We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete chill”
Review of Hotel Agan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Agan
Ranked #148 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The hotel is nicely situated in the heart of istanbul easy walking to the main attractions and easy access to the tram system. For a budget hotel the rooms are excellent, the staff friendly and always helpful. Make sure you spend a least one evening sitting on the cushions watching the world go by, aided by a shisha and a glass of Raki. Overall highly recommended. I would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpiperpickedapec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

A great hotel in the old town of Istanbul. Great location 5 minutes walk from the main bus station and waterfront. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel also had a great little restaurant with huge cushions outside, food was actually really great and reasonable price. One of the bar men even got his guitar out most nights for a sing song. Great place and highly recommended for a weekend in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Hotel has excellent location, polite staff. Almost all rooms are like new (recently done i suppose). Breakfast-excellent. Free internet, mayble little noisi outside but pople like to enjoy Istanbul :)
One bed was OK other one was almost destroyed (room 302). But I was alone and this was not problem.

If I ever come again I will take this hotel for sure!

Rusmir Baljic, Sarajevo

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I booked my trip last minute and got an amazing deal at Hotel Agan (even though it was peek season). When I arrived (my flight was late) I was greeted by friendly staff. The hotel location is great! Close to many of the tourist attractions and close to a tram so you can take it to Takism. I have been to Istanbul a few times now and so far this has been the best hotel I have stayed at. I was supposed to head to another location in Turkey but something came up and I had to stay in Istanbul. The hotel was booked so I wasn't able to extend my reservation but the staff was very helpful and they helped me find another hotel in Sirkeci close to Hotel Agan at a really good rate.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Needs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Rooms are very clean, staff helpful and friendly, good breakfast selection, excellent location (walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar). Great value for the $.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mar2nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

It's an inexpensive hotel, so I didn't expect so much. The location is the best, you can walk from the hotel to the main attractions: turkey baths, the blue mosque, aga sophia, topkapi palace, yerebatan cistern, the bazaars (the great one and the egiptian). The service was very friendly and helpful. The cleanliness.. well, that wasn't that good. Anyway, my overall view is good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatanaPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Room and bathroom tiny.
The "free" breakfast was a complete joke.
Location is fine
Extremely noisy - until very late in the evening (morning for some people) people roamed around inside the hotel and drank/ate/shouted/laughed on the sidewalk just outside hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thomasnielsen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vakif, Manager at Hotel Agan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

There was Basketball World Cup in Istanbul. So The people who made the noise at outside and inside were fans. Also in the hotel we had fans as guest who came for the world cup..We tried to tell them to be quite.Unfortunately they were very drunk. We apoligise for your uncomfartable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#101 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,423 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#760 of 1,159 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#206 of 1,159 in Istanbul
742 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#305 of 1,159 in Istanbul
540 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#78 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agan

Address: Hoca Pasa Mahallesi, Ebussuud Cad. Saffetipasa Sok. No: 4 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#143 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#213 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Agan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing