We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner tonight!”
Review of Leb-i Derya

Leb-i Derya
Ranked #13 of 441 Nightlife in Istanbul
Attraction details
Swansea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner tonight!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Excellent food and location....spectacular.....service good to start but then inattentive, once we had our main course we were left to our own devices! We sat at the bar to have cocktails...our waiter had no idea where we were, or was not bothered.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShackSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular Bosphorus Views”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Not to be confused with the other restaurants of the same name this place sits of the upper-most floor and roof of a narrow residential apartment block on the upper part of the slope from Beyoglu down to the Bosporus. The actual dining area is quite small and bookings are almost essential. There is only one sitting and it was nice to take things slowly compared to many restaurants at home, where multiple sittings are the norm with constant pressure to keep moving through courses. The ‘Iron tonic” cocktail was a great start – essentially a gin and tonic with the addition of sweet-and-sour tamarind syrup that maintains a dry edge. We shared three starters: cheese plate, smoked eggplant paste and warm sea-bass carpaccio. All were good but the latter is essentially cooked, not just warm. Most of the mains are twists on traditional Turkish dishes (and highlighted as so in the menu). We skipped dessert (probably too many entrees for 3 people). The view is simply spectacular and the main reason to come – a well-placed mirror in the dining room reflects it beautifully for those not facing the water. There is also a bar area and rooftop deck – the latter was a little windy for my liking. The bill was a nice surprise (approx. TL100 each including a bottle of wine). This is about half what we paid for dinner at X Restaurant for what I think is much better food and a much nicer and more intimate space though the views are quite different– X faces the Golden Horn and gives a direct view of the sunset.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoctorGusSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best views!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

For dinner or drinks, this place offers stunning views and friendly service. Stylish mixed crowd with cash to spend. Even if you are not dressed up it is good for a drink on the way home - before you go out.

Helpful?
Thank JuliaRUnow
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great food, stunning view!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hard to find but well worth the effort. Friendly staff made us feel really welcome. We had a great night out with four adults and two children.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cisco42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Restaurant with great view, excellent food, smooth service”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Firstly... YUM! The menu is genuinely creative and the combinations well thought out; I had pistachio-crusted salmon on a bed of humus and it was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious.

Next, service: Went with a friend who called last minute for a reservation. On the phone they said we'd have to wait an hour for a table but when we arrived they found something and seated us immediately, then before we'd even ordered they'd freed up a table by the window and moved us next to the view across the whole Bosphorus. Can't say better than that!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank splashcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leb-i Derya also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Leb-i Derya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing