We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“27 hours of travel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaturka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alaturka Hotel
Ranked #479 of 1,012 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“27 hours of travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Blessing in disguise! Arrived after many hours of travel and at 1:00am in the morning and they were true to their word, had a driver awaiting for us with name placard and wisked us away to a lovely relaxing bed and fantastic location. Close to everything!! Can't say enough.

Room Tip: Ear Plugs for chanting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradnLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    53
    10
    5
    10
See reviews for
23
54
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at Alaturka Hotel in the Sultanahmet for 6 days in November 2011 ( a couple of weeks ago). This was our first time to Istanbul and we were really pleased with our choice of hotel, its location and the service that we received.

On arrival we had arranged an airport pickup through the hotel by email. Our flight was an hour late but they were still waiting for us without any complaint. It was a longer distance than we had thought to the sultanahmet, so this arrangement was well worth doing and very smooth.

Our room was a large size, despite not booking one of their "large" rooms! Very impressive! Lots of windows, a good size bathroom, views, fridge, plenty of space, excellently heated (it was cold when we were there), just lovely. We found the hotel to be clean overall, a plesant reception area, lift access and the highlight....a restaurant and outdoor terrace with wonderful 360 views of Istanbul- a great way to enjoy the buffet style breakfast.

Staff were very professional and we were very impressed. Always friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We made a late arrangement to travel back to the airport though a hotel pickup- all smooth with no delay.

The location of the hotel was spot on. Everything you could want to see is accessible from here. We used the nearby train station for travel on a couple of occassions, also it is close to the tram, but mainly you will find that from the Alaturka the majority of things to see are just a short walk away. It is conveniently locates in a street of excellent restaurants, but at the end of the road so not overwhelming or too noisy.

The negative things that we found from staying were minor, the coffee at breakfast was weak, I found the turkish style bath tricky to get in/out of and I was disapointed that the selection of fish in the fish restaurant was limited, however, I accept our stay was not at peak season so I guess that is to be expected. All of the criticisms were minor and definately out-weighed by the overall very high standard of the hotel and staff.

I hope to return to Istanbul, a great city. Without hesitation I will be choosing this hotel for my next stay, the hotel and it's plesant and friendly staff make it an excellent choice. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: I looked in a coupl of other rooms when the cleaner was servicing the rooms and they all seemed to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woueza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Likes:
Good location for main Sultanahmet sights.
In a street with lots of cafes, restaurants etc to choose from.
Good views from the rooftop.
Reasonable size family room.

Dislikes:
Standard Turkish cold breakfast; no soup, menemen or other warm food apart from boiled eggs.
Very expensive fish restaurant at the top of the hotel (though maybe these are standard Istanbul prices - at least x2 compared to a meal at one of the better Ankara restaurants)
Right next door to the local mosque, will wake you up unless you are used to this.

General:
Stayed in the family room on the ground floor - this looks directly onto the pavement and is accessed almost from behind the reception desk - didn't feel as private as a standard hotel room and appeared to be converted out of an old cafe/restaurant - the two bathrooms still had ladies and gents signs on the doors! (ha-ha, just noted the previous reviewer also saw this). This hotel would probably be okay to do Istanbul on the cheap as a weekend trip within Turkey (we are ex-pats living in Ankara) but probably not the best for families visiting Istanbul on a 'once in a lifetime' trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomInTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

booked online, the only room left was a family room behind the reception, it felt like I worked there. Ground floor windows face a manhattan-noisy street, the restrooms are still labeled men and women from when it was a...don't even know.
I got a room the next day that was, luckily, actually a room. They participate in the high-season price fixing, suspicious how all hotels are the same price. And how all the food menus along the street are the same as well, the prices slightly higher if they have the expense of tablecloths.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaketravelsabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

stayed 5 nights; 4 at start of trip; 1 at the end - great place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PocahontasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We really liked the place, it's cozy, breakfast selection is nice. Though they are not very professional to be honest i.e. receptionist sleeping in the lobby. But they were polite and didn't cause any annoyance.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hasimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel has clean and comfortable rooms, our room was quite large and had a nice sititng area with a view. The bathroom was typical European with a strange small shower but otherwise large. Overall this hotel has a fantastic location that is excellent for getting to all the major sites and a reasonable price which is why we stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karc0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Sultanahmet
Senatus Suites
Senatus Suites
#2 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#355 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#157 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaturka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaturka Hotel

Property: Alaturka Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. No:3 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #479 of 1,012 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alaturka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will try to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere during your stay in our hotel. We hope to accommodate you here and make your visit an unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alaturka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing