We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, central and good value”
Review of Adora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adora Hotel
Ranked #302 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A lovely hotel. Not fancy but right in the centre of old Istanbul, 50m from a tram stop and 10 mins walk from Sultanahmet Square. Burhan and the other staff were very helpful and friendly. We were greeted at 3am (delayed flight) with fruit juice and turkish delight. The breakfasts were fine with a good selection of cereals, toast, cold meats, hard boiled eggs, cheese, tomatoes and cucumbers.. There was also some hot food but I never tried that. The room we had was large with a comfortable bed. Storage was a bit meager but easy to cope with. It was kept spotlessly clean with towels changed every day and new toiletries whenever it looked like we were running low. The shower was excellent. There was free access to internet in the lobby and free wi-fi in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterCoghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is located a few meters from the central tram stop of Gulhane, next to the Blue Kitchen Restaurant. The position is perfect for exploring Istanbul, the most of the main attractions are a few minutes away by foot, the rest are easily accessible using the nearby tram line. The rooms are small (let's say cosy) but very clean and our bathroom was massive. Minibar is relative cheap and you get free slippers, soap, conditioners, shampoo and shower gel. The staff is very knowledgeable, polite and friendly and can always help with locations to visit, tours and general information. Breakfast is buffet, a mixed of continental and cooked breakfast. Very nice and abundant.
The only negative side is that it is a bit noisy, mainly due to the tram line passing next to the hotel (but there are virtually no trams at night) and to the walls that are a bit thin (so you can here everybody slamming doors or passing by the stairs). However I managed to sleep quite well (and my sleep is very fragile), but I suggest using ear plugs. Price is very affordable and very good value for money!

Room Tip: 203 is quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a great time we have had in Istanbul. The hotel is a little gem. The location is perfect for visiting the main sights like the mosques and the grand bazaar and spice bazaar. Everything is central from the hotel. The tram system is so easy to use and the tram stop is literally 2 minutes from the hotel entrance you really cant get lost. So many places to eat all within walking distance of the hotel.
The plus points about the hotel,
We had room 103 which was a larger room, some of the rooms at the front are a little smaller as our initial room was but when we asked at reception they moved us to the bigger room for no extra charge and even helped us move everything. The staff are what make this hotel, yes its not the most luxurious hotel in the world but more than ample when and for the money I cant understand who could complain, we got a fantastic deal knowing we would be out all day, but the staff are so helpful and always have a friendly face. One night we went to get a Turkish massage and were stranded in the rain and were lost, so we rang the hotel and they not only sorted a taxi but also sent one of the staff to make sure we got back ok, this was really over and beyond what they needed to do and we were so happy.
The local restaurant just next door is also a little gem with the best latte I have had and the staff there are also very friendly.
hotel
Rooms, bedding changed regularly and fresh towels daily and the cleaning staff were really good so no issues at all with the cleanliness
Staff: like I said they could not have been more sincerely pleasant and helpful
Location: the best why go anywhere else, the tram and metro system is so easy to use and this hotel is in walking distance from everything.
Breakfast: plenty of choice you wont go hungry
Wi Fi in the hotel always worked no problem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbholiday2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great location, tram stop right outside. Burhan has a smile for you at any time of the day and the staff are all very helpful. The cleaning lady is very sweet and kept our room spotless. Breakfast is basic buffet with tea, coffee and fruit juices, choice of many jams or honey with fresh bread or toast, mixed processed meats and cheese and sometimes scrambled eggs etc., Rooms are basic but overall value for money. Will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilacSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is very well located in the old Istanbul area. The management, Burhan and Yusuf, were very helpful and happy to give advice. All of the staff were friendly. They offer a great value and are working hard to make the hotel even nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 81Marie_J14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Hotel clean, well managed. The staff very polite, helpful, and friendly. The reception -personified Mr. Burhan and his colleagues- are professional stuff and provided a real home atmosphere for the guests during staying in Istanbul.
The management aligned with the tourist season on the room rates.
The hotel locates in the historical, cultural center of Istanbul. Everything is available on walk: sightseeing, restaurants, shops, bathes, transport means. The hotel can be reached by tram and train from the international airport within 35-45 minutes. The atmosphere of the district is a real experience.
The hotel, the service, the staff, and the location of the hotel would deserve No. 6 overall rating (unfortunately the max is No.5)! I would like to recommend to visitors this Hotel!
Tamas Rac

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamasrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The location is perfect, across from the Topkapi Palace and 2 blocks from the entrance to the Archeological Museum. The hotel is older and not elaborate, but safe, clean and has a wonderful staff, especially Yusuf, who is a very nice person and was willing to answer all our questions. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#205 of 1,163 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#374 of 1,163 in Istanbul
141 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dara Hotel Istanbul
Dara Hotel Istanbul
#288 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#147 of 1,163 in Istanbul
488 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Constantine Hotel
The Constantine Hotel
#204 of 1,163 in Istanbul
470 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#512 of 1,163 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adora Hotel

Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi Erdogan Sok.No 14 - 16, Istanbul 34800, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#97 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#106 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £28 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adora Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing