We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value for the money”
Review of Abella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abella Hotel
Ranked #1,053 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I like a good bargain, and The Abella is an excellent deal. The goods: Great price. Great location, just a 5 minute easy walk to the Blue Mosque, Haiga Sophia, palace, 15 min to the Grand Bazaar. The Staff was very nice and very helpful. The breakfast was included and was pretty standard (instant coffee, bread, boiled eggs, various spreads). The roof top dining area has a great view of the Blue Mosque on one side and the Bosphorus on the other.
Bads: The rooms are small (I did not mind as I was not planning on hanging out in the room, and you can go up to the glass enclosed roof top at night if you want to hang out.) And even expensive hotels in Istanbul are small by american standards. There is smoking in the lobby. I hate smoke, but I found the small amount I encountered to be tolerable. My wife found the bed to be too hard (I slept fine)
If you are there for a 3 to 5 day trip to take in the amazing sights of Istanbul this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

The people, food and management everywhere we went in Istanbul were fabulous, BUT NOT HERE. These people do not know how to run a hospitality business. Fortunately, we only stopped here for the fabulous rooftop view for lunch. We did not stay here! But we sat atop the rooftop waiting for our food FOREVER. When I went downstairs to use the restroom I asked if we had been forgotten. By the time I got back upstairs, our food had been delivered, it was cold and limp and there was nobody around to take care of the problem. They had just disappeared...again. We didn't eat it and left refusing to pay for the main entrees which were not edible. The waiter took us to his "manager/owner" who was argumentative, slanderous of our intentions charging us with intentionally ordering food we had no intention to pay for. We were HUNGRY. Why would we do that? These people are crazy! They operate under their own delusional approach to service. We had the same experience as one of the other commenters/reviewers with the waiter claiming that he would have to pay for the items on our bill that we refused to pay for since they were not edible. My sense is that he was intimidated by the owner and probably did have to pay. A pathetic way to run a business. We were treated as if we were criminals and "stealing" their food by refusing to pay. GO TO ISTANBUL. It is amazing! But do not stay/eat here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Such a shame as some of the staff were helpful (though oppressed by the owner) and the hotel had a good location and nice roof terrace. But the rooms were cramped, the sheets like sandpaper. The breakfast was missing basic items, when we pointed this out to staff just standing about they said they were waiting for supplies - there was a supermarket 50yds away. Pathetic! Free wifi was feeble and rarely worked. Finally when we complained about some undisclosed, unsigned extras added onto our bill - we met the owner - what an arrogant, argumentative and hostile guy. I felt for the staff, happily we were out of there

Room Tip: Book another hotel - there is good service in Istanbul, just not here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank N12345186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Staff:
The staff has a good sense of humor and are very generous, but they're always insisting you pay money for tours from their friends who have tour guide companies. I can see why the woman traveling alone was a little paranoid, but I think this is just how the majority of Turkish guys act (I've learned to talk back to them or flat out ignore them on the streets, but it is really annoying as a single woman.) There's one young girl who works breakfast and the restaurant and she speaks a little english and tries very hard to do things for you. Some of the other staff can definitely be creepy at times. One of them told us he can't wait to leave the hotel because of how difficult it's been. They all act like they know everything and give you advice and we believed them, but then we'd find out later we'd been given false information and luckily another tourist or local had set us straight before we, say, got off on the wrong island at the Prince's Islands.

Rooms:
We had a large room on the 4th floor with a balcony and a great view... the other rooms may not be so great according to the other reviews on TripAdvisor. We ate at the restaurant once out on the street and it was pretty good for a snack. Breakfast on the upstairs terrace offers a good view and a good variety (the same breakfast most hotels in Istanbul serve... bread, cheese, olives). After a couple days they started running out of things though... meat disapeared, milk was gone early, potatoes were gone, everything was cold. The owner showed up and the normally friendly staff seemed to get really stressed out... they added a sign that said fresh orange juice was 5 TL and though the sign hadn't been there before they charged for the previous days' orange juice... one couple got really mad and the staff offered to pay out of their own pocket which of course is ridiculous--the owner should have told the staff to put out the sign or something. After this huge argument the sign was missing again the next day. Then returned. Then gone again.

Confusion:
They offered to do our laundry but didn't mention a charge... Then they returned it 2 days later for 30TL. There's a laundromat right behind the hotel--we should have just done it ourselves. We ended up buying a laundry line and washing clothes in the sink. Most of the staff speaks really good English, but there's definitely a cultural barrier... sometimes we really weren't sure if they knew what we were saying or not. And the son of the boss (often behind the front desk) and the boss didn't speak any English at all.

Cleanliness and sound:
Yes, the call to prayer is 5 times a day and is REALLY loud. I slept through it but my parents did not. I don't think they change the sheets. and They never brought the right number of towels. The rugs between the beds also disappeared one day and never returned. The bathroom has ants and is really small. No shampoo or soap or any of those things most hotels give you.

WiFi:
The internet constantly dropped out.. even though they appeared to have a router for each floor and the front desk area. We told them they had an internet problem early on in our stay and they just smiled and told us the internet was fine. We told them it was not fine and we had things we needed to do... we stayed for 2 weeks and it was never fixed. Other guests complained too and they acted like it was a new problem every time. Then they told us that's just how it was... not true. The restaurant around the corner (Doy Doy... eat there, it's so good) has the fastest wireless connection speed we'd ever seen.

I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone unless it's your last option. Even so, it's not a necessity to be in Sultanahmet. Transportation is pretty easy once you figure it out.

Room Tip: I agree with the other guy, you probably don't want a room on the 1st floor too near the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meermeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We werw there for 2 nites and i will start by saying that we were not happy at all. No space into the room no bathroom too small and dirty no good food but a very good location.internet does not work people complain to the staff and nothing happened. No one can help no one there.i will never come back there.
....................



  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank adina1bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This hotel (wouldn't even call it that) was not value for money. A lot of things I wasn't impressed with. It was very dull, bland not a very welcoming atmosphere. The bed sheets were not changed daily, rooms were not very clean. Although they had cleaners, they didn't do a great job as bathroom still looked dirty. There was no soap, shampoo etc in bathroom. Wasn't much variety at breakfast, all I used to eat was olives. Beds were not comfortable, room walls were thin you could hear people in the other speaking. Wifi connection was rubbish. Electricity went twice but there was no generator at the hotel, we were given one small candle during this time. Tv only had one Arab channel. They had a small fridge in the room with drinks and refreshments but they hadn't made it clear they were charging for this. On our way to the airport as we were leaving, we had to pay a bill of 200TL just for this. During breakfast, a hotel worker would watch on the side making us feel uncomfortable. It's early in the morning, I don't want to converse. Once we asked for an iron, after many phones calls and explaining, we finally got it, the hotel worker thought we asked for a hanger. The few good things I can think of are the location, very close to Arasta Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, good eating places. The workers were generally okay, made conversation, were friendly. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again and wouldn't recommend others either. GOODBYE!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rukaya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Didn't actually stay at this hotel, but stopped off one evening on our way back to our hotel for a drink and a bite to eat. Very friendly staff and good service. The food was OK and the facilities were very clean. Overall not an unpleasant visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Askin Hotel
Askin Hotel
#978 of 1,181 in Istanbul
73 reviews
Sultanahmet
All Day Istanbul Hotel
All Day Istanbul Hotel
#634 of 1,181 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#497 of 1,181 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abel Hotel Istanbul
#684 of 1,181 in Istanbul
70 reviews
Sisli
AG Sisli Hotel & Residence
AG Sisli Hotel & Residence
#650 of 1,181 in Istanbul
2 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#987 of 1,181 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abella Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. No:35 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#273 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £18 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abella Hotel is located in the embrace of history, the Blue Mosque, Higha Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkap Place, Grand Bazaar, Hippodrome etc. and Sea-View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abella Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing