We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon dream”
Review of Hotel Ipek Palas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ipek Palas
Ranked #464 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Majorca, Spain
1 review
“Honeymoon dream”
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We had our honeymoon in this hotel very romantic and charming rooms. The bosphorus restaurant at the terrace was worthed everything. The rooms were designed as honeymooners with roses....very charming

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    330
    171
    82
    73
See reviews for
191
365
70
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baghdad, Iraq
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

- on the good side: it has a good location close to the tramway and to most of the important sites, clean, nice breakfast area, beautiful terrace for the restaurant, friendly staff espesially the night shift.
- on the down side: when we arrived we called the hotel for the shuffle we were promised and we had to wait for about an hour and a hal jstf to find tht they sent us a driver from another hotel waiting for other customers to arrive so we had to wait an extra hour! we had a special offer because we were honeymooners to spend the 1st 3 nights in a honeymoon room which i assumed was one of their theme rooms as it says on the website but we were put in a standard room for the 1st night and on the 2nd nite we were moved to a corner suite which was also kind of a disappointment and we only spent 2 nights in it. they dont stick to their words and we had booked 9 nights for the same rate but at the last 3 nights they doubled it so we moved to a different hotel. no electric plugs in the room for a laptop or charger, and we were promised a room far from the construction but they put us in the closest 1 to it. the hairdryer in the room didnt work. very poor lighting in the rooms, very small closets no place for clothes, and the bathroom had a bad smell. oh and roomservice didnt change the sheets often.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Hotel Ipek Palas when I stayed in July of 2009. From the minute I got out of the taxi I was made to feel completely at ease by the hotel staff. They were extremely courteous and friendly. The hotel is not too far from the old city and within 15 minutes walk to St. Sophia, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. A few minutes walk in the other direction will take you to a more vibrant and hip Istanbul where you can watch people go through their daily activities.

The morning buffet was a virtual smorgassboard of Mediterranean food, and the restauant provides a grand view of ships coming into port and a hodge podge of rooves and minarets that periodically pop up in the skyline.

My room was small, but adequate. I didn't mind because I hardly spent time in there except only to sleep. When I go back to Turkey, I'm staying here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinichuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Good location, well placed for all the top 10 sights to see. My sister and I were not happy with the first room we stayed in, but the very next morning we were offered another better room with no fuss and at no extra cost. We found all the staff, without exception, to be very friendly, attentive, and most accommodating. These included Ulas, Murat, Enver, Yunus to name a few. Also the client relations young lady, Isil was exceptional in her attention to our needs as well as to other guests (our observation). The hotel was clean, and our room was always tidy during our week's stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheri_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

metro underground building meant taxi could not get to hotel on arrival and the noise until 2am was terrible. Also visited the tunnelling in Kadikoy(on the asian side) where there were no hotels near the tunnel works. The tunnel will take up to 2 years to complete.
Reception should have had some ear plugs. We found some in a chemist in the road with the squeaking tram way about 100yards from the hotel.
The Ipek is well placed for visting old istanbul you can walk to grand bazaar, topkapi palace, 2 mosques sofia and blue, spice market, galata bridge and boats.
hotel staff were helpful

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2010

I visited Istanbul for five days / four nights with my wife, for a Turkish friend's wedding.

The Hotel Ipek Palas is very central, and within easy walking distance of the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Castle; and to the tram to visit other areas of Istanbul.

There are major renovations happening behind the hotel, but this is not too much of an issue. On the same block as the hotel is a Mosque, and various characterful local chai shops where you can while away and hour or so and it feels like a real local neighbourhood place, despite being so central.

The rooms in the hotel are of varying size - the hotel is a triangular building, much like the prow of a ship. Consequently, some double rooms are tiny, while others at the same price are more than generous in their size. We asked to change from a smaller room after the first night, given that my wife was pregnant, and this was not an issue.

The staff are, generally, extremely friendly and helpful - which we found most people to be during our stay. I wouldn't say they try to 'upsell' you more than anywhere else in the tourist areas to eat in their restaurant.

It would be fair to say that more has been invested in 'front of house' than in the upkeep of some of the rooms. We had other relatives and friends staying in the hotel for the wedding, so saw a variety of rooms - and many had loose sockets, wobbly bathroom fittings, and in the case of one room, a sharp edge on a safety catch on the door where this had been snapped by a previous guest. This did actually tear the cloth of my suit jacket - a problem for which, to their eventual credit, the hotel reimbursed me following some correspondence with them.

For all this, this is a good value hotel - in terms of the room rates and generous inclusive breakfast which fuels you for a day exploring Istanbul. It has an excellent location if you are visiting the city for the first time, and I would rate it 3.5 out of 5 on balance.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MockneyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed in this hotel with my family in October.First time we visited Istanbul.We found this hotel with an advice.A frend of mine stayed here before and he higly recommended me to stay in Ipek Palas hotel.
Everything was wonderful in the hotel.Breakfast is perfect in open buffet.lobby is big and comfortable.there are two computers that guests can use free with internet.there is a terrace restaurant and its wiew is wonderful,you can see all bosphorus opposite you..
Staff is very helpful.whenever we go to lobby,the staff who work in lobby wants to order us drinks..we didn't want to go outside really..location of the hotel is excellent.you can walk in 5 or 10 minutes to all historical and touristic places..
Just go and stay in Ipek Palas.You will like more this wonderful city in this wonderful hotel..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fubar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#334 of 1,141 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#249 of 1,141 in Istanbul
434 reviews
Amber Hotel
#102 of 1,141 in Istanbul
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#61 of 1,141 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#156 of 1,141 in Istanbul
923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Raymond Blue Hotel
Raymond Blue Hotel
#284 of 1,141 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ipek Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ipek Palas

Property: Hotel Ipek Palas
Address: Orhaniye Cad. No:9, Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#213 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#308 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ipek Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ipek Palace is located in the old city section of Istanbul. The airport is 15 km from the hotel. Topkapi palace museum, orient express railway station, Blue Mosque and St. Sophia are only 15 minutes away by walking. The entrance of the hotel was decorated with Italian marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ipek Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipek Palas Hotel
Ipek Palas Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing