We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #103 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Ideally located in the old city where all the neat sites are. our room was very nice. breakfast each morning was wonderful. there is free pickup from the airport. the matbah was delicious! everyone was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The first night we were in the back of the hotel with the noise of the street car. The next morning...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,762)
There are newer reviews for Ottoman Hotel Imperial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hotel location was excellent for our touring of old-town sites. Our room was unique and very clean. AC was very good. Front desk staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Good value, our room was very quite, sleep quality was better than expected, staff was very friendly...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Location is perfect. Breakfast is ok + a fascinating view while eating. Free pick up from the airport. Rooms are very clean.very very friendly staff. You get a free small water bottle daily. Rooms area bit small but if you are not staying in your room a lot, it doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar_Shawki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Spent three nights here on business. The location is very good if you're on holiday but the rooms are small, a bit shabby and the ones on the lower levels behind the restaurant have very little natural light. Breakfast was average and relatively dull. I would not rush back and unless location is your only criteria there are better places in Istanbul.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Hungry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is located in the fabulous Sultanahmet location, with many of the historical buildings right on your doorstep and the tram right outside. It is very convenient for everything we did over our six nights in Istanbul. The location is also in a more serene, green part, of the city, providing an oasis feel compared to the frenetic activity througout the city. It is still very busy, but greener and calmer.

Previous advisors have cautioned about being careful in accepting your assigned room. We would echo that advice. Over the week we experienced three rooms - the first, which the hotel offered to change for us, overlooked a brick wall. The second was very dark on the front ground level. The third was up a level at the back - and was a great improvement. The rooms are small, but perfectly acceptable.

The hotel is very nice, but it does lack a "friendliess". The staff were pleasant and quite helpful and certainly tried hard.

Breakfasts were OK and ample, but could be much better for a hotel of this status.

We would recommnend staying here for the location - just check on your room allocation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trishinthegarden51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Great location in amazing part of Istanbul. Right beside the major attractions and the tram line. Rooms a major disappointment. First night room was tiny with stairs in room so no space to put out a suitcase. Air con on top of bed blowing down so anything outside bed was freezing. Breakfast was grim. The juice machine releases frightening looking juice- not like anything I have seen before.. Coffee is horrible as is everything including the toast, pastries and cereals in particular are awful..
Setting is very nice and restaurant is open air but I couldn't face a meal there after breakfast. Upgraded to the suite which was like a regular room anywhere else. Avoid regular rooms if you possibly can, I checked 2 others and they were worse than the first.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed1trinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We changed our hotel to the Ottoman Imperial to avoid Taksim Square. It worked out better than we expected. Ottoman Imperial is located right in the middle of everything in Old Town. The staff is great! The room we checked into had a problem with the air conditioner, they allowed us to try several other rooms until we were satisfied. Not much storage in the room, so they brought a second luggage rack. The restaurant on the grounds was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mum-Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#42 of 1,159 in Istanbul
376 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,943 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,121 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,468 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,159 in Istanbul
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#78 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#85 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#122 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £45 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing