We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Sultanahmet (Old Town Istanbul)”
Review of Ahmet Efendi Evi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ahmet Efendi Evi
Ranked #39 of 1,115 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It's a great value for money. The location is away from the center of Suntanahmet, though within walking distance of Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, the train station, and other attractions. The owner and his family live on the premises and are very cultured and knowledgeable. The owner drew up a sample three day itinerary for us even before we asked him for suggestions. He also told us about the right places to shop for souvenirs and gave tips to avoid the usual tourist traps. I would go stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Golden Horn. The owner prefers cash payment. The place can be hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Well situated , a quick walk to the main sights. Fantastic service from the charming Yousef who helped me when my Bank card was swallowed by an ATM at the airport. Rooms are well equipped, but are tiny and the bathrooms are even tinier. We couldn't keep the bathroom dry because the shower was so tiny, very messy! Going back to brush our teeth was a mission. Breakfasts are great, but because the dining area is small, breakfast times have to be specified the night before to ensure that everyone is seated. An inconvenience in my opinion. Otherwise a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Had a look at the cheaper room behind the reception area, looked just as good as the room we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Glad that we found this little hidden gem-like place at such a reasonable price -- well situated in the quieter neighborhood of Sultanahmet, yet close enough to walk to most tourist attractions. Can't say enough about how wonderful the hotel staffs were - attentive, polite with great sense of human. When we arrived, Yusuf offered us drinks and Mehdi gave us an introduction of the neighborhood and some of its unique history. Based on our time in town, Mehdi helped us to come up with an itinerary with all the good tips. Yusuf was there day and night, serving breakfast and ready for any question or help. The hotel is tastefully decorated, nice and clean. For the second night, we were lucky enough to get a free upgrade to a family room with a balcony and a separate sitting room. Definitely worth paying the extra for this homey family room if one can afford. Wish we had stayed longer than just two nights. Highly recommended!

Oh, a longer shower curtain in the bathroom would be nice to prevent water from spilling out.

Some extra tips: To travel between the hotel and the airport, take Metro line #1. Then better to transfer to Tram #1 at the station of Zeytinburnu than Aksaray, as it's shorter distance to walk between metro and tram station at Zeytinburnu.

If you have big and heavy luggage, you might want to consider taking a taxi as you leave the hotel for the tram station, because it involves some uphill walking.

Also if you buy Istanbul card at an automatic machine for public transportation, make sure you have small bills, as the machine doesn't give change.

Happy traveling!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RWL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is in an excelente location, just 5-19 min walk to main tourist locations in the old city an near the tram. The hotel was very clean and the rooms nice and cozy. Staff rely goes the extra mile to make you fell like at home.
The only two downside thing in my opinion is that they do not take credit cards and that the breakfast was very simple with not many options.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fco_MV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The average rating is mainly due to issues we had with the shower/bathroom. The shower extension was broken, the water would be either very hot or very cold no matter what you did. We had to call the owner twice to fix it but it still didn't work so ended upp taking shower with cold water. The room was very spacious and clean. The location is very good, close to all major attractions. The breakfast was average and the breakfast area is small so we had to wait for little bit for tables to get free.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NamBenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We found this hotel on trip advisor and we couldn't believe the price (about $100 a day). The hotel is in the old city. The taxis from the airport was 45 Turkish Lira (about $22). We were in room 3 in the front. The room and bathroom are small but adequate. The breakfast was good. The area is quiet except for the call to prayer. The staff is great. The hotel is within walking distance of all the sites in the old city. I recommend booking directly with the hotel. Payment is in cash. They accept dollars, Euros or Turkish Lira. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I reserved this room based on Trip Advisor ratings, quoted price, and responsiveness of correspondence. Generally I was satisfied with my stay. It's a family establishment and they are friendly and efficient.. It' a ten minute walk to all the major sights and a few minutes away from many other hotels. However it is literally "on the other side of the tracks." Not in a bad/dangerous area, just a little scruffier area. That said, the price to quality ratio is good.

As a single person, I stayed for five nights in Room #1 on the ground floor. It was a very small room. There was only space for one side of the bed to get out. The other side was against wall. It was OK for single, but not for two. TV was old, but I never turned it on so that was fine. Bathroom light not bright enough, under-sized bulb took long time to warm up. No toilet paper holder, so to was on flush box behind you. No hooks for towels. Bathroom very small. Shower small, about 24" x30", must keep elbows in, no shelf for soap. If it falls there's no room to bend over and pick it up. Shower curtain is too short, water goes all over floor. Water temperature fluctuates frequently, maybe with other rooms' usage.

Room was warm in April, it might be oppressive in summer.

Breakfast buffet had a nice variety and good quality. Breakfast room which is also reception and common area is small. In fact there are not enough tables for all the guests if they come to eat at the same time. If you want to relax and linger over coffee you might need to sit on sofa so others can have a table.

Room Tip: Room #1 is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#166 of 1,181 in Istanbul
791 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#3 of 1,115 in Istanbul
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#20 of 1,115 in Istanbul
209 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalinn Hotel
Lalinn Hotel
#18 of 1,115 in Istanbul
276 reviews
Beyazıt
Enderun Hotel Istanbul
Enderun Hotel Istanbul
#14 of 1,115 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahmet Efendi Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahmet Efendi Evi

Address: 23 Keresteci Hakki Sokak | Sultan Ahmet Mah Fatih, Istanbul 34220, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,115 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £18 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahmet Efendi Evi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AHMET EFENDI EVI IS SITUATED IN THE HEART OF ISTANBUL, in what is known as the Cankurtaran area. This is one of the oldest Byzantine towns and is at the heart of the Sultanahmet area. We are located about 20m away from Akbiyik Mosque, which was established in 1453, making it one of the first mosques to be built after the conquest of Constantinople on May 29th 1453. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ahmet Efendi Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahmet Efendi Evi Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing