We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time @ Istanbul”
Review of Ersu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ersu Hotel
Ranked #213 of 1,038 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time @ Istanbul”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Excellent location ! Nice and cozy hotel within few minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern as well as New Mosque, Spice Bazaar and Galata bridge on the other side. Few meters from Gülhane tram station and Topkapi palace. Free wi-fi, clean and air conditioned room, clean bathroom and breakfast included for the reasonable price. Pleasant and helpfull reception personnel ! I highly recommend this hotel. Walls are bit thin and also we were in the 203 room and it had really small bathroom. Bathing cabin was the size of a post stamp :) For me being two meters tall it was like playing tetris to pack into the cabin :) However this is more funny than a real problem, as everything else about hotel compensated this minor issues.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkoBgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    71
    49
    10
    10
See reviews for
21
69
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slovenia, Europe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Location of the hotel is very good - situated in centre of SultanAkhmet (Sirkeci) district, very close to the tram station Gulhane and easy reach to Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Aya Sofia mosque, Grand Bazar, ferries. Very good breakfast, cleaning every day, comfortable beds, quiet street at night. I would choose it again next time.
The room and bathroom are small and with thin walls, but this was not a big problem. Renovation of hotel would be helpful, because rooms are a bit dated. No free transfer to\from airport

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenaRupar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance to most of the attactions, like the Basilica Cistern, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Galata Bridge and Eminonu ports. There is also a tram stop very near the hotel, if you want to places further afield. It is also very convenient to get to and from the airport (1 change to/from Metro) using the tram.

I stayed here for 3 nights, then left for a day and returned for another 3 nights. I stayed in two different rooms and both were very similar, except the second room had a fridge missing. There is no safe deposit box in the room which I would have liked to have had but I believe you were able to leave your valuables in reception. The room was clean with air conditioning, and wifi worked very well, all the staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the thin walls and the various noisy neighbours which was a problem when you are trying to sleep., day 1 the annoying child who their parents could not control, day 2 and 3 the woman who makes phone calls at 1am and talks loudly, day 5,6 the couple who would not stop talking. The breakfast was adequate but I would have liked to have had a toaster. It consisted of salad, bread rolls, cakes, cereals, hot dishes being egg, frankfurters, and something that looked like a Spring roll but with cheese in it which I quite liked.

Room Tip: Buy ear plugs due to thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wyatt20uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Right next to a tram stop, from where you can get almost everywhere! The hotel itself is located in the heart of Sultanahmed, close to all the attractions.
As the room prices are average/low, their quality is more less the same. I had some mould on the walls in the bathroom and a bit "havey" smell in the room, but if you're staying only for a few days, you should be just fine.

Room Tip: If you want peace n' quiet, don't choose the rooms facing the Topkapi Park, there is a tram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaksei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 7 nights, u get what u pay for, breakfast is limited but still very good and has evrything u need, rooms are small but fubctional and staff are very nice and helpfull, rooms are clean and tidy, overall i would recomend this hotel, because its very close to all the sightseeing places and close to tram and nice restaurants.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I went there with my boyfriend and one more couple for three nights. To begin with the location, it was amazing. You cannot imagine better place to stay - it's located just behind the Ministerial Council, in the heart of Istanbul. You can easily reach almost every important place.

However, the negative sides were quite a lot. For the price that we paid (EUR 50 per night), you can find much better hotels in Istanbul. Firstly, we reserved the rooms 3- 4 months in advanced. When we arrived at the hotel, they gave us double rooms with separate beds (I wrote them an email before that informing them that we are couples in we want one big bed). They said that there are no big bed rooms so we have to move in another room on the next day. On the next day, the colleague of the person who made the promise told us that this is not possible because there are no free big bed rooms... DISGUSTING! Anyway, they put the two separate beds into one and it was challenging experience to sleep there.

On the other hand, I cannot say that it was clean or the breakfast was that good...

However, we went there to have fun and not to worry about the hotel... it is just not nice when you pay and do not get what you expected to get.

I believe that this was a single case that happened to us since another couple that I know also went there and they said that except the dirty rooms everything else was good.

P.S. The air conditioning is very good!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSARN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
171 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Tried 4 hotels while in Istambul. At this time, there were 3 of us, so it was a triple room. This was easily the most cramped room we´ve ever stayed at. As it was just for one night, we could manage. We had stayed on the same street, on earlier weeks, so we decided to give this hotel a go, before going to airport the next morning.We had to pack 2 bags on the small wardrobe, one on top of the other and leave the third one on the corridor. Bathroom was also small, but clean. Breakfast was average, but ok for a budget hotel, though we could feel a moisty smell in the room.All in all, we managed to sleep, but wouldn´t come back as there are many other options around the same area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CariocaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Raymound Blue Hotel
Raymound Blue Hotel
#499 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hypnos Design Hotel
Hypnos Design Hotel
#201 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#62 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#420 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Sultanahmet
Amisos Hotel
Amisos Hotel
#618 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#251 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ersu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ersu Hotel

Property: Ersu Hotel
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Erdogan Sok. No:10 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 1,038 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ersu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ersu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ersu Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing