We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for a stay in Sultanahmet ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Megara Palace Hotel
Ranked #228 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel for a stay in Sultanahmet ”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in may. Hotel was very reasonable price compared to others in Sultanahmet. The location is amazing. Right next to tokapi Palace and 5 mins walk to agya sofa and blue mosque. Rooms are small but we spent very little time in the room. The room was very clean and cleaned everyday. Bathroom was modern. Breakfast is on a beautiful terrace overlooking the bosphorus. It was a buffet style and I thought pretty good. Staff were also very helpful. We ate one might in the restaurant as it's not busy with good views. Food was nice but maybe pricey like all the restaurants in Sultanahmet. Highly recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    161
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
175
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I love to stay in Sultan Ahmed when I visit Istanbul. This hotel is very nice, the staff is amazingly friendly, helpful, polite… the location is perfect, the hotel is very clean, very comfortable and for wifi freaks like me is perfect since it's free and you have it everywhere… the only thing I didn't like was breakfast… they call it "ecological" but the only ecological things are maybe the tomatoes and the cucumbers in case they are organic that didn't really seemed to me to be so… breakfast is poor… if they didn't write anything I could accept it but I don't like them to write "ecological" just in order to justify the poorness… :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evdokimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked 4 nights in this hotel in April. After we made the booking via Laterooms.com, we contacted the hotel to request a taxi pickup when we arrived. The hotel confirmed that a taxi would be sent. We arrived at Istanbul on Monday night at 11pm to find there was no taxi, we waited for over an hour and instead had to take a taxi from the airport which was more expensive.

When we arrived at the hotel we asked about why the taxi had not come to pick us up, to which they replied they didn’t know I had requested a taxi, this really annoyed me.

We paid for our room then our luggage was taken to the room (there are no lifts by the way). When we booked we were promised a second floor rooms with views, instead we got a tiny room with 2 single beds, where once our luggage was in we couldn’t move. I went to complain and then they changed it to a family room, which wasn’t much better apart from the fact it had a double bed and 2 single beds, again very small and oddly shaped room. The bathroom was really small as well. The shower had no curtain so when we took a shower the entire bathroom would get wet. There was only 1 small towel given for 2 people and very basic toiletries.

The room was very dirty, there was hair in the bed, the blanket had burn marks on it, the fridge looked about 20 years old. Some of the sockets didn’t work properly. The air con was blowing out warm air. There was no tea/coffee making facilities.

I husband had the breakfast on the terrace which was not appetizing, the only good thing was the view from the terrace.

The manager came to ask if we could move out of the room we were in as he wanted to give it to someone else, the cheek!! In the end after the first night we decided to move out and go somewhere else.

The staff were friendly and great but at the end of the day you are paying for the room, which was overpriced and awful, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.


We moved out after 1 night to Magnaura Palace which was around the corner from Megara Palace and the difference in standards was like night and day. It is more modern and the staff gave us very good service, the rooms are better equipped and cleaner and spacious. From our room we had a view of the Bosphorous.

I picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and really wish I had done more research. I do not understand why people gave it such good reviews when it was an awful hotel. Please do not waste your money on this hotel, there are far better hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank awesomeadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had booked two nights here in Istanbul, but after staying one night, we extended our stay. I would have expected to pay much more for this hotel, because the value is so much more. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the shower is hot, the temperature control is great. The breakfast is fantastic, and the service is beyond friendly. Easy walking distance to anything in the "Old City", and just figure out the train to get over to the night life. I couldn't recommend this place more!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbindc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is in a brilliant location in the old town...so close to all the major sights. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and personable, they were able to assist with all our needs/requests. The view from the terrace at breakfast is stunning and we looked forward to this each morning. The mosque sounds are all around the hotel, which add to the Turkish experience.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

As a gay couple, we were looking for a safe, friendly hotel in the Old Town of Istanbul (Sultanahmet). Megara is NOT a gay hotel, but is welcoming and friendly toward everyone! This is not a party place (head to Beyoglu for that) - it is a small, quiet hotel, perfect for exploring the sights and sounds of the historical part of the city.

Location, location, location: Megara is perfectly located opposite the old roman town walls:
2 minutes walk to Topkapi Palace and a multitude of great restaurants
3 minutes walk to Hagia Sofia
5 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern
15 minutes walk to the Grand Bazaar

We felt extremely welcomed by this hotel. The staff were wonderful and always ready to help. Their advice and tips during our stay were invaluable and certainly helped us make the most of Istanbul (this included helping to arrange transfers to the airport, a boat tour and a trip to a less commercial Turkish Bath 'Hammam'). The staff were a highlight of our stay.
The hotel is not a generic multinational, and so the place has a bit of personality about it that help you know that you are in Turkey. The rooms are comfortable and we loved the Turkish styling, furniture and prints on the walls. Best of all though are the views of the historic mosque and over the roman walls out to the Marmara Sea.
Breakfast is served up on the rooftop terrace, which is simply a stunning space! The breakfast is made up of a good variety of foods. Tea and coffee are available throughout the day, and the terrace also opens up for dinner.

Thanks to the staff at Megara for an absolutely awesome stay in Istanbul. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Cons:

They moved us between rooms two times during our five night stay (gave us half a bottle of red Turkish wine as compensation). A bit far from Taksim and nightlife. The coffee didn't taste good at the morning buffé. Pestered us about to eat at their restaurant (which we never did). Description on booking sites are not true (no bathrobes, no desk, no lcd/plasma screen, no separate shower and tub, no whirlpool bathtub). The worst internet connection ever. A lot of distortions on the TV and all channels in Turkish. Very close to a mosque that seemed to have their speakers lined straight at our hotel (ok first days but it get's a bit tiresome after a while). Strange smell from the bathrooms (in both of the rooms we stayed in).

Pros:

Very close to all main attractions in the old town. A lovely terrace in deluxe rooms with a nice view over the ocean. Clean rooms. Helpful and polite staff. Ok morning buffé (except the coffee). It felt like a safe hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room. It's nice with the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
#208 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#190 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#153 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#137 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tria Hotel Istanbul
Tria Hotel Istanbul
#391 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Amber Hotel
#91 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megara Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megara Palace Hotel

Property: Megara Palace Hotel
Address: Ishakpasa Cad. 8, Istanbul 34140, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#163 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Megara Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Megara Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megara Palace Istanbul
Megara Palace Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing