We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun hostel minutes from major Istanbul landmarka” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istanbul Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Istanbul Hostel
Ranked #457 of 1,120 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun hostel minutes from major Istanbul landmarka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a single room which may not have been necessary since there's a large number of accommodations offered. Bed was a comfortable queen and the shower was hot, if a bit cramped. Hostel seems to attract a good crowd of people.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bahuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    57
    31
    5
    10
See reviews for
7
22
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Istanbul Hostel is a great place to stay if you are looking for an affordable hostel right in the heart of Sultanahmet. You will be walking distance from the blue mosque, Ayasofia, Topkapi and many other historical sites. The restaurant in the hostel is also very good and slightly less expensive than other offerings in the area. I also recommend checking out Pallatium next door and booking a trip through the travel agency connected to Istanbul Hostel. They made the arrangements for our trip to Cappadocia quite easy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great location -- a hundred meters away from the main historical monuments of the city.
The staff is friendly and helpful. You get a free breakfast. The price of stay is very competitive.
I would recommend this hostel to anyone who travels to Istanbul to see the sights.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here in January without making a booking. The staff were very accommodating and gave us our own room. It was really basic but we were comfortable. They werent able to give us a towel however.

Bathrooms are average and quite dirty, I would recommend jandals to shower in. However it managed to serve our purposes. Would probably stay here again. It is in a great location, really close to the Blue Mosque and Sofia Arya, everything in Istanbul is in walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glech859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The hostel is bustling with friendly people, particularly Paco - the man arranging accommodation at the venue. It is a fantastic location just steps from aya Sofia and blue mosque. Loved my stay here and would come back again.

Also great recommendations from Paco for places to go to.

Continental breakfast was part of the package. Great stay here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank surajsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Istanbul Hostel is the BEST, super chill guys running the place, especially Paco (that guy rules), and amazing 2-tiered rooftop lounge with beers and views of the Bosphorous and the big mosques. My stay there was brief but super fun. I really enjoyed just relaxing on the roof in the afternoon, and hearing the call to prayer come on from the big mosques in the neighborhood-- it was a moment of perfect peace, I can't really describe it. Awesome hostel!!

Room Tip: I took the single apartment and was very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

It was a good place to stay, the price is good, the location perfect and the rooms are not bad. The beds are very confortable, but they put more beds that it was supposed to have, it is ok. The staff is nice, but i needed a towel when i arrived (between 21 and 21:30) and the person couldn't give it to me. It really pissed me off, is it strange arrive at 21:30 and need a bath in a hostel that has towels to rent? The toilets are a little bit disgusting. If I go back to Istanbul, i will try to look for another hostel in the same location, if i don't find it I can stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#522 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#376 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#566 of 1,120 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#462 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#445 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#915 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Hostel

Property: Istanbul Hostel
Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul Hostel is the place for you!We have dorm rooms that can sleep four or more guests on comfortable, extra long single mattresses. Our double rooms are neat and clean with extra large king-sized mattresses. The bathrooms are located outside the rooms and are continuously maintained. All our rooms are non-smoking and have central heating.For those who want to keep in touch with the world while in exotic Istanbul, we offer Satellite TV (showing English news and sports events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Istanbul Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hostel Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing