We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and a rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taksim Metropark Hotel
Ranked #485 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Noisy and a rip off”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

A typically bad center-of-Istanbul-small-hotel that deserves 2 stars. How it got 4 stars is beyond me. Don't be fooled into paying more than 50EUR/Night.

Its location at Taksim Square is supposed to be to its great advantage but that is only if you love hearing drunk people shouting and singing all night in the square (especially during weekends and football matches that take place almost every day in Turkey...).

We were in room 401. The room was big but had a divider in the middle that kind of beat the purpose of having a big room. The view is of a large grey cement wall. The design is tacky (1970's style wallpaper)

Worst of all there is a construction site adjacent to the hotel. The construction is ongoing 24 hours a day, 7 days a week (!). The first 2 nights of our stay was a nightmare due to the heavy machinery and the workers shouting to each other over loudspeakers (!). Luckily the third day was a snow storm in Istanbul so they stopped the work on the night before we checked out.

The bright spots were the breakfast buffet (tasty and plentiful), wifi connection (fast and free) and the bathroom. Beds were comfortable too. As they are building a tall building right next door to the hotel I expect construction to continue for at least another year so I would stay away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Not Your B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    93
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
31
56
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

if this hotel was in the U.S, they would probably get 2 stars. They are like Fairfield by Marriott type of hotel with worse quality of beds and amenities. I stayed here for four nights, the rooms were very small and smelly, the breakfast was really good and the front desk staff were friendly. I had to pay to use the Business Center computer and the computer kept crashing on me so I ended up not being able to print my documents. The wireless internet is free but it SUCKS big time. It kept dropping us our of network every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik67ir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlevDurucan, General Manager at Taksim Metropark Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We have made so many improvements since you last stayed (almost a year ago). All beds and linens have been renewed. The internet is still complimentary but upgraded. Thank you very much for your kind comments on our friendly staff and very good breakfast. We would love to welcome you again with our new features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

First of all, let me say that its location is superb. It is right at taksim square, and next to it is McDonalds. Secondly, there is free wifi (but note that the wifi password in the room is different from that in the lobby!). Unfortunately, there is nothing else good about this hotel. The receptionist guy was pleasant and helpful, whereas the lady was combative and confused about my transport arrangement (my agent had paid for the transport in advance but she kept insisting otherwise, so my rep had to waste roaming charges to call back home to settle the issue with her - and that took a whole morning). I am a single traveller, and they didn't have the common sense to merge the two single beds in my room into one king size bed; so I did it myself. The tea satchels were opened, and remained UNREPLACED throughout my four day stay. In fact, they didn't even wash my cup once in my entire stay. They do not provide complimentary mineral water. Facing my window is DHL office; it's so near I can literally see the desktop of an office executive. There are actually two sets of towels - one is the old rough set, and the other has a much more luxurious feel. I discovered it only when I asked for my towels to be replaced; and luckily got the better set. The room was hardly spacious, but passable for me as I was a single traveller. As for the breakfast, the waiters were still preparing the bread about half an hour AFTER the restaurant was opened. Thankfully, macdonalds was next door so I had breakfast there instead. Forget about getting the "tourist map" from the reception - they distribute a generic unusable one. Get a better map from the nearby shopping mall along the pedestrian street just couple of steps away off taksim square. It's a four-star hotel, without a fitness centre/pool/bell boy. As for TV, there is no movie channel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlevDurucan, General Manager at Taksim Metropark Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on the good location and some of our friendly staff. We are sorry to hear that we could not meet all your expectations.
1. Wifi is complimentary and free of charge; the passwords are different in the room and at the lobby due to security reasons.
2. We apologize for the miscommunication between your agency and our personnel regarding the transportation payment. It is relieving to hear that the problem is solved eventually.
3. All our rooms have 2 people capacity with different bed types. The reservation department gladly aranges the room and the bed types to meet guests' requests if they are informed in advance.
4. We are surprised that your complimentary tea bags were open because all bags are enveloped individually. Tea-cofee and water are replaced daily free of charge since 27 th of March 2013.
5. All the towels have been renewed on July 2013. We are sorry that you received the old set and the new set at the same time. However we are happy to say that currently only the new towel sets are at the service
6. Our rooms differ in size and view. We kindly ask our guests to advise us their requests in advance so that we can meet their expectations.
7. The breakfast starts at 7:00 a.m. and we have not received any complaint regarding the timing of the service but we apologize sincerely if the breakfast was not serviced at the right time during your stay. We will make sure that this problem won't occur again.
8. There is complimentary city map at the hotel, we are sorry that it was not detailed as you wanted. It is nice to hear that you found a more detailed one at a shopping mall which is a few steps away from our hotel.
9. We aim to provide at least 3 TV channels in most commonly used languages yet we do not have a specific movie channel. Currently, we are working on providing this service as well. Thank you for sharing your opinion.
10. There is no fitness center or a pool at the hotel however there are two bellboys at every shift. I discussed your claim with the staff to understand what the problem was. It would be very kind of you if you could mail us personally regarding your experience.
Thank you once again for sharing your ideas with us, it will help us to improve ourselves and give you a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel is a 5 minute walk across Taksim Sq to the conference centre, which was its main selling point for this trip.

Overall, it's hard to fault, and hard to get worked up about. The room was spacious, the wifi worked well, the bathroom was excellent, the bed good. Contrary to other comments below, I was rather impressed with the breakfast.

Downsides? There is nearby construction, which made it very noisy to have the window open, and the aircon unit was incredibly noisy. Still, in October, neither of these caused any hassle.

If you're on a business trip in the area, I'd gladly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I with my husband and my son stayed 6 nights in Taksim Metropark Hotel. I should say that don’t expect it as a 4 star hotel and don’t expect to receive services as a 4 star hotel. Be cautious about your belongings. My handbag was stolen in the restaurant in the first morning of our arrival. The rooms are spacious but the rugs in the rooms are very dirty. Most of the night receptionists are not very polite and patient especially when you need some information and some help as a foreigner. The breakfast was not very tasty and without any variety. The location is very good just near the metro station, restaurants and hotels. Just 10 minute walk from Kapasi Harbor and Dolmebahce Palace.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The service was good. Breakfast could be improved. Too noisy from a constuction site nextdoor and also from other rooms. The smell of cigars was very strong in my room although I asked for a non-smoking room. Too pricy for the services offered.

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

grat place, clean rooms, best place just a stonethrow from metro station. i have been there more than seven times intwo years. nvery good breakfast. no noise at night. very kind staff. wonderful prices. nice seaview rooms

Room Tip: nice sea view rooms on fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlevDurucan, Manager at Taksim Metropark Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay

with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taksim Metropark. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#353 of 1,149 in Istanbul
363 reviews
Beyoglu
InnPera Hotel
InnPera Hotel
#530 of 1,149 in Istanbul
343 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Hill Hotel
Taxim Hill Hotel
#908 of 1,149 in Istanbul
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#130 of 1,149 in Istanbul
639 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#348 of 1,149 in Istanbul
183 reviews
Beyoglu
Senator Hotel Taksim
Senator Hotel Taksim
#571 of 1,149 in Istanbul
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksim Metropark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Metropark Hotel

Property: Taksim Metropark Hotel
Address: Gumussuyu Mah. Osmanli Sok. No:4 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Taksim Metropark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Istanbul in Taksim Square. Walking distance to shopping area, night clubs, theatres and exhibition centers. Subway and bus station are only a few steps away. Our well decorated, spacious, luxurious rooms and suites will make your stay comfortable. You can enjoy the luxury with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Taksim Metropark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taksim Metropark Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing