We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alaturka Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$292
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eresin Hotels Topkapi(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
WOW Airport Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Istanbul Golden City Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diva's Hotel(Istanbul)
US$41
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
52
53
11
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
53
11
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were cheates too in this restaurant - the same trick...(see story of sea brasse).
Nice view BUT all the rest very poor AND they tried all the credit cards you bring with you, but no card works...
Prices are absolutely unacceptable = fish for 5 people (very small portion) for 320 (!!!) Lira, simple red wine for 69 Lira and so on...
So never go there, you would be very unhappy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I haven't stayed in this hotel but I've tried their restaurant. The only advantage of it is an amazing view on the Marmara sea. But the restaurant is overpriced: high price for absolutly ordinary food. The service is also not good: they included in the bill water and bread, that they served, though I haden't asked for it and haden't even touched it! Yes, it's not much - only 2 lira, but what a shame for such a restaurant - even in the cheap buffe they offer it to the customers complimentary.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_JaneRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Blessing in disguise! Arrived after many hours of travel and at 1:00am in the morning and they were true to their word, had a driver awaiting for us with name placard and wisked us away to a lovely relaxing bed and fantastic location. Close to everything!! Can't say enough.

Room Tip: Ear Plugs for chanting
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradnLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at Alaturka Hotel in the Sultanahmet for 6 days in November 2011 ( a couple of weeks ago). This was our first time to Istanbul and we were really pleased with our choice of hotel, its location and the service that we received.

On arrival we had arranged an airport pickup through the hotel by email. Our flight was an hour late but they were still waiting for us without any complaint. It was a longer distance than we had thought to the sultanahmet, so this arrangement was well worth doing and very smooth.

Our room was a large size, despite not booking one of their "large" rooms! Very impressive! Lots of windows, a good size bathroom, views, fridge, plenty of space, excellently heated (it was cold when we were there), just lovely. We found the hotel to be clean overall, a plesant reception area, lift access and the highlight....a restaurant and outdoor terrace with wonderful 360 views of Istanbul- a great way to enjoy the buffet style breakfast.

Staff were very professional and we were very impressed. Always friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We made a late arrangement to travel back to the airport though a hotel pickup- all smooth with no delay.

The location of the hotel was spot on. Everything you could want to see is accessible from here. We used the nearby train station for travel on a couple of occassions, also it is close to the tram, but mainly you will find that from the Alaturka the majority of things to see are just a short walk away. It is conveniently locates in a street of excellent restaurants, but at the end of the road so not overwhelming or too noisy.

The negative things that we found from staying were minor, the coffee at breakfast was weak, I found the turkish style bath tricky to get in/out of and I was disapointed that the selection of fish in the fish restaurant was limited, however, I accept our stay was not at peak season so I guess that is to be expected. All of the criticisms were minor and definately out-weighed by the overall very high standard of the hotel and staff.

I hope to return to Istanbul, a great city. Without hesitation I will be choosing this hotel for my next stay, the hotel and it's plesant and friendly staff make it an excellent choice. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: I looked in a coupl of other rooms when the cleaner was servicing the rooms and they all seemed to be plesant. I would suggest a room on the main road and not the side. Im sure the "call to prayer" at 5am will wake you wherever you are so wouldnt that influence your room preference!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woueza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Likes:
Good location for main Sultanahmet sights.
In a street with lots of cafes, restaurants etc to choose from.
Good views from the rooftop.
Reasonable size family room.

Dislikes:
Standard Turkish cold breakfast; no soup, menemen or other warm food apart from boiled eggs.
Very expensive fish restaurant at the top of the hotel (though maybe these are standard Istanbul prices - at least x2 compared to a meal at one of the better Ankara restaurants)
Right next door to the local mosque, will wake you up unless you are used to this.

General:
Stayed in the family room on the ground floor - this looks directly onto the pavement and is accessed almost from behind the reception desk - didn't feel as private as a standard hotel room and appeared to be converted out of an old cafe/restaurant - the two bathrooms still had ladies and gents signs on the doors! (ha-ha, just noted the previous reviewer also saw this). This hotel would probably be okay to do Istanbul on the cheap as a weekend trip within Turkey (we are ex-pats living in Ankara) but probably not the best for families visiting Istanbul on a 'once in a lifetime' trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomInTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews