We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
927 results
Traveller rating
766
130
23
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
766
130
23
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdogan sumengenturkeyblue mosquegrand bazaarsea viewhome away from homerooftop breakfastold citybreakfast is servedwonderful hotelboutique hoteltop floorsmall hotelhagia sophiahistorical sitesturkish coffeetram station
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 927 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This charming boutique hotel is run by a retired chemistry professor and his wife. The hotel was built in traditional style with modern facilities in 2006 and is in the old city near the important sites including the Blue Mosque and The Church of Holy wisdom.
The breakfast terrace overlooks an ancient Classical Pillar a mosque and a clear view of the sea of Marmara. The view is rivalled only by the excellent breakfast which is laid on each morning which includes cooked items such as eggs etc.
We were picked up at the airport by the hotel after arriving late in the evening. Next morning after a substantial breakfast a five minute walk took us into the square where the hippodrome used to be. To say we were overwhelmed by Istanbul would not be an exaggeration. The hotel itself played its part by being accessible, good value, spotlessly clean, and comfortable.
I will not be churlish by mentioning minor niggles. They were too insignificant to mention.
How did the owner Dr Dogan help? By supplying antiseptic for a minor injury when all the drug stores were closed and immediately summoning a private car to rush us to the airport when we discovered that we had made an error as to departure times and paying half the fare as we had run out of Euros.
Thank you Dr. Dogan Sumengen once again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

we were recommended to stay at the Ada Hotel in Istanbul and found it to be the most stunning place, the views from the rooftop where we had breakfast each day were absolutely amazing, looking firstly at ancient ruins, and also straight out to the sea.The rooms were extremely large, bright and airy and spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. Listening to the call to prayer from there was such an incredible experience and enriched our cultural understanding. The breakfasts were like going to a wedding every morning, the food was so beautifully prepared and so exotic. The staff that they have at the hotel treated us like family as did Demet and Eva ( the owners). They sat with us and helped us with anything that we needed, advised us on the best places to go to shop and to eat, and then Demet even organised our tour from Istanbul through to Goreme, Cappadocia, Ephasus, Pergamum, Parmakake and Cannakkale and Galippoli and back to Istanbul. He rang us every day while we were away to ensure that we were enjoying ourselves and that everything was running to plan.We have already planned to return there when we go back to Turkey next year. We will be recommending your hotel to everyone as you have given us so many beautiful memories of your place and country. We have told flight centre that they need to have you on their top places to stay at in Istanbul.

Room Tip: choose a room at the front of the hotel looking out towards the sea
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deniseH102777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Like others, Ada was selected from the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and I couldn't agree more. We stayed 5 nights and the hotel arranged to pick us up at the airport--smooth as silk. The owner, Mr Sumengen arranged two wonderful tours for us--one a small group tour, and the second a private guide for the major sites. Both were exceptional. The roof top terrace is also wonderful--first for breakfast where we enjoyed the views and the great assortment of food; in the late afternoon we enjoyed relaxing at the end of the day with a glass of wine prior to heading out for dinner. Mr Sumengen and his wife Havva are wonderful hosts who pay attention to their guests but are never overbearing. We booked a suite overlooking the ruins with a view of the sea. I doubt the inside rooms would have been as pleasant.

Room Tip: WE very much enjoyed the suite
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WSUGrad1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My son and I stayed here for six days and we absolutely loved the hotel. We stayed in room 202 which had a beautiful view of the sea. It was small, but very clean, well appointed and comfortable. The owners were very kind and the two girls who prepared the breakfast buffet were so warm and friendly. Speaking of the breakfast, it was AMAZING. There were about twenty different dishes to chose from along with scrambled eggs, french toast or crepes! Also, the breakfast room is on the top terrace floor. The views are spectacular and one of my favorite moments of the day was sitting with a cup of coffee enjoying the view.

The location of the hotel is fabulous. It is only two short blocks from the hippodrome where the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia are located. The neighborhood is very nice and we always felt very safe walking around at night. There is a great restaurant right up the block (Sokullu) which we ate at three times because we so impressed with the food and service.

I am hoping to return to Istanbul someday and when I do, I certainly will stay at the Ada Hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is a lovely small hotel very close to all the sights in Sultanahmet. We stayed for seven days, so the hotel arranged a pick up and drop off from the airport. My room, "Ottoman Suite" was huge and looked out on the Marmara Sea, a mosque and a local neighborhood. The little street is very quiet, but just at the corner is a little restaurant, next corner, same thing. Little convenience store two blocks away. The Hippodrome is a five minute walk. We found the staff to be helpful and cheerful, and the breakfast on the terrace was huge. IF I go to Istanbul again, I will stay at the Ada.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking out over the mosque.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JuneBug4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews