We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent, beautifully decorated hotel with super-friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Ipek Palas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ipek Palas
Ranked #444 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
London
1 review
“An excellent, beautifully decorated hotel with super-friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I found the Hotel Ipek Palas on Lastminute.com where I got a flight and hotel package for just £244. With such a low price, I wasn't expecting much but was delighted with the hotel. Arriving flustered and tired from our journey, we were greeted warmly by the hotel staff with a complementary cold drink brought to us at reception. The porters there are available around the clock and dressed in tradition and smart uniforms giving the hotel a classic and expensive feel.

The hotel is beautifully decorated with plush fabrics, chairs and chesterfields offset with glittering chandeliers hanging from the ceiling. Our room was clean, tidy and comfortable. We opted for the standard room since it was the cheapest and it was more enough for our needs. If you were going for a more romantic break, I would suggest upgrading to a concept room, of which there are several in the hotel.

The hotel restaurant was probably my least favourite aspect of the hotel although it was still very competitive. The view form the restaurant is stunning over the Bosphorus, especially at night. the hotel holds regular Turkish nights too. My only disappointment was the food in the hotel which while good for the price wasn't that nice.

What the hotel lacked in culinary delights, it more than made up for in the friendliness of the staff. Reception staff were always on hand to help and greeted me regularly with a 'how are you?' They made our trip very memorable and treated us as though we were special even though there were lots of people staying that week. A particular member of staff, Emin was absolutely lovely.

Whilst i probably won't visit Istanbul again, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the city. It is within walking distance of all the sights including the river. The tram stop is a 4 minute walk from the hotel and there are lots of restaurants within a stone's throw.

One word of warning about restaurants in the area - Don't let them offer to 'order for you' when you are in a group. They make it sound like good value as they will put together a platter but infact charge you way over the odds. We fell foul to this on one occasion!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MianMianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    330
    171
    82
    72
See reviews for
191
364
70
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east anglia
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2010

lovely hotel, friendly staff, they even let us into our room early with no extra charge and upgraded it too. Helpful staff. Rooms decorated very romantically, we had an extra room with sofa, it was very pretty. Only negative was that there was a very noisy building site next door and you could hear lorries, diggers all night. The Mosque is close and you also hear the prayer callings at various times of the day, sometimes quite early. We booked the hotel recommended transfer to take us on our return journey to airport and it was an hour late and we ended up missing our plane so we wouldn't recommend booking the transfer, but other than that, it was a nice hotel, and Istanbul is a city full of chram and charcater with lots of hustle and bustle and lots of history too. You should check out the turkish baths, it is quite an experience but a good one! Food excellent in Turkey also!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herisson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

My son, daughter and I have just returned from a weekend trip to Istanbul, where we stayed at the Ipek Palas hotel. We had a wonderful time in this great city, enhanced by the satisfaction we felt with our hotel.
The Ipek Palas is perfectly located for visiting the Topkapi Palace, the Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. It is also very close to the Eminonu dock area, and is surrounded by a plethora of good restaurants. It is within easy walking distance of the Grand Bazaar, the Spice Bazaar and the Arasta Bazaar.
Our rooms weren't palatial, but more than adequate, and the showers were superb! However, the best thing about this hotel is the staff. Very pleasant, helpful and welcoming. The restaurant manager in particular was great, and this ,combined with the scrumptious and massive breakfast buffet and the amazing views, made the IP a hotel we would definitely return to again and again.
Just a slight word of warning..... my son had a single room and it was very, very small, but having said that, if you're there for the sightseeing and don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room (and what a waste that would be!) it would be perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2010

My wife & I celebrated our anniversary by staying at Ipek Palas as a gift from our children. We had a wonderful time, staff hospitality was excellent and I would recommend it to anyone. The hotel was modern, beautiful and conveniently located in the heart of Istambul with very polite food and lovely food. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

very comfortable and clean hotel in sirkeci. most of the sightseeings are very close to walk.
the personal is very kind and the breakfast is delicious!
we`ll visit the hotel again!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2010

i loved the hotel when i was there and its not far to sultanahmet mosque me and my friend very enjoyed also staff was very good manager was very friendly for us (ertugrul) so i like to go back and stay there again and i like to say thanks very much for everyone i hope to see all of them again bye...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisseee_1mate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The hotel looked very lush in the pictures advertised by the hotel website. The rooms were extremely small and basic. The bathroom was very smelly and i had to hold my breath on several occasions.

Every morning our sleep was disturbed by the chairs being dragged in the breakfast room above. The view from the breakfast room was breath taking but the breakfast was repitative, appalling and crowded at times. We didn't eat in the restaurant but generally we found food in Istanbul, not to our acquired taste.

The location for this hotel is excellent, all the main tourist attractions are walking distance and public transport.

The staff at the reception were not friendly and didn't provide a good service. We visited a place called Balat and this gave an insight to local life. I would recommend this area if your into culture and architect. Great place to take snap shots.

We stayed for 7 nights but i recon 5 nights would be ideal.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanveyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Amber Hotel
#91 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#328 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Park Hotel
Gulhane Park Hotel
#350 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#438 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#54 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#158 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ipek Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ipek Palas

Property: Hotel Ipek Palas
Address: Orhaniye Cad. No:9, Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#213 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#294 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ipek Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ipek Palace is located in the old city section of Istanbul. The airport is 15 km from the hotel. Topkapi palace museum, orient express railway station, Blue Mosque and St. Sophia are only 15 minutes away by walking. The entrance of the hotel was decorated with Italian marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ipek Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipek Palas Hotel
Ipek Palas Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing