We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really enjoyed my stay with family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #108 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“I really enjoyed my stay with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Location is perfect. Breakfast is ok + a fascinating view while eating. Free pick up from the airport. Rooms are very clean.very very friendly staff. You get a free small water bottle daily. Rooms area bit small but if you are not staying in your room a lot, it doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar_Shawki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    378
    83
    43
    12
See reviews for
255
941
122
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights here on business. The location is very good if you're on holiday but the rooms are small, a bit shabby and the ones on the lower levels behind the restaurant have very little natural light. Breakfast was average and relatively dull. I would not rush back and unless location is your only criteria there are better places in Istanbul.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hungry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is located in the fabulous Sultanahmet location, with many of the historical buildings right on your doorstep and the tram right outside. It is very convenient for everything we did over our six nights in Istanbul. The location is also in a more serene, green part, of the city, providing an oasis feel compared to the frenetic activity througout the city. It is still very busy, but greener and calmer.

Previous advisors have cautioned about being careful in accepting your assigned room. We would echo that advice. Over the week we experienced three rooms - the first, which the hotel offered to change for us, overlooked a brick wall. The second was very dark on the front ground level. The third was up a level at the back - and was a great improvement. The rooms are small, but perfectly acceptable.

The hotel is very nice, but it does lack a "friendliess". The staff were pleasant and quite helpful and certainly tried hard.

Breakfasts were OK and ample, but could be much better for a hotel of this status.

We would recommnend staying here for the location - just check on your room allocation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishinthegarden51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Great location in amazing part of Istanbul. Right beside the major attractions and the tram line. Rooms a major disappointment. First night room was tiny with stairs in room so no space to put out a suitcase. Air con on top of bed blowing down so anything outside bed was freezing. Breakfast was grim. The juice machine releases frightening looking juice- not like anything I have seen before.. Coffee is horrible as is everything including the toast, pastries and cereals in particular are awful..
Setting is very nice and restaurant is open air but I couldn't face a meal there after breakfast. Upgraded to the suite which was like a regular room anywhere else. Avoid regular rooms if you possibly can, I checked 2 others and they were worse than the first.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed1trinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiells, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We changed our hotel to the Ottoman Imperial to avoid Taksim Square. It worked out better than we expected. Ottoman Imperial is located right in the middle of everything in Old Town. The staff is great! The room we checked into had a problem with the air conditioner, they allowed us to try several other rooms until we were satisfied. Not much storage in the room, so they brought a second luggage rack. The restaurant on the grounds was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mum-Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was feeling well off and booked one of the Sultan Suites at this hotel. Wow! The room was decorated with Turkish ceramics and had a chandelier. The bathroom was a mini Haman (Turkish Bath) with exquisite tiling and the toilet had a TV on the facing wall. If there had been sport on I wouldn't have had to get up all day!
The location is fantastic, directly behind the Hagia Sophia in Sultanahmet, close to loads of restaurants, sights such as the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Archaeology Museum and you get free Turkish delight when you check in!
The hotel restaurant , Matbah, is just amazing and serves food originally cooked for the Sultans at the nearby Topkapi Palace. It's more expensive than your average Kebab restaurant but the food is delicious and if you are there at the right time, you will get entertained by a whirling dervish who spins away (slightly slower than a Tasmanin Devil) in the corner.
It's very hard to find a negative for this hotel but for somewhere that has such an amazing restaurant, breakfasts were pretty dire and by far the worst I came across in my three weeks in Turkey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev11385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location, right across from the Haggia Sophia. It is only a couple of blocks from a tram stop up the hill past the Basilica Cistern or down the hill towards the Spice Market. There is a large variety of rooms in this hotel so you should understand where you are staying before you make reservations. We had our rooms arranged by a tour company and did not have a choice. The first four days we had a corner room across from the Haggia Sophia. It was nice but somewhat tight. On our way back to the US we had a suite in back past the courtyard. It was spacious and had a gorgeous bathroom, although the view wasn't much. We would have preferred this room for longer four day stay.

The breakfast was not up to the level we expected. We complained about the cold eggs and service and were treated to a dinner. Next day the breakfast was much better. When we left at 3:00AM for an early flight they had a brown bag ready for us.

Room Tip: Make sure you know the room you are staying in. Price probably equals value but just be sure you kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#16 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#115 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#46 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Property: Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing