We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing view but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sozbir Royal Residence Hotel
Ranked #921 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel has a great advantage . It is built on the shore and overlooking at Bosporus. Therefore the view is fantastic . But it has given me the impression that nobody really cares about this property. It seems that the hotel is left unattended. First of all it wasn't very clean. The bedsheets were dirty and a used condom was found under the bed!!! In addition there were only two tiny soaps in the bathroom and nobody replaced them for three days. The breakfast was good and it was served on the balcony with a great view. As far as the hospitality is concerned, people working in the hotel were really kind and polite, ready to assist you. It is a pity to have a hotel on such a great location and not keeping it on high standards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uniendless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

First the bad:
- Breakfast was ok but very limited. Only instant coffee and you had to ask for cold drinks. There was a supplement for anything but water.

- the hotel is in two parts. If you get the annex it is a hike to your room.

- Air-conditioning a bit hit and miss

- Hotel layout is poor. You must get in a lift. Then climb some stairs to get to reception. To get to your room you must do the same plus another lift. Unless you are in the annex. Then from the Main Street it is one lift. Then stairs. Another lift. Walk to the other side of the hotel. Climb some stairs and another lift.

But the good:

- the view is incredible from the front rooms.

- the bar / restaurant has a great view across the Bosporus.

-Reasonable price

- good transport links. Right next to the ferry.

- very comfortable

- vibrant noisy area outside with the window open. Very quiet with it shut

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights when he had a conference near Uskudar. We were amazed by the view and the room was big. The decoration was a bit unusual. One thing we noticed in the morning was that the carpets were quite dirty. But, the bed sheets were clean at least. The food at this hotel is not great. It was ok. But very overpriced and there is such delicious food to be eaten in Istanbul, for much cheaper. Kanaat lokantasi which was recommended in our guidebook is only a few minutes walk away, and much better value. We didn't use the pool. I only ever saw seagulls use it. I don't think you could find a better view though. The people in the reception were pretty nice. The breakfast was not great. There was no real coffee....although there was tea, but that is not enough for me in the morning. It is a very nice and special place to eat breakfast. A very nice terrace next to the Bosphorus. You have to pay extra for fresh juice, but it is good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

After visiting the place for a day I have to say I was appalled. The female Manager was extremely rude especially when we where making an enquiry about a wedding. Because it was 30 people she acted as if I had pooped on the carpet and our money was not good enough as they like 200 people. Food is very average and not to European standards with a coke costing you £2 a can, fine if the service is good but this was not the case. Rooms are tired and need investment so the only thing going for this place is the location and view however there are better places for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeMcGibney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The hotel was very beautiful! It was a nice Turkish experience. The room was like an apartment and was very big. The style was very Turkish fab. The pool was very nice with a view of the Bospherous also the rooms have an amazing view! The pool played great music during the day..Very hip. The staff was very nice also. I would for sure stay here again and recommend hotel to friends visiting Istanbul. It is on the European side but the ferry is right in front of hotel. The ferry is only 1.75 Turkish lire so very easy and inexpensive

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Minnie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel from June 19th to 24th 2011 for business in Uskdar area. The breakfast is quite average as there was not enough options to pick from for European guests. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was quite OK but not to European standards. The rooms are all with sea view so this is the only good thing about this hotel. The Pool is closed every day at 5 pm as they organise Weddings and events outside so Hotel guests cannot use this after this time; which is a total deal breaker after a full days work and 28º temperature. Staff in the hotel are very friendly, but they do not have any English. Rooms were not cleaned throughout either, carpets are filthy and TV was poor as it was only Turkish channels. Do not accept to be put in one of their "Apartments" as they are at the back of the Hotel, going up and down the stairs accross the street.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marti-Gonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I will never forget the view of the bosphorus from our room. Our room was really big, we stayed there just one night so I don't really know anything about the service. breakfast wasn't good.
But I would definitely recomend to stay at Sözbir for one night and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank turkuaztasdemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Uskudar
The Bosphorus House
The Bosphorus House
#710 of 1,159 in Istanbul
12 reviews
Uskudar
Mercure Istanbul Altunizade
Mercure Istanbul Altunizade
#445 of 1,159 in Istanbul
193 reviews
Uskudar
Ramada Istanbul Asia
Ramada Istanbul Asia
#498 of 1,159 in Istanbul
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uskudar
Volley Hotel
Volley Hotel
#539 of 1,159 in Istanbul
46 reviews
Uskudar
Harem Hotel
Harem Hotel
#652 of 1,159 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#279 of 1,159 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sozbir Royal Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sozbir Royal Residence Hotel

Address: PasalimanI Caddesi No 4 | Uskudar, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #921 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Hotel Class:4 star — Sozbir Royal Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sozbir Royal Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing