We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Ada Istanbul in Dec 08”
Review of Ada Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #13 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Ada Istanbul in Dec 08”
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We were a group of 11 persons (3 families with kids) just returning from a great trip of Istanbul, Turkey. We stayed at Ada Istanbul and found the hotel to be perfect for a family stay. Great views from the rooms and the rooftop where a sumptuous breakfast is served. Very friendly host in Dogan who goes out of the way to make us comfortable as well as explain the sights of Istanbul,

Location is just about perfect in a quiet area of the old city but yet within walking distance of the main attractions like Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Grand Bazaar + the tram station is just nearby. One can take the tram to get to modern city areas of Taksim or the cruise stations within 10-15 minutes. We loved the place and would highly recommend to anyone visiting Istanbul.

Sachin

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SachinSharjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    129
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
249
400
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Nov 29th 2008 Carole from England

Firstly i ask who these people are that are giving the Ada a 5 rating.

We stay in Istanbul each year, this was the worst hotel. I must say it was very clean but not what we or other guests expected. We booked the standard room which was standard and filled with oversized beds and no room to move.

It was the location we found most concerning. It is located in a drab run down back street on a very very steep hill. If you took a typical victorian terrace being very narrow with six floors,the entrance / lounge is at best 10ft wide with a ikea desk and replica chairs with old lace tops.
The breakfast room has slatted wooden fold up chairs and benches in again a 10ft wide room, Yes the views were great. Food was quite good for Istanbul breakfasts but the same every day and little fresh fruit.
The set up was odd and maxed out with bedrooms and not space to move.there was no lounge or and spare space to relax.

Will not stay at the Ada again.

  • Liked — it was very clean
  • Disliked — location / no space
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank caroleWarwickshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Excellent location, near to all the historical sights. If you are looking for a good quality, non big hotel feel, this is it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — All good
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Iann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Subject: Ada Hotel Istanbul
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Title: Nice,friendly, excellent family hotel
ID#: 21621836

we stayed at the Ada hotel from October 29 till November 2 and had a great time with my mother and sister. We had a triple room with Jacuzzi.
There isn't much that I can add to the reviews. It is all true, the view, the location, the great service, the clean rooms. Mr. Sumengen and his family were very helpful and friendly.

I read a few reviews of people who were not satisfied, and moved to a hotel uptown or to one of the major hotels. I think this is because of the star rate. You should not compare the hotels in the old city to the famous hotels. There is a difference in the star rating.
In the old city are all the major tourist attractions, you won't find any hotels from the famous hotel chains. I approve of that, that's how the old city remains it's authentic character. If that's not what you are looking for, I would advice you to move to the European site, there you will find the famous hotels, the atmosphere and the appearance equal to any big city in the world. If you want to enjoy the great history of Istanbul, meet locals and save on excursions, book a room at Ada hotel.
Ada hotel is in walking distance of all the major attractions (max. 5 minutes)...Blue Mosque..Grand Bazaar etc etc

  • Liked — The Location and View
  • Disliked — Can,t think of anything.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Randjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We stayed at the Ada hotel for three nights, and the hotel was ok but not more. We had quite high expectations after having read all the nice reviews, and though it was a quite nice hotel the value for money was not excellent. For the price we paid we would have expected something a bit more exclusive.

The positive things:
- Friendly and helpful staff.
- The airport pickup worked out really fine.
- The view from the room over the sea was nice.
- The jacuzzi in front of the window (only in some rooms).
- The view from the roof when eating breakfast.
- Fridge and microwave in the room.
- Free wireless internet (though a bit unstable at times)

What we liked a bit less:
- The breakfast could have been a little more varied and a bit more nourishing (this might be a cultural difference, I like to eat quite a lot in the morning :-)
- The location is really good for visiting the Blue mosque and Hagia Sofia. However there are not a lot of restaurants in the area. If we go back we would probably stay in the Taksim-Tünnel area with more restaurants, and then we would go by tramway during the day to Sultanhamet to visit the touristic sites.
- The bathroom was a bit plastic.
- Value for money was so and so...

  • Liked — Nice views, friendly hosts
  • Disliked — Value for money
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Alias34632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We stayed at the Ada Hotel in September 2008 for 4 nights. It is fabulous. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and served on the beautiful terrace with great views.
Not all rooms have jacuzzis, however this did not bother us at all.
Mr. Dogan is an extremely helpful host. When we had issues booking a bus out of Istanbul he made all the necessary phone calls and helped us. Every time we had a question, he would find out the answer for us, which was much appreciated.
The Location of the hotel is amazing. Barely 5 minutes away from the Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The helpfulness of the hosts. We would have been lost without them
  • Disliked — Nothing to talk about
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Calator_Fericit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

The Ada was a great hotel for our stay in September 2008. Our family of 2 adults and one eleven-year-old really enjoyed the breakfasts and the views from the breakfast terrace. The hosts were very helpful. The pick-up from the airport worked a treat. The location of the hotel makes it extremely accessible for all the Istanbul sights. The only downsides were that our room was quite small and we had no view from our room. I’d be happy to look past that though for another stay at the Ada on our hoped-for next visit to Istanbul.

  • Liked — The location, the helpful hosts and the breakfasts.
  • Disliked — Small room and no view from room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Social_Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,140 in Istanbul
2,947 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,140 in Istanbul
3,272 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,140 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,140 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,140 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,140 in Istanbul
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ada Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ada Hotel Istanbul

Property: Ada Hotel Istanbul
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Sok. No:30 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ada Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ada Hotel, located in the centre of the historical peninsula, is steps away from world famous Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern, Mosaic Museums, Islamic & Turkish Art Museum, Istanbul Archaeological Museum, Hippodrome, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar. Ada House brings you comfort with its modern decoration and genuine quality of service. Our rooms have a panoramic view of the Marmara Sea and several historical mosques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ada Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Ada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing