We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at the heart of old city”
Review of Lady Diana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lady Diana Hotel
Ranked #450 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 7 July 2013

you just step out and walk to hagia sophia, museums, palace, grand bazaar, cistern.. they're all next door. it's also good quality and nice. i would recommend this hotel every one who wants to stay in a place full of history and also for it's best quality services.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Great location in Sultanahmet near blue mosque. If you like walking its fairly flat. Terrace great view if Blue Mosque and town. Breakfast is very good with a great choice of food. Recommend it.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room looking toward Blue Mosque and Marmara sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The location of this hotel is superb and right amongst the action and sights. The view from the roof top restaurant is excellent and the food is ok as well.
And that's it! The greeting was shocking, the tiny room worse with a hole in the carpet, kanga hammers working next door day and night. Never would I recommend this hotel to anyone.
Only saving grace was a couple of the waiters and chef from the roof top joined us for a bit of friendly banter on the last night. Apart from them, the attitude from the staff was terrible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobby12GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

my cousin and i have just returned from a 4 night stay to what only can be described as the worst hotel that we have ever been- we have been to istanbul before so know in the summer season you cant be too picky- but lady diana is in a league of its own
no welcome
no Iron in the whole hotel- no towels either
no guidance to where we may be able to buy one
we had paid for a triple given a double- until we showed are booking and made to feel guilty when moved to a triple
triple room faced a solid wall- no light!
when asked for direction response -shrug of shoulder
bathroom so small couldnt stand in shower- im 5ft 9
rude rude rude staff in reception- just ignored us standing there- whilst they chatted to each other
we paid 125£ per night- utter shame as non refundable we couldnt move
we tried to avoid coming to the hotel so didnt have spend time there-

so so dissapointed will never be coming back- am very confused re the reviews we read before booking because this place is not a worth any star- how long they can continue treating visitors like this is beyond me- i suspect a name change to the hotel will be coming up pretty soon

UTTER RUBBISH--- AVOID

Room Tip: avoid triples but the avoid the hotel in general
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shubsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Low quality place, not worth for money. Unpleasant people to "welcome" you. Small rooms, not very clean, ugly bathroom.
Very noisy place. There is a building site just nearby and people theire work all day and late at night : impossible to sleep. we asked to change our room and they didn't care and didn't even propose any compensation.

There is a very nice view on the top roof but the restaurant ventilation is noisy and stinks (fried fish).

There are other hotel around, with the same amazing view : look for them and avoid this crapy place

Room Tip: if yoiu really want to go to this hotel, choose for room with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

3 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and all of the wonderful museums.
Nearby is the modern tram which will take you to the ferries in a few minutes.
Fantastic roof restaurant with great night views over the city and serving excellent food.
Very friendly and helpfull staff.
An impressive foyer/reception area but bedroom is probably due a refurb

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmonahan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I visited Istanbul in early May and I can say, without any mistake it was a unique experience. We managed to achieve all the goals that we have set (Top Kapi, Dolmabahce, Agia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Bosphorus, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Istiklal Street shopping area). For this we needed three full days, with patience and determination.
High importance was Lady Diana hotel accommodation, superbly located next to the Blue Mosque, very clean, very friendly staff, rooms a little small, but that does not really matter when your goal is to visit not to stay in a room. Do not miss the breakfast on the terrace of the hotel where you can enjoy a magnificent panoramic view of the Blue Mosque and Saint Sophia Cathedral. Beware of offers from hotel to cruise on the Bosphorus, they are very expensive (around 30-35 euros). Better negotiate directly, you will find in touristic areas - for example in front of Saint Sophia- many companies that make these cruises (we negotiated the price of 30 turkish lira, but I understood that you can negotiate up to 10 TL).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#502 of 1,181 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#15 of 1,181 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,181 in Istanbul
806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tria Hotel Istanbul
Tria Hotel Istanbul
#399 of 1,181 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#350 of 1,181 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Diana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Diana Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Terzihane Sok. No:9 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#230 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#304 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £29 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lady Diana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lady Diana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Diana Istanbul
Hotel Lady Diana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing