyone. If what wasn't served wasn't enough, they would make omelets. We came with a group, and between us had four rooms.
As some have said, the rooms weren't large, but were very clean, and the AC was excellent even during a hot streak. I think folks need to realize that they are coming to Istanbul to see things, not stay in their room. Comfortable sleeping and good breakfasts are paramount. Bathrooms clean and not scary.The bed was very comfortable, for both my husband and me, both of us are back surgery survivors and knee surgery too! Hotel staff was amazing! They went out of their way to help us, offer suggestions, and help us with every need.
The location was perfect--walk to the train, ferries, museums, and convenience stores with water bottles within a block. Not a scary neighborhood, lots of shopping. Isabel was a sweetheart and extremely helpful. We hope to go back and stay again. Thank you Ipek Palas for making our Istanbul experience outstanding!

Room Tip: We opted for the superior room--they aren't huge, but this is Europe, and not an "Americani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Phoebe,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking time to share such a kind review about your recent Ipek Palas experience on TripAdvisor. It has been a true honour to have you all as our guests.
Your positive words of appreciation are a big reward for the team and will inspire us to excel further in ensuring that all our guests return home with many fond memories.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as, we are happy to find that you were satisfied with our hospitality and services.
On your next trip we look forward to welcoming you back at Ipek Palas for another memorable holiday.

Warmest regards from Istanbul,

Guest Relations
Ms I.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was totally disappointed in my super-tiny room. The bed was a twin, and the linens looked like they were 20 years old. The red light in my nightstand lamp was weird.

Positives: The hotel has free wi-fi, the front-desk staff is very helpful and helped us plan excursions in Istanbul and to Izmir.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks to share your comments about us. We are sorry we could not satisfy your expectations.
We have checked the records and we found that you booked an economy twin room at very reasonable rate. On your next trip we will be pleased to show you our room types: standard, superior, superior concept, superior suite and super suite rooms; the sizes of the rooms are bigger than economy rooms and more comfortable, then you will definitely change your mind about our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Ipek Palas.

Best regards from Istanbul,

Guest Relations
Ms I.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Great location. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. After a somewhat rip off of a taxi ride to the hotel, and then bring told to walk part of the way, I arrived in a not so happy state. The room was very small, but I wasn't surprised due to what I paid. After putting our luggage down, we went downstairs and were offered some Turkish tea/coffee, and the concierge was more than helpful in telling us where to go/how to get there. Airport shuttle from hotel was cheap (5€), and got us to the airport in good time (although it turned out our flight went from the smaller, not so well known airport and we had to purchase new tickets - not the hotels problem). Breakfast at the hotel was as expected for a Turkish meal.

Opt for a bigger room, and you should have no problems with this hotel

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Danleibman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Dan,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Istanbul and at Ipek Palas hotel.

Warm regards,

Guest Relations
Ms I.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#373 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#401 of 1,163 in Istanbul
213 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#379 of 1,163 in Istanbul
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#262 of 1,163 in Istanbul
722 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#272 of 1,163 in Istanbul
465 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#84 of 1,163 in Istanbul
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ipek Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ipek Palas

Address: Orhaniye Cad. No:9, Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#366 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ipek Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ipek Palace is located in the old city section of Istanbul. The airport is 15 km from the hotel. Topkapi palace museum, orient express railway station, Blue Mosque and St. Sophia are only 15 minutes away by walking. The entrance of the hotel was decorated with Italian marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ipek Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipek Palas Hotel
Ipek Palas Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing