We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Niles Istanbul
Ranked #24 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for eleven nights, and it was very very good. The staff were extremely helpful, the rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable even if a little smallish, bust the lovely rooftop terrace was a great place to spend spare time. Staff confirmed flights, did inline check ins, organized laundry and taxis, whatever we asked. The location is fantastic. Our only caveat is the recommendations made by the hotel. They booked a restaurant for us where the food was mediocre and the prices the highest we paid in Istanbul, and they also persuaded us to take a guided tour of the Bosphorus when we told the. We were going on a tour by ourselves by public ferry. They also booked this for us. We regretted this tremendously. But that is a small gripe compared to the really superior service from what is supposed to be a budget hotel.

A hint, book early if you can. As the hotel fills up, the prices rocket, para ably standard practice throughout Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1marbil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    146
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
145
375
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

First visit to Istanbul, an amazing city, and a week in Hotel Niles was everything we could have wished for, given that we really dislike the huge chain luxury hotels and always opt for independent private places even when travelling on business. Niles is really great, nicely decorated, great roof terrace, good breakfast, perfect airport transfer service, good rooms (we had the upgraded Superior Rooms - and these are definitely to be be recommended). One night there was a problem with air conditioning but it was dealt with very professionally and without fuss. Throughout we had really attentive service, help from individuals, interesting conversations with staff who certainly demonstrate a real interest in having guests get the best out of their stay in Istanbul. All-in-all this is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in - really!

Room Tip: Upgraded 'superior' rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peppa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

What a little gem! I have never *ever* stayed anywhere so hospitable. Not only was the service outstanding, but we were constantly fed and imbibed with free food and drink: coffee, tea, bottled water, fruit salad, cake... We even felt a little bit ashamed! Gorgeous little terrace on the rooftop. Do get one of the bigger rooms as the regular rooms are somewhat small. Also be sure to check about the air conditioning. Our air-conditioning unit seemed a bit old and could not be adjusted for temperature. It was also positioned in such a way that it was blowing directly at our head while we were sleeping - that was a bit painful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lovely hotel with stunning view of the Bosphorus from the roof terrace.

The public areas are very pretty, the bed was comfortable with very nice bed linen. Bathroom more than adequate.

Staff can't do enough for you.

Plan to return next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What can I say? This was not the first time I stayed at Hotel Niles so I was a returning customer and during my 5 week holiday of Turkey (Sept/Oct 2013) I returned to this boutique hotel 3 times within that period. I have waited now until my travels have finished before writing one combined review.

The hotel rooms have been renovated since my last stay in 2012 and I have to commend that ist is a lovely job. The room has maintained its classiness and the glass pictures on the bathroom walls are just stunning with great colour scheme. I was pleased to see that you had a little black hand basin plug hanging on the wall. I have travelled a lot of Turkey and have only ever seen a bathroom sink plug 2 times. It is gold for someone who wants to do a tiny amount of clothes washing by hand. 10 out of 10 for adding this.

I stayed in 3 rooms obviously over 3 different stays and loved the room on Level 2, I think it was 205 or 206 the most. The hotel staff are wonderful and very welcoming with great memories for remembering you if you are returning again. It's a nice touch I must say. Kemal and Yilmaz on reception are gems (sorry Kemal I have now found your little green pen and I will return it next time I am there) as is the male Hotel Manager (I am sorry but I can't remember your name even if we had great talks) but I thank you for making my favourite stringy cheese available at breakfast on my last day. I really appreciated that.

It is nice that this hotel asks for feedback and then follows up on any suggestions or issues that are provided. Thank you Deniz for upgrading the computer hardware in the reception lobby for my 3rd stay there. It was really good to be able to use this briefly, with a good connection and for free. Also it was great to see that you are varying the breakfast options daily - the food coming out as the different dishes each day was delicious. Variety is important especially for those that stay longer than 2 days.

Thank you again Hotel Niles. Nothing was any trouble to all of you, and the airport transfer was great, You all provide genuine smiles and assistance to your guests - you haven't lost me, one day I will again return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank havachatkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Service and staff excellent at this superbly located hotel just 2 minutes from Grand Bazaar. They couldn't have done more to help us.

Due to popularity of the place no availability for Superior Room we had asked for so we had a standard room which was really teeny, but perfect for 2 nights. No bath in the bathroom, but everything very clean and excellently fitted out.

Breakfast on the rooftop is lovely. Would be excellent if they could get a hotplate in to make eggs on the premises but other than that the choice is good.

Would really recommend to others. We paid 90 Euros (cash) per night and was well worth it.

Room Tip: go for the higher floors. we were on first and you're level with the street lights on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pijnacker
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Despite of being rejected almost in every occassion (at all clubs/bars), we had a wonderful stay in Istanbul. The friendly staff and employees did their utmost to make it a good trip for us, as a group of 7 dutch men. Rooms were very good and clean and breakfast on the rooftop terrace with a nice view over the city was excellent.

We advise you to take the airport Ataturk because the traffic was terrible to the airport Sabiha Gocken (took us 3,5 hours for 35 km).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#11 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,454 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,150 in Istanbul
889 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#21 of 1,150 in Istanbul
299 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niles Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niles Istanbul

Property: Hotel Niles Istanbul
Address: Ordu Cad. Dibekli Cami Sok. No:13 | Beyazit (Old City/Grand Bazaar District), Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niles Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Niles Istanbul is a family owned and managed small hotel located in the Grand Bazaar district of the old city. Located 3 minutes of walk away from the Grand Bazaar, and 12 minutes of walk from the Blue Mosque, St Sophia and the Topkapi Palace, Hotel Niles Istanbul aims to offer its guests a convenient setting for exploring the old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Niles Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing