We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place, breakfast overlooking the Bosphorus”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dom Hotel
Ranked #192 of 1,031 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cozy place, breakfast overlooking the Bosphorus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

In September 2013 my husband and I were traveling alone in Turkey. We visited Istanbul. We stayed in this place for three nights. The hotel is small at a few rooms, but great location. All attractions in Sultanahmet five minute walk. Breakfast is served in the cafe on the rooftop was stunning views of the Bosphorus. Breakfasts were plentiful and we have long experienced hunger walking on excursions. Each evening we returned to the hotel when it was getting dark. The room is small, but with all the amenities, large bed, was a TV, mini fridge, shower with constant hot water, free wi-fi with good speed. Clean linen, towels, great, friendly staff. Deficiencies have not noticed - the time flew by too quickly.
Modest hotel, perfect for a short stay in Istanbul to explore the main part of the historical old town with its ancient mosques and bazaars wonderful
So you want to have to go back to Istanbul!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustasukkainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    20
    15
    7
    11
See reviews for
11
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a long layover at Ataturk airport so this is was a last minute booking. They underestimated their proximity to the airport, it definitely takes more than 5 minutes to get there.

We got there at about 9pm and left at 5am, so we didn't have much experience with the service. The front desk showed us 2 rooms and gave us the option to choose which one we preferred. The room was decent and clean and our bed was comfortable.

Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great location is the only thing what was good in this hotel. It is located in the heart of Sultanahmet, nice street and your own keys make the feeling of living in Istanbul like at your own flat.
Breakfast was not so bad, it was enough not to be hungry till noon.
The room (№9) was normal, but the smell was terrible (cats piss) and the shower was durty. Really, it is difficult to live in such conditions. The bedclothes was durty.
Finally, there are a lot of other hotels in surrounding, so it is better to find something else!

Room Tip: Try to leave in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pticha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
BARCELONA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights.
The main problem was the dirt. It appeared some tiny worms under the toilet each time you flushed it. Really awful! Moreover, both the room and the bathroom were dirt and dusty.
On the other hand, the guy responsible for the attendance intended repeatedly to get tips from us, joking or claiming he did all the housework.
The breakfast was a bit poor too.
I think the only good points at this hotel was the bed -comfortable-, the situation -near the centre- and the price, which was really cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaikbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

My fiancé and I stayed at the Venus hotel for one night months ago and we still talk about how bad a place it was. We travelled through Turkey and I found the Venus Hotel last minute online, it seemed alright with good reviews so we booked it. When we arrived in Istanbul it was really hard to find the hotel. We looked for a while but all there seemed to be were derelict buildings... Then we realised this was our hotel. There was no sign outside and when we knocked and a man opened the door we were feeling a bit uneasy. The reception is tiny, we were led to the basement where our room was. The rooms down here smell so bad of dampness. There were little flies all over the small bathroom. I opened a long cupboard in our room which turned out to be a linen cupboard filled with towels! It didn't feel clean the overall smell was really bad and being down in the basement was not what we expected. I would avoid this hotel it was not pleasant at all.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Louise745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed in Venus for just a night in November 2011 and was the worst overnight in a b&b in my life. The place appeared to be closed from the outside, noone responsible there to see us to the room, only a Bulgarian guy who turned out to be the only staff of this business. He was also responsible for all cleaning operations and this explained why we have found gray hair in the sheets, pillows and duvet of the bed. There was mould and stains everywhere in the bathroom, mould in the A/C and dust everywhere, mould in the ends of the ceiling. Both the windows of our room looked on windows of other rooms and every half an hour a central machine was turning on making so much noise from the basement that we could not sleep. Next morning we decided to leave this place and the owner oblidged us to pay for the total reservation of five days or else he would call the police. I promised him to upload the pics of this hideous place so noones vacations would be ruined in the future but he did not care at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nasa810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I don't recomend this hotel to anyone! We stayed there one night and in the morning when we were moving out i realized that it's missing 70 lira in my walet. I was sure about the amount which i had because the day before i changed it and just after i went back to the room. I left my bag on the table in the room and I didn't touch it until morning. In the morning we left room just for the breakfast which was on the tarrace. The guy from the staff was very kind (actually too nice for us) after a while he left us alone on the tarrace and went somewhere. Later I saw that my money disappeared. We asked owner to show us the video from video camera. Unfortunatelly our room was in the basement where was no camera, we just saw on the film the guy from the staff who went down the stairs where was our room. For me it was enought to know what happened with our money. I warn everyone who booked night in this hotel to cancel reservation or to not leave anything valuable in the room even you will go just to reception.. :(

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#454 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#482 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Subrosa Hotel Istanbul
#109 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merial Hotel
#152 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Airport Residence Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pendik District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Beyoglu
Borancik Suites
Borancik Suites
#32 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel

Property: Dom Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Su Terazi Sok. No: 29, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Dom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing