We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel, excellent views and wonderful hosts”
Review of Ada Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #14 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine hotel, excellent views and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed at the Ada twice, once at the beginning and again at the end of our trip to Turkey. The hosts, Dr. Dogan and his wife, truly made us feel at home. They were attentive and courteous in all ways. In a city where so many people are always trying to sell you something, you have no idea how good this can feel after a day of dealing with endless "business men" trying to sell you carpets, and waiters trying to lure you into their restaurants. The low key relaxed friendliness of Dr. Dogan and his wife is a wonderful relief at the end of a long day.

The hotel has an excellent location close to most major sites in Istanbul. In addition, it borders an interesting neighborhood (in the opposite direction from all the tourist sites) where artisans work and live and you can get a glimpse of the real Istanbul while climbing the city's hills and enjoying the views. To my surprise there were several beautiful Armenian (I think) churches in the same area that don't get mentioned in the tourist brochures but that provide an interesting contrast to the world of Islam.

The breakfast is on the rooftop and the food and views are superb. Our room was a little small but the space was excellently laid out with room to put all of our belongings -- something that I often miss in smaller hotels. Everything is spotless.

I've noted that some reviewers complain of rooms in the basement, etc. Well, you can check the web site and request a room with a view (as I did) if this is a concern. We had exactly the room and the view that we requested. In fact, when we returned to the hotel at the end of our trip, Dr. Dogan thoughtfully gave us the same room again -- it was like coming home. The other complaint I've seen from some reviews concerns noise. It is true that there is a mosque near the hotel and the call to prayer is very early in the morning. I wasn't bothered by this, but if it's an issue for you, you should bring earplugs. And, by the way, if you're visiting other places in Turkey, you should be aware that there's almost always a mosque nearby. It is a Moslem country after all. You get used to it and for me it became part of the charm of the place. It shouldn't detract from your experience at the Ada.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmtravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    129
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
250
400
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We stayed at the ADA Istanbul for a long weekend in June 2009. The hotel is perfectly located for the walking tourist and virtually all of Istanbul's sights are no more than a 5 minute walk away. The hotel is clean, staff is friendly, and the breakfast buffet is very good and the views from the roof top terrace make it actually quite amazing.

One piece of advice would for all travelers to inquire directly about which room you will be staying in. I was not aware after speaking with the owners on the telephone or reviewing their website that they actually have two rooms in the basement. Yes, you can imagine your wife's heart sinking when the owner of the hotel directs her into the elevator on the first floor and tells her to go down. The basement rooms, while still very clean, are not recommended. The basement rooms have those little windows at the top of the walls facing the street that are subject to the loud noise of every passing car and walkerby. To think that we stayed at this hotel for the views - And then to be put into the basement to have a view of people's ankles as they walked by. VERY disappointing. The owner should be more clear in his descriptions of the rooms in talking and on the internet and then heavily discount these rooms in the basement. We asked to be relocated to another room but the hotel was full and the owner was unable to move us and since we were with our infant daughter we were not ambitous enough to move to another hotel.

I would generally recommend this hotel, but warn all travels to confirm carefully what room they are reserving and ensure that it is not in the basement.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank worldtravelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Every part of our stay at the Ada hotel was great. Most importantly the owners of the hotel Dr. Dogan and his wife Eva are the kindest of hosts. They are very attentive! I could not have asked for a better location. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Hagia Sofia and blue mosque. The Grand bazaar was about a 10 minute walk and the spice market was about a 15 minute walk. There are all sorts of shopping and restaurants very close to the hotel...yet the hotel is on a very quite street. The free breakfast was great. Our room had a great view of the Ocean. The hotel offers free internet service....and better yet...the hotel has a telephone you can use to make FREE calls to the United States and Canada. Yes...it is 100% free no catches!!! Dr. Dogan and Eva truly impressed us.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexRosell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI, FL
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Our family of 7 adults and 2 children had a wonderful stay at Ada Hotel in Istanbul. Great location and immaculately kept
We would certainly stay there again without hesitation and will recommend the Ada to anyone going to Istanbul.
Thank you Dr. Dogan and Mrs Havva for a great holiday in Istanbul.
Figuerola Family

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DORAMiami_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Booked a stay at this hotel based on the glowing review from other TripAdvisor users, and was very pleased with my stay. The owner is indeed quite nice, and the room (immediately above the hotel reception), while not as high as I liked (201 I think), had a very well maintained in-room jacuzzi and the as-advertised view of the ocean. there is a PC in the reception area for those who want to access the internet, and wifi for those who want to surf from their rooms with their devices. The breakfast was great, and the owner was very willing to suggest interesting things to do. I found the included airport transfer incredibly convenient and would do it again in a heartbeat. I found the price quite reasonable; however, were I to stay in Istanbul again, I would probably stay in Begolyu rather than Sultanahmet - Sultanahmet is very nice for a first stay but I'm sure would become incredibly boring a second time around!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anathemajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Don (the owner) was so wonderful and accomodating to us. We went at the beginning and at the end of our triip in Turkey and it genuinely felt as though we were returning home!! He went out of his way to help us with our needs--errands, etc. He generously upgraded our room on our second stay--wonderful, large, room (compared to a smaller, tightly organized room). Breakfast was good altho they had run out of freshly brewed coffee. The location was perfect!! One needs to take advantage of Don's offer for a taxi to pick you up at the airport since it is an obscure street and the taxi he offers is cheaper than the shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccbarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We stayed for four nights at the Ada in a deluxe room with seaview. The room was clean and the view was very lovely, but the room was awkwardly set up and a bit small. The hotel owners are perfectly nice though not quite as friendly as many of the reviews allege, and the breakfast more than met our needs. The room was very, very loud, not because of the call to prayer (which is extremely loud but so lovely it didn't bother us at all), but just because there must not be any insulation at all. Didn't get a single decent night's sleep. Not cheap nor expensive, probably a tad more than it's worth. Free wireless internet was nice! Not a bad place to stay, but I'd imagine there are better.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KAE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,149 in Istanbul
755 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,149 in Istanbul
3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,149 in Istanbul
998 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ada Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ada Hotel Istanbul

Property: Ada Hotel Istanbul
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Sok. No:30 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ada Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ada Hotel, located in the centre of the historical peninsula, is steps away from world famous Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern, Mosaic Museums, Islamic & Turkish Art Museum, Istanbul Archaeological Museum, Hippodrome, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar. Ada House brings you comfort with its modern decoration and genuine quality of service. Our rooms have a panoramic view of the Marmara Sea and several historical mosques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ada Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Ada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing