We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
51
57
30
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
57
30
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2014

It was my first hostel experience, and my room-mates told me it one of the better ones.
It is just a few minutes walk away from the main attractions at Sultanahmet. It is a lovely area with small streets, cafes, restaurant and several ceramic and rug stores.

The room was clean, and it was reasonable quiet at night. The price was cheap, and the staff very helpful.

The breakfast consisted of a plate with a boiled egg, e piece of cheese, jam, olives, a few slices of tomato and cucumber and white bread. Quite all right.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StineMilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Best thing about Istanbul Hostel is the great location! It is just a 5 minutes walk from Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque - surrounded by atmospheric narrow streets of cobblestone, rug stores and charming cafes. It is also a less than 10 min walk from the sea that can be viewed from its restaurant and from the bedroom windows that was lovely framed by a grapevine. Price was excellent for the location, rooms were very simple but clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. In my way back home I stopped by Istanbul again and stayed with them for a second time so I can definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RachelElich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2014

Great location-minutes from Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque, lots of restaurant arount the hostel, breakfast was okay not impressive-served on pre-set plates versus buffet some other hostels offer. The rooftop deck/restaurant was great for a beer with a great view-Aya Sophia on one side and the ocean view on the other. The quality and cleanliness of bed was good although the noise from restaurants and bars/karaoke nearby may bother some.

**Warning** Magnaura Tour on the first floor of the hostel which seemed to be affiliated with the hostel could not be contacted when I had problems with a tour package purchased that included tour and transportation to Cappadoccia, Pamukkale, and Ephesus. I specifically asked for a number to call in case of problem/emergency. They assured there won't be any problem and gave me the office number to call. When I called the number it gave me a voicemail stating he will be on vacation for few days and gave me another number. Called the other number provided which also said the person was on vacation and advised to call the same number I had dialled initially. Sent an email and received an email back a day after without any resolution. This can be a very frustrating experience in a foreign country on a vacation.

Room tip: For females-female only room gives more privacy and the window open toward the ocean allows fresh air into the room
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yeon Joo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2014

This hostel was perfectly located in the historic area of Sultanahmet. The 6-bed dorm was clean, the terrace and bar were very fun, and the breakfast was great. The staff wasn't as accommodating as they could have been, but that is really my only complaint. The price was right, and from what I heard, it is one of the best in Istanbul.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Whilst this accommodation is very cheap, there are a few aspects that we couldn't get past.

1. The rooms were basic and clean, if unairconditioned (but we didn't expect it to be, given the price) - yet the rooms were hotter than the outside (but we did go in late July)

2. We were, however, shocked at the condition of the bathroom. Half of the doors didn't lock or close (which made for some confronting encounters), toilets didn't flush and the tap snapped off with every use. They smelt and did not seem to be cleaned regularly. Often there was no toilet paper either. And note that the bathrooms are unisex, which could bother some people.

3. One rather amusing aspect we noted is that the room walls are literally made of disguised, deceivingly painted foam. So was the ceiling and the feature around the ceiling light.

4. Breakfast is included but you're better off getting fruit etc from nearby mini marts (the spread was quite shocking for our western expectations... But that was fussy)

5. The staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. One woman in particular was extremely hostile, nasty and looked permanently miserable. One man was extremely sleazy and made us feel rather uncomfortable. BUT there was one man who was downright LOVELY and helpful

6. Oh and on the last night we got bed bugs

SO, this place is for you if:

1. You want cheap accommodation that is rather secure (the doors lock and there are safes in the room - but bring your own lock)

2. You want central location, it's positioning is perfect, within walking distance to most attractions

3. You enjoy sleeping in a room reminiscent of a padded cell

3. Good wifi

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Livw1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews