We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An astounding experience and worth every penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #113 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Constant Traveller
Level Contributor
412 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“An astounding experience and worth every penny!”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This trip was a mix of business and a mini-vacation, and for once I was joined by my wife. That was a bad idea, because now she thinks ALL the hotels I stay at are like this mini-palace, and nothing could be further from the truth. That being said, when I die and if I go to heaven, I hope it is as nice as this hotel.

The logistics are a bit tricky. The hotel is located in a zillion-year old building next to the overwhelmingly huge Haya Sofia mosque and museum, which is a treat. You're right in the heart of ancient Constantinople, and history abounds. But the city has just turned the whole area into a pedestrian zone, so it's hard to find a taxi that knows the secret back roads that can get you to the front door of the hotel. It can be done, but we only had one taxi out of six or seven who managed the trick. Ask for the hotel car to pick you up; it's simply easier.

The lobby is small and intimate, and although this is Ottoman heritage it almost had the feeling of an small English manor house. We were given Room 202, directly over the lobby, with a balcony and lovely views. The rooms are small and the air conditioning somewhat feeble, but the bed and bathrooms were a treat. In addition, the room had a huge balcony where we sat at night and listened to the laughter from the patio restaurant, below. It was charming.

The real kick was the bathroom. It was very large and spendlidly equipped, with a shower bigger than some hotel rooms. Elegant appointments, handsome stone work, lovely amenities -- my wife was loving it.

The food in the restaurant was great, although certainly not cheap. The breakfast buffet is more than enough. There was live music and dinner and on the one night we were there a dervish came and danced (whirled?) as an example of this unusual religous culture.

The only problems: no luggage rack, and no 120v electrical power. Minor issues, really.

We asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation and she made a fine choice; a fish restaurant on the bridge over the Golden Horn. Again, bring your wallet, but the experience was worth the ticket.

No complaints, only praises -- well worth a repeat visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are more likely to have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    380
    83
    43
    13
See reviews for
257
943
125
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We loved the city and the hotel, the hotel is across the street from Hagia Sofia and just across from the Blue Mosque. The location was perfect for us. Upon arrival we were greeted, given a map and some useful information about the attractions, opening times etc.. The front desk staff were very friendly and responsive. Rooms were clean, bright and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandblast511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in the heart of historical Istanbul. We were pleased at how close it was to all the must see historical sights as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazar etc.. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The information they provided us was very helpful, excellent at helping direct us to the important sites in the city. A must stay in Istanbul, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnygirl69_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were in Istanbul for friends wedding , decided on the Ottoman Hotel Imperial due to it's fantastic location, we thought we would stay longer and explore all the historical sights. All the main sites are a few minute walk away. Good room, nothing special , but than again your only there to sleep, it's in good size, comfortable and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tree3315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were able to book a room at this hotel for $150US/night on Orbitz. Having read the reviews of the hotel here on TA, we had a pretty good idea that we'd end up in the Annex facing the tram in a tiny room. We were correct.

But for that rate, we were paying for the location, not a grand room. And the location literally cannot be beat. The service was good, particularly the orientation at check-in.

So we got what we paid for and left happy, despite the tiny room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokonutzFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Ottoman Hotel Imperial, everything was top class. Located perfectly close to all the historical sites , all a short walking distance away. Aya Sofia is right next to the hotel, we had a wonderful view from our room, the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi Palace are within 2-5 minutes away, on the other side of the hotel Underground Cistern is located, if you follow the tram line down it will take you to the Bosphorus where you could hop on a boat for a cruise around the Bosphorus, it'a only about 10TL. If you follow the tram line up, you will end op at the Grand Bazar. Staff are very helpful, polite and friendly. We had a wonderful room, good size, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyhigh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limassol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great location, good transportation, proffesional efficient and friendly staff!!!
Our home in Istanbul!!!
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISTOS_LIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#13 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#129 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Property: Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing