We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Hang Out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chillout Classic Hostel
Ranked #402 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Found this hostel by accident and was very pleasantly surprised. Location is close to the bar area, the lounge is great for hanging out, staff is very helpful. The rooms are basic, but exactly what one expects from a hostel. Only negative aspect is that there is no elevator. Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you want to follow up to concerts, this is your place! They let customers about events. Also they have always clean sheets and hot water. On the other hand, place is middle of Taksim. For that you have chance to reach everywhere in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank İbrahim Sefa Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

It was our mistake to choose the Beyoglu area carring the backpacks. This area is on the hill. But finally we found this hostel. Many hostels around were busy. Our room was in the highest floor. And there is no lift. So it's hard enough to move up with backpacks. The dorm for 6 person was very small. So it was not comfortable with our backpacks. The toilet and shower are in different floors. But the staff was very friendly and kind. This hostel for 1 night is good. But no longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daiva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night because we wanted to try out the Taksim area of Istanbul. We didn't like the area as it was just a big city and full of people, much more that the old town. We felt the old town had more of a vibe to it and liked it much much better. Anyway, we stayed at Chillout and the people working there are cool, friendly and helpful and went out of their way to find us a room after we were on an overnight bus! we really appreciate it. however, although the staff are awesome the place is lacking. The rooms are small, we were only 2 people in a 4 bed room and thankfully there weren't four people in the e otherwise I have no idea how our bags would fit! there is only 1 powerpoint in the room and the curtains didn't close properly so there was constant light coming into the room even at night. There are 6 levels (no lift) and they have an alternating shower and toilet per level. so level 1 has a toilet, level 2 has a shower, level 3 has a toilet etc. There was literally only 1 tiny toilet on the toilet level and 1 gross shower on the shower levels. i think its the equivalent of 1 toilet to about 40 people (at capacity). A shower when travelling is important and makes u feel normal but I really hated the whole time I was in this shower. there is no window to let in fresh air or air filter, there is no where to hang your clothes or towel, there is mould on the roof, its really not a pleasant experience.
Anyway, as I said, the staff were nice and the location is great if you like clubbing but other than that I wouldn't stay here again and i wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliseT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We booked two single rooms with chillout, for 5 nights from NYEve, only to be told 10 days later that they were overbooked and could no longer offer us the single rooms.

This was very annoying as most other places are now booked. Why say you have rooms available if you havent? Come on Chillout, its not difficult - you either have rooms available or you don't.

Suffice to say we wont be booking with them again

Stephen, London.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a double room for a week. It was pretty hot ( 30 degrees at night), but after the first night ventilators were installed and that was a releive. Don't expect to much for this kind a money, you have a bed to sleep and a shower, that's it.
And the people are so kind and helpfull, just ask for the places you want to go.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Nice friendly staff and good atmosphere. I stayed in a dorm room. it was very small with hardly any space for rucksack even. Quite warm inside room with no air con and quite noisy, I think from the outside and had to have the window open as it was so hot. there were 4 of us in a room which should only have been for perhaps 2 as it was really very small. on plus side right in centre and close to local bars. can walk everywhere from it. free wifi. would be nice if they would offer free tea and coffee and maybe some breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#744 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,112 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,798 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#16 of 1,246 in Istanbul
546 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#106 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillout Classic Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillout Classic Hostel

Address: Asmalimescit Mah. Istiklal Cad. Balyoz Sok. No:3/A, Istanbul 34080, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Chill Out, new staff, new experience, new service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chillout Classic Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing