We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #256 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Value for money”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very centrally located, close to most must do sites in Istanbul. Rooms are not 5 star quality but clean and comfortable. Staff are extremely helpful, especially two gentlemen Mr. Suat and another person who provided us with service comparable to 5 star quality.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amairah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff. We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    243
    55
    9
    12
See reviews for
214
260
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very good location, just 2-3 minutes from the Blue Mosque and very 1 min from the Tramway. Could get to the Grand Bazar from in a tram in like 5 mins max. Big room, corner suite, quite rare in this area. Amazing staff, very friendly, would play and hold my 18 mth old son every time they saw him :)

Ask for Suat, great friendly and helpful guy, and the bell boy Hakan. One night, the other Manager even bought me some Turkish tea while I was arranging my airport dropoff, which I really appreciated.

Bathrooms are modern and quite well equipped (wasn't expecting toothbrushes/tooth pastes/shaving kits, but got it all). Some parts of the bathroom are a bit worn out with paint pealing off but that didn't bother us at all. Good buffet breakfast. Over all, awesome experience and would surely stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are really big
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review and for your interest for our hotel .We are so glad that you had good time in our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear your satisfaction wıth the hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice hotel, a bit tired with paint peeling etc but clean and tidy with great staff. The bathroom was incredibly small, we stayed twice in one week and had two different rooms both bathrooms were adequate but tiny.
Location is brilliant and hotel is quaint with great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review and for your interest for our hotel .We are so glad that you had good time in our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear your satisfaction wıth the hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is located in a great area, everything is close by, the staff were great, especially Erkut and Suat, (sorry if I spelt the names wrong). Nothing was too much trouble for them. Each time we were greeted with refreshments and a smile. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of food. I would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svetdim70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff. We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Though we stayed for only 1 night, it was a nice experience especially the friendly staff. I had booked 2 rooms, and although we arrived early in the morning, we were given 1 room to put our stuff in and relax. Location is great within walking distance to major sites.

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your ideas and experience that you had in our hotel. As I understood, your stay here was pleasant which is something really gratifying to us.

Be sure that we will do our best in your next stay here to make you more satisfied.

We wish you happiness and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The location was great. Right on the Tram. After some less than comfortable hotels. This location was very comfortable. Very clean. Modern washrooms. Good air conditioning. Strong WiFi for those that care. It is very close to the historic sites, like a couple hundred metres to the Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque. Staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. I would stay again.

Room Tip: A room not facing the tram would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your ideas and experience that you had in our hotel. As I understood, your stay here was pleasant which is something really gratifying to us.

Be sure that we will do our best in your next stay here to make you more satisfied.

We wish you happiness and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Faros Hotel Sultanahmet in June 2013 during the protest weeks in Taksim. We were re-booked there from the Faros Hotel Taksim. The Hotel itself is small, cozy and with nice, large rooms dierctly located at the famous Davin Yolu street with a 5 min walking distance to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and other famous sight seeing spots.
It has a nice restaurant with what looks like very good food (we didn't try the food for lunch or dinner, just breakfast which was really good).

The best part of this already great hotel is the staff! From the roomservice to the restaurant everyone is really friendly. Especially the 2 concierges are super friendly and helpful. Especially Suat booked us nice places for dinner, helped us with insider tipps and with our luggage.

We highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Veit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write review on tripadvisor ,considering our hotel facilities and services.

We wish you all the best for your life in hope to see you with us again.

Greetings from Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#99 of 1,155 in Istanbul
465 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#62 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,270 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#275 of 1,155 in Istanbul
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#210 of 1,155 in Istanbul
750 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#302 of 1,155 in Istanbul
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Property: Faros Old City
Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#140 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#185 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing