We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Megara Palace Hotel
Ranked #223 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The travel agency we used in Turkey set us up in this hotel and all I can say is Job Well Done. What it lacks in luster is made up with friendly enthusiasm and curtesy. We spent time is several much higher rated hotels in Turkey and this one was by far our favorite. The chef at the hotel was very good and we had excellent meals and service. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone. If you are looking for a five star place that is cold and lacking in personality, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: we had a corner room. Istanbul is noisy bring earplugs this place is in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aurora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great location- literally a stone's throw away from the popular streets with restaurants and shops. Less than a 5 minute walk from Hagia Sofia and the palace. Room was a bit outdated and no secure double lock from the inside of the room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast- average/good. Starts late at 8am but the staff allowed me to eat at 7:40am, as my tour bus was picking me up at 8am.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caltp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in may. Hotel was very reasonable price compared to others in Sultanahmet. The location is amazing. Right next to tokapi Palace and 5 mins walk to agya sofa and blue mosque. Rooms are small but we spent very little time in the room. The room was very clean and cleaned everyday. Bathroom was modern. Breakfast is on a beautiful terrace overlooking the bosphorus. It was a buffet style and I thought pretty good. Staff were also very helpful. We ate one might in the restaurant as it's not busy with good views. Food was nice but maybe pricey like all the restaurants in Sultanahmet. Highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I love to stay in Sultan Ahmed when I visit Istanbul. This hotel is very nice, the staff is amazingly friendly, helpful, polite… the location is perfect, the hotel is very clean, very comfortable and for wifi freaks like me is perfect since it's free and you have it everywhere… the only thing I didn't like was breakfast… they call it "ecological" but the only ecological things are maybe the tomatoes and the cucumbers in case they are organic that didn't really seemed to me to be so… breakfast is poor… if they didn't write anything I could accept it but I don't like them to write "ecological" just in order to justify the poorness… :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evdokimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked 4 nights in this hotel in April. After we made the booking via Laterooms.com, we contacted the hotel to request a taxi pickup when we arrived. The hotel confirmed that a taxi would be sent. We arrived at Istanbul on Monday night at 11pm to find there was no taxi, we waited for over an hour and instead had to take a taxi from the airport which was more expensive.

When we arrived at the hotel we asked about why the taxi had not come to pick us up, to which they replied they didn’t know I had requested a taxi, this really annoyed me.

We paid for our room then our luggage was taken to the room (there are no lifts by the way). When we booked we were promised a second floor rooms with views, instead we got a tiny room with 2 single beds, where once our luggage was in we couldn’t move. I went to complain and then they changed it to a family room, which wasn’t much better apart from the fact it had a double bed and 2 single beds, again very small and oddly shaped room. The bathroom was really small as well. The shower had no curtain so when we took a shower the entire bathroom would get wet. There was only 1 small towel given for 2 people and very basic toiletries.

The room was very dirty, there was hair in the bed, the blanket had burn marks on it, the fridge looked about 20 years old. Some of the sockets didn’t work properly. The air con was blowing out warm air. There was no tea/coffee making facilities.

I husband had the breakfast on the terrace which was not appetizing, the only good thing was the view from the terrace.

The manager came to ask if we could move out of the room we were in as he wanted to give it to someone else, the cheek!! In the end after the first night we decided to move out and go somewhere else.

The staff were friendly and great but at the end of the day you are paying for the room, which was overpriced and awful, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.


We moved out after 1 night to Magnaura Palace which was around the corner from Megara Palace and the difference in standards was like night and day. It is more modern and the staff gave us very good service, the rooms are better equipped and cleaner and spacious. From our room we had a view of the Bosphorous.

I picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and really wish I had done more research. I do not understand why people gave it such good reviews when it was an awful hotel. Please do not waste your money on this hotel, there are far better hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank awesomeadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had booked two nights here in Istanbul, but after staying one night, we extended our stay. I would have expected to pay much more for this hotel, because the value is so much more. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the shower is hot, the temperature control is great. The breakfast is fantastic, and the service is beyond friendly. Easy walking distance to anything in the "Old City", and just figure out the train to get over to the night life. I couldn't recommend this place more!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbindc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is in a brilliant location in the old town...so close to all the major sights. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and personable, they were able to assist with all our needs/requests. The view from the terrace at breakfast is stunning and we looked forward to this each morning. The mosque sounds are all around the hotel, which add to the Turkish experience.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ares Hotel
Ares Hotel
#183 of 1,163 in Istanbul
613 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#147 of 1,163 in Istanbul
488 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#143 of 1,163 in Istanbul
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#127 of 1,163 in Istanbul
489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
#184 of 1,163 in Istanbul
372 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Coliseum
Hotel Coliseum
#312 of 1,163 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megara Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megara Palace Hotel

Address: Ishakpasa Cad. 8, Istanbul 34140, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#146 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#162 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Megara Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Megara Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megara Palace Istanbul
Megara Palace Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing