We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”
Review of #bunk taksim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
#bunk taksim
Ranked #15 of 1,259 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed 7 nights in twin room with own shower/toilet. Very happy with it. New and clean. Comfy beds. Bar on roof is great. Good breakfasts. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good air conditioning in room.

Room Tip: I rated Rooms as Average because they are small and don't have the sorts of facilities you'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, Director of Sales at #bunk taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review #bunk taksim. We are delighted you enjoyed the #bunk experience and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Ben Carrington
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great facilities and even got a free upgrade to a private room but we were disappointed. It is understandable that you would make a lot of money out of big groups but having a hostel full of school kids completely ruined our experience. We suggest you review your stategy as a hostel because otherwise this hostel would have been fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, Director of Sales at #bunk taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Karina C

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and for your comments. Unfortunately at the time of your stay we had a large school group staying with us. As a result of this and other comments made during the time of your stay we are being extremely vigilant about which group bookings we accept to stay at #bunk taksim in the future. It is incredibly important for us to create an enjoyable and social atmosphere of like minded travellers at #bunk hostels and this was a good lesson learnt.

We are extremely sorry if this disrupted your stay in any way and hope that your Istanbul experience in general was a good one.

Thank you again for staying at #bunk taksim.

Ben Carrington
Partner/CMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This new hostel has comfy beds and is well-kept. Nice additional thugs such as reading lights and shelves in the beds. A terrace at the top is a great place to chill. The location is a bit dodgy (just the last two streets - this was the opinion of the taxi drivers and the police), but it's ok daytime. In theory the electronic keys and lockers are a great idea, but me and my room mates had them not working for various times. The four bed dorm is tiny, and if there were four travelers with full-size backpacks/suitcases it would be hard to move around. Walls between dorms are not up to the ceiling, so if your neighbors are noisy, you'll hear it. The shared bathrooms were two few per corridor.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank msmhuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, Director of Sales at #bunk taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and review. We have multiple room categories (some dorms with en suite facilities and some larger dorms than others). We hope to see you at #bunk again in the future.

Ben Carrington
Partner/ CMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from 5 nights in this hostel. I travelled in a party of 4 girls and we were given a 6 bedded room with our own shower room and bathroom. It was spotless, plenty of fresh towels, and plenty storage with combination locks on 6 large presses. May be a bit cramped for 6 people but loads of space for just 4. Staff were very friendly and helpful, did all our bookings for day trips and boat trips. Great atmosphere here and the rooftop bar is fantastic. The view is lovely and the weather was great so we used this a lot. The food was fine, nothing too fancy but suited us after long days. Would recommend going out for dinner as the kitchen has odd opening times. They also order takeaway for you if you want. Definitely worth stain here, ideally located, very close to Taksim square and a short trip on the metro to everywhere. I would recommend avoiding taxis unless the hostel books them for you as they are very unreliable with their prices. Overall I was very happy with my stay here, it is very basic but everything you need, we spent little time here during the day. Beds are very comfortable and very little noise as its on a side street.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 29, had a great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elainecj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, Director of Sales at #bunk taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review and comments. We are glad you enjoyed the #bunk experience and hope to welcome you back soon. Since your stay we have introduced regular BBQ nights on the terrace for 20 TL per person all you can eat!

Ben Carrington
Partner/ CMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

New, and clean which is important. Very good view from the top floor. It is not on a main street so you can have uninterrupted sleep even though you're in the heart of the city.

BUT the showers are terrible as there are no doors on them so they flood the entire floor. So unless you are the first person in the morning you will find a wet dirty floor in the baths. The food is horrible at the bar/restaurant. Pizza always burnt and the pasta chewy and undercooked. Also,the cheek of this place not having a kitchen and wanting people to pay 5 Euro for a very basic breakfast!

It's quite a long walk from Taksim Square, not great if you have bags. They should make this clear on their site and in the directions. Like most places in Turkey the staff in the bar was more interested in lazing around and talking with friends, not very professional. Way too overpriced as a hostel. They would do much better making it into a hotel as they already have hotel prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank castlefragglerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, Director of Sales at #bunk taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

You had number of comments about the facilities and the service, thank you very much for your time. However, with the exception of one comment, I am sorry to say that we are very disappointed and surprised by your comments and review. Having renovated a 100 year old building, using one of the best architects residing in Turkey and investing considerable amount of time, effort and money your comments really hurt us (the management team).

1. You are 100% right about the wetness of the shared bathroom floors. This problem occurs only in 6 of our bathrooms (not all) and it was a design decision by our architect. In order to over come this we have taken the following steps.

a) we altered the water pressure in these showers
b) we will be adding water absorbing mats so our valued customers do not have to experience this inconvenience.

If this won’t suffice, we will be altering our design and adding a glass door to these showers.

2. There must be a big misunderstanding here. We have a professional chef previously from a well known restaurant chain in Istanbul. However, things do happen. In order to avoid any customer dissatisfaction we have a policy in place to replace food that is unsatisfactory to the customer without hesitation upon receiving a complaint. We have checked our records and have not seen any customer complaints that could possibly match your dates. Having said that, we rarely get complaints about the food and would have noticed during your stay. In addition, We keep tabs on this with a customer feedback form which is circulated daily almost every morning in the hostel.

If you had a negative experience we wish you mentioned it to us immediately and we would have done our best to resolve the problem and make your stay more enjoyable. We serve a 15 item breakfast, everything from selection of cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, selection of fresh bread, seasonal fruits, all you can drink Julius Meindl filter coffee all for 5 €. We designed our breakfast to compete with a 4 star hotel. We believe your comment about calling it “basic” is unfair to say the least (and many of our customers reviewing us in different engines would tend disagree with you)

3. Turkish are hard working people, especially in the service sector. So I really do not know what type of experience you had in Turkey, however, our personnel and service standards are getting praises from our customers in all booking engines, including trip advisor (as you can see here on this page) and in our own surveys. We believe your comment about service and Turkish personnel was very unfair. In addition I have to inform you that, the personnel we employ in the bar area, including the manager at the time with the exception of one were not Turkish. They are from Germany, Serbia, Syria and Portugal.

4. We are located within 4 minute walking distance to Taksim Square and in fact closer than the Hilton Hotel (which is a Taksim landmark). We are also the closest hostel in Istanbul to the Havataş airport shuttle station in Taksim. However, If you had let us know, we could have arranged you a taxi to Havataş, which would cost you approximately 1€.

Ben Carrington
Partner/CMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Bunk took my breath away with how modern it was, really cool place. The staff were really helpful also.

Rooftop bar is an awesome place to chill and meet people while the location is close to Taksim and airport shuttles.

Overall a good stay and i would highly recommend to anyone coming to Istanbul.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Bortsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, Director of Sales at #bunk taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review and kind feedback. We are delighted you had a positive experience at #bunk and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Ben Carrington
Partner/CMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Great location just a short walk from the havatas airport shuttle and taksim square. The price point for a private room was a little high for the amount of space, but it was such a good location and well maintained. We only stayed 1 night and didn't take advantage of the terrace but it looked really fun.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, Director of Sales at #bunk taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review and kind feedback. We are delighted you had a positive experience at #bunk and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Ben Carrington
Partner/CMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,259 in Istanbul
767 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#3 of 1,259 in Istanbul
785 reviews
Beyoglu
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
#39 of 1,259 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#14 of 1,259 in Istanbul
552 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,259 in Istanbul
934 reviews
Sisli
Green House
Green House
#26 of 1,259 in Istanbul
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to #bunk taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about #bunk taksim

Address: Inonu Mahallesi Papa Roncalli Sokak No: 34 Sisli, Istanbul 34373, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,259 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £8 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — #bunk taksim 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#Bunk taksim opened its doors in march 2014. It is the flagship property of the #bunk group in istanbul and consists of 170 beds (22 quad, 9 sixer, 6 twin and 8 double rooms). We spent 2013 renovating a historic building with stunning results. The 6 floor luxurious hostel with elevator is located in taksim, commonly regarded as the centre of the city. The hostel is walking distance from lutfi kirdar convention & exhibition centre (icec) and taksim square where you will find many shops old and new as well as trendy cafes, restaurants and nightlife. The old city (blue mosque, grand bazaar) is 10 minutes by car, there are also excellent transport links (tram, bus and metro) from the hostel. #Bunk taksim boasts stunning city views from the top floor cafe/bar (Vanga) where an extensive buffet breakfast is served from 7:30 a.M. Every morning. The top floor terrace also hosts a long bar, pizzeria and cinema projection screen for the various events we host as evening entertainment for all of our new #bunkfriends. In addition to complimentary linen, towels and free wifi access we also provide a business centre, laundry room, and a tour desk that will ensure your every requirement is catered for in istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your #bunk taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing