We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, excellent staff”
Review of Istanbul Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Istanbul Hostel
Ranked #489 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent staff”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great location -- a hundred meters away from the main historical monuments of the city.
The staff is friendly and helpful. You get a free breakfast. The price of stay is very competitive.
I would recommend this hostel to anyone who travels to Istanbul to see the sights.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    57
    31
    5
    10
See reviews for
7
22
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here in January without making a booking. The staff were very accommodating and gave us our own room. It was really basic but we were comfortable. They werent able to give us a towel however.

Bathrooms are average and quite dirty, I would recommend jandals to shower in. However it managed to serve our purposes. Would probably stay here again. It is in a great location, really close to the Blue Mosque and Sofia Arya, everything in Istanbul is in walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glech859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The hostel is bustling with friendly people, particularly Paco - the man arranging accommodation at the venue. It is a fantastic location just steps from aya Sofia and blue mosque. Loved my stay here and would come back again.

Also great recommendations from Paco for places to go to.

Continental breakfast was part of the package. Great stay here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank surajsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Istanbul Hostel is the BEST, super chill guys running the place, especially Paco (that guy rules), and amazing 2-tiered rooftop lounge with beers and views of the Bosphorous and the big mosques. My stay there was brief but super fun. I really enjoyed just relaxing on the roof in the afternoon, and hearing the call to prayer come on from the big mosques in the neighborhood-- it was a moment of perfect peace, I can't really describe it. Awesome hostel!!

Room Tip: I took the single apartment and was very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

It was a good place to stay, the price is good, the location perfect and the rooms are not bad. The beds are very confortable, but they put more beds that it was supposed to have, it is ok. The staff is nice, but i needed a towel when i arrived (between 21 and 21:30) and the person couldn't give it to me. It really pissed me off, is it strange arrive at 21:30 and need a bath in a hostel that has towels to rent? The toilets are a little bit disgusting. If I go back to Istanbul, i will try to look for another hostel in the same location, if i don't find it I can stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It was an excellent experience staying in Istanbul Hostel. Located in European part. The staff was helping, brisk and welcoming (Paco specially). He guided us the best tourist places, and also have tickets available for Hamam and Theater show. They also have shuttle service available, free WiFi and reasonable breakfast enough for voracious eaters. The rooms were clean, cozy and calm. The location is ideal, near by Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Place, Bosphorus, Basilica and Otto Park. There are many bars, restaurants and shops around.

Room Tip: It has two floors, the ground floor has rooms for mixed genders and straights. All rooms are very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mburhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

At the heart of Istanbul, in the vicinity of all the tourist attractions lies a small hostel called Istanbul hostel. A friends of mine booked there three bed for 4 nights and this gave our tour a perfect start. Not only we saved a lot of money but also we had a great time there. The room was spacious and clean enough. The guys managing the hostel, specially at reception, were really vigilant and always ready to help.
We already knew the attractions of istanbul but the these guys had certain special offers eg. Hamam or Hodjapasha Theater (Recommended!!!), shuttle/taxi service etc that made our trip more enjoyable. The best thing about this hostel is the common area on the top flour where we were able to meet different people, share travel experiences and relax.
So totally recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#381 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#486 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#573 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#419 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#746 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#584 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Hostel

Property: Istanbul Hostel
Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul Hostel is the place for you!We have dorm rooms that can sleep four or more guests on comfortable, extra long single mattresses. Our double rooms are neat and clean with extra large king-sized mattresses. The bathrooms are located outside the rooms and are continuously maintained. All our rooms are non-smoking and have central heating.For those who want to keep in touch with the world while in exotic Istanbul, we offer Satellite TV (showing English news and sports events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Istanbul Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hostel Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing