We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare, lice in the mattress”
Review of Ersu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ersu Hotel
Ranked #213 of 1,038 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nightmare, lice in the mattress”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I traveled with my family. We had planned 5 nights but left the hotel after second day. On out first Night we were bitten by lice in the mattress. When we claimed at the reception they chancged the room and didn't accept theire hygiene problem! We met a doctor near by who tried to exxplain the situation for the manager, but they refuse here! They destroyed our famile vacation and now we missed all our vacatione planes because of itchy lice.
We found old socks left from earlier visitor in the room. I would never recommend this hotel to others. Be aware!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aamna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    71
    49
    10
    10
See reviews for
21
69
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Value, service
Our friend worked in the hotel booking industry, and this is the cheapest hotel he can find for us in a prime location like this. Quality-wise, it is like any other 3* hotels, having the basic furniture, clean, bathroom, lift, bell-hop, buffet breakfast, attentive and helpful staff --- so it was good enough for us.

Location
It's right opposite Gulhane station (though you gotta walk around to the back of building where the entrance is). Google and find that Gulhane is the next station of Sultanahmet, the station where all the main attractions are in Istanbul. From the hotel you can easily walk to some top ranking restaurants on Tripadvisor, 5min walk to Topkapi Palace, the forbidden Harem inside the palace, Hagia Sophia the most beautiful church of its time turned mosque now museum, Blue Mosque right opposite Hagia Sophia, etc...

We chose not to stay at Taksim, the main shopping district because both vehicle and human traffic were so heavy. We took airport transfer and passed by Taksim, and it took us 30min just for the car to move 200m. Plus the fact that the last peaceful protest was right above Taksim station.

Tips:
- Get 5th/highest floor, one side of the hotel has a partial view of Topkapi Palace (though it's really just the outer walls that you can see...)
- Get rooms closer to the lift because wifi routers are there e.g. 501 or 506 --- we stayed in both rooms before and after our Cappadocia trip.
- To be honest, some of the rooms ARE abit older e.g. 501 evident from the wear and tear e.g. a sliding bathroom door that won't slide or moldy showerhead, so don't be so quick to settle in, just in case you want to ask for a change of rooms e.g. 506 was quite good.

Room Tip: - Get rooms closer to the lift because wifi routers are there e.g. 501 or 506 --- we stayed in both...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank maryyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent four days in Istanbul at the Ersu and to be honest once we checked in and went to our room our first thought was to get another hotel. We decided to stay the night to give it a fair chance. We did end up staying the duration of our visit. If it would not have been such a convenient location we would have moved on. The reason for the 3 rating is because of the location otherwise a 2. You are within walking distance to many of the sites and there are plenty of restaurants around all attempting to seduce you into their establishment.

Rooms are small which I guess is to be expected in the older part of the city, but they are in need of some TLC. Small bathroom, no bar of soap, shampoo, conditioner, nothing and the towels all need to be replaced. There was no holder for the TP either. The hotel did offer a breakfast with our stay but after day 2 that became boring. Some fruit would have gone a long way to improving the buffet.

Would I go back? No. Even though the price is reasonable I think I could find something a bit more upscale for just a little more $$$.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrekFiona58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The location is excellent! The hotel is close to the most popular tourist attractions, like Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace etc. Friendly & helpful staff. Room was comfortable and nice decorated. Breakfasts were fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Ersu hotel is well located in Sultanhamet area, close to Topkapi, blue Mosquee and St Sophie. Tramway is very convenient to visit the city. But we were disappointed by the poor service quality: small bedroom and bathroom, bad air conditioning, Private transfer to the airport was 35 mn late, which makes you angry at 5 AM...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vducruet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
200 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

I find hotels in Istanbul seriously overpriced, so this modest hotel at the heart of Sultanahmet was a pleasant surprise. It has all basic amenities plus free Wi Fi in the rooms and airport shuttle service. The breakfast is outstanding. Friendly, English speaking staff. Within walking distance of Top Kapi palace, Aghia Sophia, the hippodrome and Galata bridge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaP319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkov
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed in Ersu Hotel in April 2013. It was very unpleasant that we were asked to make prepayment for rooms before check-in. We didn’t even see our rooms. So I felt myself like poor man. It was quite cold (12C day temperature). Heating didn’t work and AC didn’t work in “heat” mode as well. So it was quite chilly in our room. But our friend's rooms had working ACs. Shower wall holder was broken. Soundproofing is not perfect. But all that is inessential. As for the rest Ersu is ordinary but not bad hotel. It has very good location, free wi-fi, small but comfortable rooms, lift, standard Turkish breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kozamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Raymound Blue Hotel
Raymound Blue Hotel
#487 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hypnos Design Hotel
Hypnos Design Hotel
#201 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#63 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#416 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Sultanahmet
Amisos Hotel
Amisos Hotel
#621 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#253 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ersu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ersu Hotel

Property: Ersu Hotel
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Erdogan Sok. No:10 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 1,038 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ersu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ersu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ersu Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing