We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istanbul Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Istanbul Hostel
Ranked #457 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Amazing stay here, manage to visit again at the end of my month long trip. Totally 5 nights here! All is perfect.

The hostel it self is pretty clean.

I was stay at the 2ind floor 13 beds dorm room/ 30TL per night. Shower and toilet on the 2nd floor is clean and hot shower all day.

Breakfast is at the roof top and decent. Smoking is allowed on the roof and outside hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    57
    31
    5
    10
See reviews for
7
22
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Rooms are nice enough, but the bathroom was rather bad.
The location is great. There is no real hostel feeling to this place though. I don't think this is a good hostel if you're travelling alone. Value for money is not good enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomi27463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the IH thanks to its central location and the excellent service; The owners realldo everything they can to make your stay comfy! Further, we particulary liked the breakfast and the view from the restaurant at the top floor...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hostel is in a excellent location. We stayed here one night. The service was very good. The restaurant at top had a pretty good view of the Haya Sophia. But if you want to enjoy a nice dinner at a nice restaurant go to the Seven Hill hotel restaurant - They have the BEST view of the blue mosque and Sophia and the ocean.

The room was small but for the price and the location, it was great. We had to share the bathroom. but the bathrooms were pretty clean.

The hostel is right by the four seasons hotel which you pay a lot to stay there, that tells you how good of a location it is in.

No complains!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nataly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Istanbul Hostel offers very good accommodation at low prices.
It is at 3 minutes walking distance from Sultanahmet square, near AyaSofya, Topkapi, The Blue Mosque and Cisterns Basilica.
Siva Cafe is just round the corner! That's my favorite restaurant in Istanbul : great food, small prices, humus, baklava, turkish tea and coffee on the house! No extra tip added by the waiters on your bill.
It is clean, the beds are comfortable, the rooms could use a mirror and a small wardrobe.
The breakfast is every day the same: a boiled egg, butter, jam, cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, olives and bread. It keeps you full till afternoon.
The terrace is just lovely. I woke up at 6 a.m, went upstairs and watched the sunrise over Marmara Sea.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandraLuminitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

first the location itself is very near to Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia, a walking distance! our room was a bit cramped but it was okay. there are safety box which you can put your valuables but make sure to bring your own padlock. the room that we stayed had no cabinet so we had to put our bags behind the door and under the bed compared to the other hostel that i have stayed in before. the breakfast was great, a terrace with overlooking view to the sea and Aya Sofia. It's a hostel in a very perfect location!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faaris_Ezanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a single room which may not have been necessary since there's a large number of accommodations offered. Bed was a comfortable queen and the shower was hot, if a bit cramped. Hostel seems to attract a good crowd of people.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bahuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#524 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#376 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#567 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#460 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#432 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#915 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Hostel

Property: Istanbul Hostel
Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul Hostel is the place for you!We have dorm rooms that can sleep four or more guests on comfortable, extra long single mattresses. Our double rooms are neat and clean with extra large king-sized mattresses. The bathrooms are located outside the rooms and are continuously maintained. All our rooms are non-smoking and have central heating.For those who want to keep in touch with the world while in exotic Istanbul, we offer Satellite TV (showing English news and sports events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Istanbul Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hostel Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing