We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gallery Residence
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jazz Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Adelmar Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Regard Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Tango Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Homelike Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
61
43
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
43
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorgreat locationmetro stationbreakfast includedrooms are largeboutique hotelrestaurants and barsthe hotel staffenjoyed my stayvery nice hotelwould stay here againwalking distancefirst floorquiet streetnisantasiufuktaksim
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Finding myself in Istanbul for an indefinite period as a result of a medical emergency, I checked into the Gallery Residence. The desk and cleaning staff were terrific, breakfast extensive, the room upstairs was great, I really appreciated the do-it-yourself laundry. (The ground-level room was so damp that my clothes did not dry after three days.) But the manager insisted that I tell them when I would be leaving, and remained inflexible, even refusing to see me to talk about the situation in which I had found myself. At a stressful time, the rigid, inhospitable and inaccessible manager added unnecessarily to a difficult situation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiesmomsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obatus, Partner at Gallery Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for choosing Gallery Residence. We are glad that you have enjoyed our facility overall. When a guest has no definite check-out date and extends his/her stay by one night every day, we do have to ask again “latest” by noon the next day since check-out time is 12:00 - as it is all over the world. Yours was a very unique case, since this happened a few days in a row. We try hard to be flexible and accommodate every guest’s special needs as much as possible. We think that we did the same in your case too, by not selling your room to another guest following your “ever-moving” check-out date. We tried hard to make sure that your accommodation need was taken care of at the “busiest time in Istanbul”. Regardless, we are truly sorry that you have felt pressured and got the wrong impression that we are inflexible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Hello,
the hotel was absolutely perfect and quite. The staff was always friendly and very obliging.
Breakfast was good and rooms were spotlessly clean.
I`m very often in hotels and know what I`m talking about!
Next time when I stay again in Istanbul I will book the same hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obatus, Owner at Gallery Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

We try to offer the best possible Price/Quality ratio to our valued guests like yourself at Gallery Residence and Jazz Hotel, our "art concept boutique hotels”, located at the heart of Nişantaşı, just 300 meters from Osmanbey metro station. Thank you very much for choosing us for your accommodation and for your kind review. We would like to welcome you soon again with our service quality that we continuously try to improve, through your comments. Kind Regards. Gallery Residence and Jazz Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Located in the fashionable Nisantasi district, this hotel is a great pick if you're looking to shop or stay in an area outside of the tourist havens. The Gallery Residence offers clean, well-appointed self-contained suites (each room has a kitchenette / living room and sectioned-off sleeping quarters). The bathrooms were odd: the door to the bathroom is a 3/4 length door made of frosted glass. You couldn't see through the door, but it could definitely be awkward if you're modest! The hotel also provides a pretty standard Turkish breakfast on the top floor (accessible via an elevator), as well as a gym and bath facilities.
As others have noted, the hotel is not well known, and taxi drivers will not necessarily know where to drop you off - bring the address or a map! The Hotel arranged an airport pick-up and drop-off for us, which was about 85 TL each way, and quite easy. Also, the Osmanbey Metro station is approximately a five minute walk from the Hotel, which makes travel within the city very easy (it's one stop away from Taksim, but - believe me - it's a long walk in between the two stops).
Overall, we were very pleased with the quality of the room (including the comfort of the beds!) for the cost. A slight downgrade in the rating because we would have liked to have been able to better moderate the room temperature (it was too hot -- in April)!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aroush1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obatus, Owner at Gallery Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

We try to offer the best possible Price/Quality ratio to our valued guests like yourself at Gallery Residence and Jazz Hotel, our "art concept boutique hotels”, located at the heart of Nişantaşı, just 300 meters from Osmanbey metro station. Thank you very much for choosing us for your accommodation and for your kind review. We would like to welcome you soon again with our service quality that we continuously try to improve, through your comments. Kind Regards. Gallery Residence and Jazz Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights during an overcast and cool period in May. It is right in the heart of Nişantaşı which is the up-market business and shopping area of Istanbul. Despite this none of the taxis we took had a clue where the hotel was, so do not leave without the hotel phone number so that taxi drivers can ring reception and ask for directions!
Given the traffic in the city it takes about 35/45 minutes in a taxi to get from the hotel to the Sultanhamet area which is where the Blue Mosque, Santa Sofia, the Grand Bazaar etc. all are. Beware if you have a heart condition, however, as you may not get to your destination alive given the frightening way some of the taxi drivers careen along in the traffic!!
So, when you get back after exhausting sightseeing there is nothing to do in the hotel (no bar, no recepetion area to speak of) or in the area unless you're into shopping in the type of brand-name shops that you find the world over. There is a sauna in the windowless basement which the staff will turn on for you but you must give 30 minutes warning for it to heat up. In the same area is a room with exercise machines and jacuzzi but sadly the light in the jacuzzi is neon so not very relaxing and the day I went it was completely empty.
We had one room on the first floor (i.e. one floor above ground floor) which was very quiet, rather dark and the right temperature for us. It was very clean and comfortable. The two other members of the family had a room on floor 6 which had a kitchenette and fax machine, but it was stiflingly hot despite putting the air conditioning on full blast. It was better with the window open but as it faced the street it was far too noisy to leave it open all night. As we were leaving, a couple were asking the receptionist if something could be done about their room which was freezing cold. So there seems to be some problems with temperature control in this hotel.
As mentioned by other reviewers the only meal served is breakfast. We found this to be adequate and very much enjoyed sitting up on the top floor looking down over the city and the Bosphorus. The staff at reception were able to recommend some very nice places to eat in the evening.
So, overalll I would recommend this hotel if you're in Istanbul for business (internet works fine and is free) but not really if you're visiting for leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the street is noisy and for one on the lower floors as they seem to be cooler.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apiersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obatus, Owner at Gallery Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

We try to offer the best possible Price/Quality ratio to our valued guests like yourself at Gallery Residence and Jazz Hotel, our "art concept boutique hotels”, located at the heart of Nişantaşı, just 300 meters from Osmanbey metro station. Thank you very much for choosing us for your accommodation and for your kind review. We would like to welcome you soon again with our service quality that we continuously try to improve, through your comments. Kind Regards. Gallery Residence and Jazz Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Good location, clean basic room.
We met one staff member that was not so friendly and gave us a hard time but the others were fine.
This hotel should be your choice if you want to stay in a good location but put in mind that you'll be on your own!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0ura85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obatus, Owner at Gallery Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

We try to offer the best possible Price/Quality ratio to our valued guests like yourself at Gallery Residence and Jazz Hotel, our "art concept boutique hotels”, located at the heart of Nişantaşı, just 300 meters from Osmanbey metro station. Thank you very much for choosing us for your accommodation and for your kind review. We would like to welcome you soon again with our service quality that we continuously try to improve, through your comments. Kind Regards. Gallery Residence and Jazz Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews