We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel being just a stone throw away from all the major attractions”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ipek Palas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ipek Palas
Ranked #437 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
oxford
1 review
“Fantastic hotel being just a stone throw away from all the major attractions”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We had a fabulous experience at the Ipek Palas hotel in Istanbul the staff in particular the reception staff Ulas was extremely helpful always smiling and always ready to assist on any question we had. Ulas spoke english very well which was incredibly helpful for us as our first language is english. The hotel is in a wounderful location very close to all major attractions within walking distance. Definately advisable to visit. Great City. Great People. Great Food. Amazing Culture.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafsgyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    330
    171
    81
    72
See reviews for
190
363
70
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I stayed at Hotel Ipek Palas in Istanbul for a city break 25th Feb - 28th Feb 2011.
After reading reviews i was sure that this was a very good choice, i was most defeinately pleased and enjoyed my stay there. TYhe hotel staff are kind and at your assistance 24 hours a day. The Hotel itself is clean, modern and within easy reach to all the local amenities and sights which i went to see. reception staff are helpful with information about the local shops and tram/rail services. The waiters and waitresses provided a second to none service. Overall i would be going back to Istanbul in the summer and will surely be staying at Hotel Ipek Palas..Thank You to all the staff for making my city break that little more special.:)))))

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxi786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We booked to a family holdiay of 3 ppl for 3 nights. The decor of the hotel is beautiful and apparently it has undergone a total refurb. However the finishing needs to be completed.

We had one single wardrobe (enough to hold our coats) to share and when we raised this with the staff they were dissmisive and unhelpful, we lived out of our suitcases throughout our stay!

The rooms were very small and cramped, the bathroom door lock didnt work and the door kept shutting with the wind (we couldnt even close the bathroom window), leaving us unable to use the bathroom. The view out of the room was terrible, we had a view of a brick wall on one side and a view of rubble from construction on the otherside, the heating was tempremental, and there was a lot of noise from garbage trucks, screaming tourists...... I agree with soem of the comments by other travellers who had similar problems, arrogant staff, sheet not changed, no pillows....

The reception staff are all out to make money from tourists, i read guide books before i came so had an idea about transport. when i asked the reception where to get the ferry from to go to a town he said it didnt go there and i needed a taxi! i showed him the map and the ferry line which went there and he said no, it doesnt and wanted to know how many people were going, whilst reaching for the phone to order a taxi! i told him not to bother. At the en we went to the port and was told where to get the ferry (1.65L each single trip) compared to the 100's L we would have been charged if we booked with the hotel. Please do not book excursion with the hotel, you can get better & cheaper deal outside.

The breakfast was ok, but i agree with other comments i would rate this at 3* ive stayed in 5*/4* hotels and the sevice is a lot better than that of ipek.

The only thing going is the superficial decoration and location of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, General Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us. But I have searched the reports but you did not make any complaint about the door and the heating system. We have complaint lists with all guest signs??Also you have booked one of our lowest rate promotional rooms. If you want an upgrade we could easily do that. During your stay the hotel was not so busy so we would give the upgrade free as we did for many of our guests.Also the best review of our hotel is cleaning so you can not claim that the sheets are not changed. I have checked that you have asked the transportation to Sabiha Gokcen airport .My staff did not recommend the ferry because it is the more difficult transportation for it and there is not any ferry that goes to that airport.
Thanks for your understanding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

If you have only looked at the positive reviews then your expectations of the accommodation will be set far too high. The beds and rooms are small and sleeping was difficult, even in the fourth room we were shown which was just satisfactory. Paying the extra for a better room may be worth it, but the construction and 6th floor noise will be heard in most rooms and Maintenance is poor which may well effect all rooms. The staff would clearly like your stay to be a pleasant one and we do not have any complaint about them.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdie_2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, General Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Guest,

We had a very attractive promotion about our small types of rooms at low season and you bought it. You paid very very small amount because it was a special promotion. If you paid more you would buy from our standart rooms which are 30 meters and very well designed. If you read our history it is a historical hotel so our general area looks like a palace.Also the construction has finished so there is no noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2011

big thanks to all the staff at hotel ipek palas who helped make our stay an enjoyable one
the staff were always ready to help and provided a very friendly and efficient service

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Venezuela
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We were a very large group of 38 people. We had great time at this hotel. GREAT LOCATION, GREAT STAFF,GREAT BREAKFAST...Our other friends will aslo recommend this hotel here. Our next trip is to Cuba. I hope to find a great hotel like this in there.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresazargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We had our honeymoon in this hotel very romantic and charming rooms. The bosphorus restaurant at the terrace was worthed everything. The rooms were designed as honeymooners with roses....very charming

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Amber Hotel
#106 of 1,129 in Istanbul
616 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#335 of 1,129 in Istanbul
472 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Park Hotel
Gulhane Park Hotel
#367 of 1,129 in Istanbul
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#440 of 1,129 in Istanbul
153 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#54 of 1,129 in Istanbul
969 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#143 of 1,129 in Istanbul
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ipek Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ipek Palas

Property: Hotel Ipek Palas
Address: Orhaniye Cad. No:9, Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#213 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#289 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ipek Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ipek Palace is located in the old city section of Istanbul. The airport is 15 km from the hotel. Topkapi palace museum, orient express railway station, Blue Mosque and St. Sophia are only 15 minutes away by walking. The entrance of the hotel was decorated with Italian marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ipek Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipek Palas Hotel
Ipek Palas Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing