We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay-Bargain Price”
Review of Ersu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ersu Hotel
Ranked #220 of 1,061 Istanbul B&B and Inns
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Stay-Bargain Price”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked a last minute deal with BA for flights and hotel (incl breakfast) for £168, and it worked out very well!

The Ersu Hotel is located in a great position for all of the main sights two minutes walk from the tram stop Gulhane. Breakfast was very good-the full Turkish variety with cold meats cheeses, breads, honey, yoghurt etc, and was a good start to the day each day.

Our room was perfectly fine-the beds were comfortable and the shower was warm and powerful. There was a little bit of noise from the tram system, but not enough to stop the bad sleeper of us from having good nights of sleep.

They have safety despoit boxes at reception rather than in the room.

In short-excellent value, good breakfast, and good rooms-highly recommended for a good budget city break!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyandMattLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    71
    49
    10
    10
See reviews for
21
69
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute deal with BA and the price of £168.00 was a complete bargain, this included accommodation for 4 nights and bed and breakfast!!! The hotel was a small family room hotel, staff were friendly and very helpful!! Rooms were of a smallish size with comfortable double bed, small bathroom with shower hair dryer provided!!! Although it was on the small side it was perfect for what we needed!!! Breakfast was typical Turkish breakfast, cheese, meats, cereal etc but was still ok!! Great location, restaurants, coffee shops,and shops literally on the doorstop! A 10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque which is one of the best sites I have ever seen and also whenever I think of Turkey this is a picture I always think of!!! Would defiantly recommend the Ersu to other travellers!! The Wild Family!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZooBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Since our main reason for choosing Ersu hotel was the price, we were satisfied with everything. It could be better, cleaner and nicer, but for that price, everything was fine.
The location was excellent, few minutes away from everything that should be seen and experienced in Istanbul, staff were friendly and nice, and rooms were tidy enough. Also, the tram station is just around the corner, what makes the connection great.
We used our hotel only for sleeping and it was pretty good for that purpose.
Despite that, we have a few complaints. Breakfast food offer wasn't really diverse, same food every day, which also wasn't quite tasty. Another thing that didn't bother us but could bother someone else was the view. Our only window was facing the street and the cemetery, which was not what we were hoping for.
Overall, if you're looking for a cheap place to sleep in, Ersu hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DoroteaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We found a great deal, flying from Heathrow on a full-frills airline - which made a nice change, for a long weekend in Istanbul, which included 4 nights B&B at the unpretentious Hotel Ersu.

The location is literally 90 seconds walk from the Gulhane Tram Stop, along a side street, which is ideal if travelling from the airport by Metro and Tram, as we did.

The Ersu is quite old fashioned in many ways, and does not look that impressive from outside compared to some other hotels we saw, but the staff are very friendly, the service was very good. Our room was small and compact, but had everything we needed for a weekend city break, including a fridge, flat-screen TV and free in-room Wi-Fi - which worked!

Our room was warm and comfortable, double-glazed, the bathroom certainly did need modernising/renovation but it was clean enough and the powerful shower was much better than mine at home.

The breakfast room was open 7-10.30am, buffet-style, serving cakes, tea, coffee, bread, jam, eggs, salad, cheese, yoghurt and cereals.

Location-wise, you can literally walk to all the main sights in the old city. The amazing tram, ferry and metro system takes you anywhere else you need to go - including under the Boshorus on the Marmaray Train to Asia - for as little as 1.95TL per journey if you buy an Istanbul Card (similar to London's Oyster Card) or 3TL per journey if you pay-as-you-go. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars within 300 metres, late night kiosks selling water, nibbles, beer etc if you want something for your room.

Overall, if I found the same deal, I would happily stay here again. However, I feel that now I have seen all the main sights, I would stay somewhere less-touristy on my next trip to Istanbul - possibly over the bridge on the new town near Iskatal Street where it really is all happening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

First of all: very friendly staff!
The hotel is simple, but fine. It's a good place to stay if you're out all day.
All kinds of things are nearby like Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar.
Also the tramstop is very close, so you can go everywhere in a second!
We had one room with a 'big' bed, but the bed wasn't that big...
Breakfast was fine, but for a real Turkish breakfast you should go to a restaurant. :)
I had a very nice stay in Hotel Ersu!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leonievanrheden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This smallfriendly hotel is situated up a side street 30 metres from the main street and approx. 100 metres from Gulhane tram stop. overall, this small hotel is good value with an excellent buffet breakfast included in the price. The room was a bit dated and the only bad thing was the shower was a bit mouldy. The hotel; is less than 5 minutes from the Sultanahmet where the main sights are. there are restaurants very closewith tables outside and it's quite noisy until very late at night. Ear plugs recommended if going to bed early! Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The most important is - the room rate is cheaper compare to the other hotel in Istanbul hot-spot areas. It is very close to Gulhane tram station, the room is beautiful and has a nice view on the street. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed our stay here.

The bathroom is too small, as stated by other reviewers. However, based on the room's rate, we are happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david-wk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#448 of 1,156 in Istanbul
155 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hypnos Design Hotel
Hypnos Design Hotel
#194 of 1,156 in Istanbul
361 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#645 of 1,156 in Istanbul
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#30 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,244 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ersu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ersu Hotel

Property: Ersu Hotel
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Erdogan Sok. No:10 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 1,061 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ersu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Ersu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ersu Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing