We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hidden Treasure!”
Review of Ahmet Efendi Evi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ahmet Efendi Evi
Ranked #46 of 1,070 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2011

If you are a first time traveler to Istanbul or a seasoned veteran - it would be difficult to find a more perfect place to enjoy your stay.
Tucked away in the Sultanahmet district, this little gem is within walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and the Basilica Cistern. It is also located in an incredible neighborhood away from the commercial district where you can really soak up the culture.
Our first evening we were met by our host and owner, Mehdi Barradi. Knowing that we are both very interested in the history and culture of the neighborhood, he gave us a lecture of sorts explaining the history of Istanbul and ending with a tour of the little neighborhood. Of particular interest is the nearly 400 year old residences and the Akbıyık Cami Mosque. There are wonderful little local groceries along with fruit and vegetable vendor.
The hotel is very artfully appointed with very tasteful items. The rooms are cozy with beds that are very comfortable. There are ample drawer and closet space.
Breakfast is very good - fresh feta cheese, olives, yogurt, grape syrup, dried and frest fruits, grains, breads, cucumbers tomatoes - very Turkish and lots of hot coffee or tea! Wonderful!
The staff were sooo very helpful. English is spoken so no need to worry. Yusef is so dear. I had work to be done while there and spent the day at my laptop in the lobby area (this is more like a wonderful comfy living room). Yusef was so kind as he refilled my coffee for me several times.
The internet was fine. No wireless in the rooms as the architecture of the building doesn't allow for it but the wireless was just perfect there in the lobby.
The staff there is willing to help you plan anything so don't be afraid to ask. Mehdi gave us a map and hilighted all the areas we wanted to see. Yusef gave us instructions on how to use the public transport.
Everything was so simple and we felt so much at home.
We would not hesitate to stay there again - in fact we will be certain to stay there when we do return.
Thanks to Mehdi, Gonul and Yusef for making our stay perfect.
One last item - yes the rates for airport shuttle has gone up - but they informed us regarding this. This is not their rate but the rate of the shuttle.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful, so no fear. We were in the Terrace Room with a lovely Terrace but after se...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Ahmet Efendi Evi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

My wife and I are from India. We stayed at this amazing place from Nov 6 to Nov 10 2011. The key POSITIVES of this place are: 1. The 55 Euro per night top floor double room was an amazing value for money option compared to the other places we stayed at in Turkey
2. Amazingly courteous, helpful and informative people own and run this place (Mr Ahmad Barradi, the owner-manager and the ever helpful Yusef, in particular). They provided a lot of useful practical information to us on how to travel in Istanbul.
3. Our top floor room did not have a terrace but had a good view of the Blue Mosque(see picture).
4. Ahmet Effendi is located just 5 minutes by walking away from Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. An amazing location.

We slept very well on all nights. However some light sleepers may have a problem in sleeping when the train passes. This is a very small issue however. Overall this was one of the best places we stayed in Turkey. Thank you Mr Barradi and Yusef.

Room Tip: If you want a double room, take the top floor room facing the Blue Mosque.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrinceAnuraagMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed in the Ahmet Efendi for a week in October and would always come back to this place.
Why?
- the people in this hotel (the owner and the stuff) were always absolutely friendly and helpful. You asked them about a good, not too expensive place for food: they told you. You asked them about postboxes for your postcards: they offered to bring them to the GPO themselves. They always had time for a friendly chat and were there if you needed them.
- the hotel is perfectly located for some of the main attractions in this town, it's less then 10 minutes walk (uphill) to the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and, conveniently, a Tram-station. Located nearby (next door or 100m away in the other direction) are small shops were you can get water and other small things).
- the rooms are absolutely clean. Yes, the Twin-bed rooms (and the Doubles) are a bit on the small side, as are the bathrooms, but this is Istanbul Old Town, not a newly build western hotel with as much room as you like. So they are cozy and have great matresses for your comfort, i.e. something you can't say for many other hotel rooms in this world.

There are one or two things that could be better, sure, but for me they are not reason enough not to give less than best marks for this place.
- breakfast was very delicious, but it was more or less the same same food for 7 days. A bit variety after some days would be perfect! And yes, once (1) during our 7 days stay we had to wait 5 minutes for a breakfast table (I think they have 4 of them). But so what! It's called a Boutique-hotel for a reason! For me that's means not too many rooms, a family-like atmosphere (were family stands for friendliness, cosiness, .... you get it) and e.g. a breakfast room smaller than a gym. There is a nice settee where you can have a coffee or tea while chatting with the other travellers or the stuff. That holidays for me!
- something I knew about before and didn't mind but what should be mentioned again, I think: you will most certainly wake up quite early in the morning, at least in your first night, because of the Muezzin(s) close by. But as I said, I knew that and for me it is part of being in a Muslim country, so don't complain. ;-)

So come here if you don't want to spend your precious vacation-time in a way too big hotel or simply like the family-like friendliness of the people there, I'm sure you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alemanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We arranged airport transport with the hotel over the phone. They told us that it was 40 EUR for two persons. When we paid for this shuttle service during check out all of a sudden they wanted 60 EUR which is more than a normal taxi! In booking confirmation mail a lower price was stated but they said their prices have risen from one month to the other. What a rip-off!

Also the hotel did not accept credit card nor debit card which is also unacceptable for an accommodation at this price level. We had to withdraw quite a bundle of cash from the ATM. This fact was not mentioned in booking conditions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I don't see enough discussion about how wonderful the area is around the hotel. The hotel is on a row of side streets that are 10 blocks from the heart of Sultan Ahmet. You have a row of bars 5 blocks away to enjoy a Efes before you end your day. You also have the waterfront 4 blocks away for a morning jog or walk. Bring your walking shoes and an open mind and you will truly have a magical time in Istanbul.

Thank you Mehmet and your fine staff for your hospitality and generosity - it is the small things that make a trip truly magical.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoBearsFan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Ahmet Efendi Evi while we were in Istanbul. The hotel was very well presented with a mix of modern and eclectic furnishings. Beds were very comfortable and rooms clean. Yusuf the shift manager was really nice and helpful with giving us info on where to go, eat, do laundry, arrange transport, etc. Mehdi the other shift manager is a fountain of knowledge on current affairs and insight into Turkish politics. The hotel location is really convenient to the major attractions and trams about 10 minutes leisure walk. The breakfast provided is quite substantial. A must try is the grape molasses with tahini dip/spread with bread. There is a government operated Turkish restaurant for tourists nearby 5 minutes walk which have good food and reasonable pricing. Just ask the hotel staff for directions. Will definitely stay again in my next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElysiumFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I spent a week in Istanbul visiting a friend. I've been suggested of Ahmet Efendi Evi Hotel by other travelers and read positive reviews. It turned to be an excellent choice. The premises, the location and the service were excellent. The hotel manager sent a taxi to pick me up at the airport (ca. 30 min, 20 euro), warm welcome, smooth check in and lots of practical info at arrival to get introduced to Istanbul life. We've been offered a two bedroom apartment on the first floor, spacious, clean and with all amenities of a 4 stars hotel but for a fraction of the price. Really great value for money. The best asset of this hotel is however its location: only minutes away from Sultanhamet major destinations (Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia and Topkapi) yet in a quiet road away from the bustling touristic part of this part of the city. The owners have always been extremely kind and really helpful with their suggestions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ErraticTuscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#233 of 1,159 in Istanbul
162 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#267 of 1,159 in Istanbul
615 reviews
Sultanahmet
Naz Wooden House Inn
Naz Wooden House Inn
#59 of 1,070 in Istanbul
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,070 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kumru Hotel
Kumru Hotel
#58 of 1,070 in Istanbul
176 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saruhan Hotel
Saruhan Hotel
#16 of 1,070 in Istanbul
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahmet Efendi Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahmet Efendi Evi

Address: 23 Keresteci Hakki Sokak, Istanbul 34220, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahmet Efendi Evi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AHMET EFENDI EVI IS SITUATED IN THE HEART OF ISTANBUL, in what is known as the Cankurtaran area. This is one of the oldest Byzantine towns and is at the heart of the Sultanahmet area. We are located about 20m away from Akbiyik Mosque, which was established in 1453, making it one of the first mosques to be built after the conquest of Constantinople on May 29th 1453. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ahmet Efendi Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahmet Efendi Evi Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing