We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's different.”
Review of Hotel Agan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Agan
Ranked #150 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I stayed 3 nights here. On the positive side, I was able to check in at 11am due to early arrival and a taxi was booked for me on the day I left. Breakfast had lots of fresh fruit and there was free internet access for guests. In a good location too.
On the negative side, I was hassled by the guy at reception to eat at their restaurant for dinner, the room smelt mouldy, the lamp didn't work and the TV had to be re-tuned every time you wanted to watch it. I was in my room on the first day and a guy unlocked the door and just walked in to check the mini bar - until he noticed me standing there holding up a towel to cover myself just out of the shower.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed for three nights and found the hotel to be very good value for money. Although the room was small it was clean and well kept. The shower room was extremely small but it was clean and the hotel provided the usual soap, shampoo and shower caps.
The hotel could not be better placed for the main tourist attractions - most within easy walking distance.
The area around the hotel has many restaurants and our room faced a busy street which meant that there was quite a bit of evening noise. However closing the windows and switching on the aircon cut out the street noise virtually completely.
The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly - especially Talat on reception - and the breakfast of cold cuts, salad, cheese, breads and cereals together with scrambled eggs was a good way to start the day.
Would not recommend the hotel for a long stay due to the small room size but it is more than adequate for two or three nights.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The hotel is located on a little street full of restaurant/bars that have outside sitting on traditional pillows and carpets. Hotel staff was cordial and helpful, the hotel was clean although it seems a little old and run down. The rooms are a bit small and you may get some noise from the street depending on your location (room 303). The breakfast was ok, veggies in the morning may take a little for some of us to accept. There is a metro (more like a light train) 2 blocks from the hotel. We used it to get to and from the airport, one transfer and 6 liras total for 2.

Overall the hotel met expectations from the reviews I read prior to our visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivi_y_Andres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I have been staying in this hotel couple of times during last few years. It is a pleasure to come back and see this place is improving its service. Also, the hotel has been recently renovated, which, with no doubt, just improves the overall good feeling about it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ipoksane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Good staff, always ready to help; easy on line reservation; GREAT LOCATION; the room and the bathroom are clean; free internet (but there are too few computers); and the breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The hotel is nicely situated in the heart of istanbul easy walking to the main attractions and easy access to the tram system. For a budget hotel the rooms are excellent, the staff friendly and always helpful. Make sure you spend a least one evening sitting on the cushions watching the world go by, aided by a shisha and a glass of Raki. Overall highly recommended. I would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpiperpickedapec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

A great hotel in the old town of Istanbul. Great location 5 minutes walk from the main bus station and waterfront. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel also had a great little restaurant with huge cushions outside, food was actually really great and reasonable price. One of the bar men even got his guitar out most nights for a sing song. Great place and highly recommended for a weekend in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#838 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#180 of 1,173 in Istanbul
251 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,173 in Istanbul
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#53 of 1,173 in Istanbul
981 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#206 of 1,173 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#215 of 1,173 in Istanbul
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agan

Address: Ebussuud Cad. Saffetipasa Sok. No:4, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#212 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £18 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Agan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing