We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Istanbul”
Review of Deniz Houses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deniz Houses Hotel
Ranked #234 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I stayed at the Deniz Konak Hotel in Istanbul for 4 days/nights in September 2009. It is a clean, centrally located hotel in the Sultanahment area of Istanbul. I found the staff to be both friendly, and helpful. All of the rooms have cable TV, air conditioning, hot water, private bathrooms, and hair dryers. There is a lovely terrace on the roof, where coffee and tea is available at all times, and one can enjoy breakfast on the roof, overlooking the Marmara sea, and the city of Istanbul. There is also WIFI Internet in the Reception area, and for those that don't have a laptop, guests may use the Internet Cafe that is located at the "Backpackers Travel Agency" near the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to singles, couples, or families. It is a great place.
Ms. Mary Rennebohm
Dubai, UAE

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2009

Deniz Konak Hotel is located in a good spot in Sultanahmet district, with less than 20min walk to all the big attractions. The cleaning maid comes every day, there's always somebody in the reception(they take your key away when you leave. A good call. So remember to leave a copy of your passport to your hotel room), the breakfast is a mixture of traditional turkish menu with the mandatory western eggs and sausages. The Air Conditioning in the rooms are a life-saver in the otherwise-hot country.
The lobby is filled with free cards about the major tourist attractions and the staff know how to do their jobs, giving you wakeup calls or ordering a taxi downstairs.
While the rooms are of the regular size, I found this hotel to be the best in price-value-area. Though the price is cheap, you get an excelllent bargain for your money.
I recommend this hotel if you are heading to Hagia Sofia, Top Kapi, the Blue Mosque and the neighbourhooding areas. The restaurants nearby are cheap and good when compared to the more expensive restaurants in the main food district.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Friendly service, reasonable prices, clean and reliable, but most important: In the middle of the old town with a magnificant view over the Bosporus.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyclistBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

If you are looking for a place to come home to after a day of visiting Istanbul , this hotel is the place to be , nice staying and a very friendly and helpful staff , a nice breakfast buffet at the roof of the hotel . Every thing is situated in walking distance of the hotel.thanks again Mr.Kerem,Ekrem and Murife

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lieve063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This hotel is really nice and clean. Our room had a wonderful seaside view. At the beginning of our trip in Turkey we stayed in an other hotel but it was aweful (even if the reviews on Tripadvisor were ok) so when we returned in Istanbul at the end of the trip we decided to change. We chose this hotel because a friend recommended us. We payed the same price but Konak was completely different: people were friendly and the room was very confortable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicepaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Being offered the stay at Deniz Konak after we were told that its sister hotel Sultan’s Inn was all booked we were more than glad as we already had our tickets and the flight was due in two days. We ordered transfer from the Ataturk airport by the hotel, but on the day of return we used the cheaper shuttle service (although we saved 10$ we waited for over and hour for the shuttle bus to pick us up). The hotel was an excellent supplement to the incredible experience we had in Istanbul during our 7-days stay with my wife. Thanks to the lovely staff (especially Mr. Kerim and Miss Elif) we were able to organize out leisure time very efficiently and even got an individual tour for a great price with their help from their partners Backpackers Travel Agency. The hotel can boast great location, excellent view at Bosphorus (first we booked a city view room but then we changed it for the sea-view with a balcony and we definitely don’t regret it!) and delicious breakfast (it’s already served hot, not cold any more as someone said in their review a year or so ago) on a terrace with superb view (be careful and don’t leave your plate with sausages alone as the huge seagulls (they are actually cormorants) will definitely take advantage of them.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babichjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Definitely a budget hotel - small and nothing grand, but perfectly functional. TV and aircon and a small roof terrace for breakfast. Room was a bit dated and no view but did the job. Service good, and position just 200m walk slightly uphill to the back of the Blue Mosque - up a nice road. Valuably, you're 20m from a taxi depot and bus-to-airport service (costs 10TL vs 100 or more for a taxi from anywhere to the airport!)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardentripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#71 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,465 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#111 of 1,160 in Istanbul
90 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#312 of 1,160 in Istanbul
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#165 of 1,160 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#239 of 1,160 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#152 of 1,160 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Houses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Houses Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deniz Houses Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deniz Houses is located on a quiet street in Sultanahmet, a 5-minute walk from the Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque and the Hippodrome. All our rooms have parquet floors, private bathrooms, individually-controlled air conditioning, double-glazed windows, minibar, hair dryer, TV and bedside telephone. Some rooms enjoy views of the Sea of Marmara, and both buildings have rooftop terraces with panoramic views. Relax with us and enjoy the beauties of Istanbul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deniz Houses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Houses Hotel Istanbul
Deniz Konak Istanbul
Hotel Deniz Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing