We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel. Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Agan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Agan
Ranked #166 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice Hotel. Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stated at the Hotel Agan for 5 nights including New Year's Eve. There were 5 girls in our group. We had one triple room which was small but adequate. Due to bed availability on arrival our twin room was upgraded to a larger suite for the 5 nights at no extra cost. I would recommended this Hotel. We had no complaints and its walking distance from some of Istanbul's main attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    295
    91
    21
    15
See reviews for
99
243
126
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I travelled to the Hotel Agan with a friend for 3 nights at the end of January 2014 for a weekend of sightseeing in Istanbul. The hotel provided a transfer from the airport to the hotel for us at a cost of 30 euro which was useful as our flight arrive late evening. The hotel location is perfectly situated in the Old Town and within a short walking distance of Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. There are numerous restaurants and shops nearby, but remember to look around and haggle for a good price. I booked a twin room for my stay which met all of our needs. The room was small, but very clean and maids visited daily to change towels and make beds. There were complimentary shampoos and soaps in the room as well as a TV, minibar and hairdryer which was useful as we only took hand luggage with us. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially when directions were needed! The hotel shower broke on our last night but once we informed them, they came to the room immediately and changed the shower head for us. We stayed at the hotel on a B&B basis and although I am a fussy eater, I had plenty of choice. The breakfast was a buffet and you could help yourself to as much as you wanted. The only downside I found to this hotel was the noise as our hotel was situated above the restaurant on the first floor. People remained in the restaurant until very late (around 2am) and were fairly loud. This wasn't a problem for us as we went to bed late, but if you go to bed early or aren't a very good sleeper this may not be ideal for you. Don't forget the call to prayer may wake you before sunrise so if you've been awake with noise you may only get a few hours sleep! Overall, this was a lovely hotel and I would stay again. Fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room a couple of floors up to reduce noise level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenFKTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Agan for a week over Christmas 2013, and were very impressed with the location, close to the Spice Bazaar and lots of public transport options, as well as within close walking distance of the main tourist sites (Blue Mosque, Aghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace et al).

The rooms ARE very small - the one shown in the main pic on this page is actually the suite which my husband and I paid an upgrade for - it was really lovely, but I can't help thinking that the standard rooms must be very pokey, as it wasn't exactly spacious. However, it was really really clean and tidy, and despite the fact that there is a bar downstairs, we weren't disturbed by the music - things might have been different if we'd had to have the windows open in the summer.

The bathroom was perfectly adequate for our needs but do bear in mind that the walls in this hotel are paper thin: without going into details, we closed the air extractor in our bathroom every night as we could hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the room and bathroom next door. And I mean EVERYTHING.

The buffet breakfast was included in our deal and was good value, although it has to rate as the only hotel I have ever stayed in where there was no fruit juice on offer at all. And if you don't drink coffee, which I don't, it was water or nothing. Some of the breakfast times were absolutely rammed with people - possibly some from outside as well - so the advice would be to get there early.

Residents are supposed to get a 10% discount at the bar on drinks and food - do remember to show your key because if you don't, no discount is forthcoming, even if you have stayed there for several days.

Staff are really helpful and have a good command of several languages. We didn't use it but there is also a travel agent on site which offers tours and guides for visitors.

All in all, a great budget find - well worth trying.

Room Tip: Pay the small upgrade to a suite if you can afford it, and try to get a room that isn't directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godiva21
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at a different hotel about a mile away from this one for the first part of our trip as part of a package. While it was a fancier hotel, this one was a better location for getting around the 'old town'. The rooms were a good size, clean, comfortable and a great value (we got a 3 person sleeper room for $52 a night!) The front desk guys were courteous, the restaurant was good and the wait staff friendly.

Had a good experience

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godiva21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed here for three nights in November as a solo female traveler, and it suited my needs perfectly. The rate was reasonable, the room was clean, and the front desk service was very helpful. They can even help you book tours throughout Turkey, although I didn't use them for that.

The breakfast was a pretty decent buffet included in my rate, and you also get 10% off at the onsite Salute restaurant, as well as at another restaurant about 10 minutes (Optimus) that is owned by the Agan's former manager. I tried both restaurants, and they're both good for local food, especially the Optimus.

While the room was on the small side, it was perfect for one person, and the bathroom was surprisingly large. I do recommend asking for a room on a higher floor if available--I was on the top floor and wasn't bothered by the street noise at all, although the prayer over the loudspeakers did wake me up the first morning.

The location is also terrific--you can walk to the Blue Mosque, sultan's palace, catacombs, and Hagia Sofia in about five minutes. The area felt safe and I had no problems walking around as a single woman.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor to minimize noise, but keep in mind that the very top floor doesn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sokarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloela, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel is ideally located to some of the best sightseeing in Istanbul. The room rates were good and the rooms were clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had some really fun interaction with the waiters. The food was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was included and was a great start to the day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Serpy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We arrived at the hotel Agan on the 18 February 2013. We were on our honeymoon, initially booked a standard bedroom, but was upgraded to a Suite on arrival! Stunning bedroom!

After settling in, one of the staff members brought us a complimentary fruit platter and welcome drinks

All the staff members were really friendly and helpful!

We will definitely go back to the Agan hotel when visiting Istanbul again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MicheKnight85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#216 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#25 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#354 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#167 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#91 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agan

Property: Hotel Agan
Address: Ebussuud Cad. Safettinpasa Sok. No:6 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#144 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#216 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Agan Istanbul Tarihi Yarimadanin merkezi olan Eminonu` nde Sultanahmet ve deniz ulasiminin baslangic noktalarinda bulundugu mevkidedir.Otelimiz 45 yillik tecrubesi, aile atmosferi ve guler yuzlu personeli ile siz musterilerimizi Istanbul`un essiz tarihi mekanlarini kesfetmeye bekliyor.Otelemizde kalmayi tercih ederseniz, Istanbul`un muhtesem gorulmeye deger yerlerinden Topkapi sarayi, Sultanahmet, ayasofsa muzesi, Yerebatan Sarnici, Turk Hamamlari, Kapali Carsi ve daha bir cok tarihi mekana sadece yurume mesafesi ile ulasabilirsiniz.Ayrica bogaz turu ile deniz ve gunesin tadini cikarabilir ve ayni zamanda Modern Istanbul`u gorme sansini elde edebilirsiniz."Kitalarin birlestigi Istanbul da Turk Misafirperverligi ile Hotel Agan da en iyi tatili gecireceksiniz." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Agan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing