We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice trendy hotel in modern Istanbul”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sofa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sofa Hotel
Ranked #215 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice trendy hotel in modern Istanbul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I spent 5 days at the Sofa Hotel on a recent first trip to Istanbul. I picked the hotel based on reviews read on this site as well as other websites. The hotel met expectations with respect to comfort and location. The hotel is located in the upscale modern part of Istanbul in a high end commercial neighborhood called Nisantasi which is very accessible by taxi and fairly close to other parts of Istanbul (e.g. Old City or Bosphorus). The hotel is well designed, very clean and has good service. Breakfast is fairly good although choices might be a bit limited. Rooms are spacious and have excellent amenities including nice showers. Finally the hotel has a great rooftop with a bar and a restaurant with very attentive service. On and all a positive experience but the main reservation I have is the fact that the hotel is on a busy street and the rooms facing the street are very noisy. The hotel does not guarantee quiet rooms facing the garden. If you have a room facing the street, make sure you ask for a high floor although I am afraid it won't make much of a difference, or bring ear plugs. The hotel should invest in better insulation of noise..otherwise this might become a real problem.. We had to insist very aggressively to get a room change after 2 nights.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms! Facing the garden but unfortunately the hotel cannot guarantee it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from beautiful Istanbul and The Sofa Hotel Nişantası, we hope that you had a pleasant return journey.It was a such a great pleasure meeting you upon your departure
I am very happy that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have communicated your feedback concerning the serivce during your c/in to the entire team

I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.
It is in our benefit to have our employees professional and trained for providing our guests with the hospitality they deserve and expect.

I would like to thank you once again and look forward to having you again

Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    160
    52
    26
    22
See reviews for
96
174
42
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Hotel is in the heart of Nisantasi, a hip area of istanbul. The design and the concept are original. The room is large with spacy bathroom and great shower. Extras in the room are too expensive even for Istanbul standards. Size of TV is too small like a PC monitor. Housekeeping and concierge are very good. Front office staff is oridinary and too official for my standards. Breakfast is nothing special. Even worst hotels in Istanbul have better buffet offer than this Hotel. Overall, quite nice and hip hotel but not the perfect one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kulinban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us and had a nice time in Istanbul
We have communicated your comment concerning about the employess to the related department head.
I am glad that you had overall a pleasant stay with us, and that you enjoyed the design of the hotel

Hope to seeing you again

hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Our stay at The Sofa hotel was wonderful! The hotel is built around a water feature so you can hear the trickling of water everytime you walk out of your room. The rooms are exquisite with amazing shower. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna downstairs are so beautiful and relaxing. There is even a relaxation room down there for people to read or meditate. All aspects of the hotel are lovely, and the concierge service is very reliable and informative. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monami2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from sunny Istanbul.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at Tripadvisor
I am also very happy to read you liked rooms and the décor, our rooms etc..

Hope we will have another chance to see you again.

Kind Regards

Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel overall is not bad. The concierge service of the hotel is excellent. The full team is dedicated to help, specially Mr. Sadullah who was very helpful in giving us tips on where to go, what to visit and where to eat which made our journey very pleasurable. In terms of wifi, we don't understand how we have to pay for it when most hotels give it for free.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAYA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from The Sofa Hotel

I am very happy that you were satisfied druing your stay with us.
I wouls also thank you for the review post on TripAdvisor about our concierge team and Sadullah.
Your feedback has alrady been shared with the entire team .

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

On the surface there is little to criticise about this hotel: it is in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Istanbul; the rooms are large; it has a big spa facility, many of whose facilities are included in the room price; and it has a stylish and arty design.

However scratch beneath the surface and what you find is a very over-priced establishment where the trendiness is entirely superficial.

Let's start with cost. We stayed in the most basic room the hotel has - a large but charmless suite on the third floor. For this we forked over just over 300 Euro per night (including taxes). This did not include breakfast or any other amenities (other than the spa which I will come to later).

For Istanbul this is expensive. There are many boutique hotels within driving distance of Sofa that are more delightful, friendly and offer better value.

Chief amongst our complaints is that they do not offer free wi-fi in the rooms! We got this as part of the deal in every other hotel in Turkey including small hotels in much smaller cities like Konya. For a plush hotel in the midst of Nisantasi to make you traipse down to the lobby or pay exorbitant fees for Internet access is outrageous.

A close second is the 10 Turkish Lira for a teabag in the rooms (that's around 4 Euro). Again, considering the room price providing free tea and coffee just seems like a hygiene factor.

The room itself was large, but in a peculiar way. The dressing room was almost as large as the main room area. Unless one plans to change a baby elephant into a tutu for the local circus there is no conceivable reason why all this space should have been assigned for this purpose. Particularly when the shower and bath areas have been designed compactly and to maximise space.

The downstairs spa area admittedly, is an impressive addition to ones stay. With free access to a heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's a pleasant perk. The facilities are stylish and well attended. However perk is what they are - and I would say many more nice things about it if the rest of the essentials were better than they are.

The staff were fine - again, just ok. They did what we asked for but there was no sense of any greater enthusiasm than that.

Overall this hotel is a perfectly adequate choice if you want to be three doors down from Armani and DKNY, and if you have some money to burn. Otherwise I would strongly advise travellers to look for more appealing options in Beyoglu area, which has more heart anyway.

Room Tip: One can only imagine the rooms on the "hip floor" have even larger dressing rooms. If that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarred_Cinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
590 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is the second time i go there, great location, nice rooms beautiful bathrooms and the Concierge, Deniz is an amazing person and veryyyy helpful. but as for the hotel , we paid $1000 for a double room of $350 ( because it was a busy week end) , then they suggest us to pay $250 more to be upgraded which we refused. that night there was a big part going on just underneath our room and was impossible to sleep. and there was no notification for this big noisy night. So for what we paid there service was not good. The front desk not really helpful or friendly, but the breakfast was very good and the concierge was amazing ,whom made our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: don't ge t a room on the street side, very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,

To begin with I am very sorry that we did not meet your needs during your stay.
I also would like to thank you for sharing your nice comments about our concierge team and breakfast service
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

We hope to see you again and welcome you back to The Sofa Hotel

Kind Regards


Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I love the location of this hotel it’s very convenient, rooms are spacious, staff is very attentive.
I experienced the Spa for the first time and enjoyed it very much, too shame that I couldn’t
try the Turkish Bath as it was fully booked for the all afternoon. I also asked Concierge for the best restaurant in town
and when they suggested the top roof restaurant Frankie, I thought ohh well, they are trying to sell me what they have, but no,
I was wrong, it is really the best restaurant in town, service, music and ambiance very good. Overall, I had great experience
in this stylish hıtel and I would definetly come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disegnatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest ,

First of all thank you very much for sharing your comments at Tripadvisor.
It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comment regarding to Frankie Restaurant was shared with Restaurant Manager

Thnak you very much for staying with us and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#140 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Besiktas
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
#211 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#230 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Sisli
LaSagrada
LaSagrada
#209 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofa Hotel

Property: The Sofa Hotel
Address: Tesvikiye Cad. No:41/A Nisantasi, Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#136 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#157 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#181 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sofa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen amongst Europe`s top ten design hotels, The Sofa Hotel reflects an innovative and cosmopolitan approach to travel in every detail. Ideally located in Nişantaşi, Istanbul`s trendiest shopping, entertainment, art and culinary district, The Sofa Hotel offers its guests 82 finely decorated and spacious rooms in an atmosphere interwoven with contemporary art, a cafe serving a creative palette of fine international cuisine and a luxurious Spa designed for Fitness and Relaxation. The top floor of the Hotel is home to Frankie Istanbul, one of the City`s finest dining venues set in an elegant and vibrant ambience against a breathtaking view of Istanbul`s sky line. The Sofa Hotel`s personally tailored HIP service approach, attention to detail and sophisticated atmosphere will make your visit truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sofa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sofa Hotel Residences Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing